We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,142)
Filter reviews
2,142 results
Traveller rating
1,495
360
171
75
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,495
360
171
75
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tasting menu michelin star michelin restaurant outdoor jacuzzi cliff walk bar restaurant stunning location ardmore bay main restaurant special treat relaxation room spa treatments amazing hotel top class overlooking the sea terrace suite the general manager
Filter
Updating list...
547 - 552 of 2,142 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2017 via mobile

Have just returned home from a stay here and it was outstanding, superb location but what really makes the Cliff special are the staff. The staff are always happy and very helpful and make one feel at home.

Can't wait to return

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank hrfmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adriaan_Bartels_13, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2017

Dear hrfmt

So nice to hear, thank you. My team will be delighted to read that you enjoyed you visit with us.
We all hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon again,

Kindest regards

Adriaan Bartels
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2017

First time 3 day visit and hotel, food, staff, and accommodation were what we anticipated; EXCELLENT++. However, for us the real gems were found in exploring Ardmore, the cliff walks and historical interests. Outside of hotel and Ardmore the real gem was the Waterford Greenway. Hotel reception staff recommended O'Mahony Cycles who kitted us out with natural pleasure in delivering service excellence - what a combination. Well done guys.

Room tip: Book sea view room with balcony
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank PMacS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adriaan_Bartels_13, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2017

Dear PMacS

Thank you so much for your great review - we are delighted that you discovered all the delightful things to do in the area , especially the new Waterford Greenway.

Look forward to welcoming you back again some time,

Kindest regards

Adriaan Bartels
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2017

This is an excellent hotel. The views from the rooms are outstanding with ocean views from every room. The staff however is what makes the place. The entire staff that we came in contact with were phenomenal from the front desk, to the bar and restaurant.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adriaan_Bartels_13, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2017

Dear Mike K

Thank you so much - my team will be delighted to read your lovely comments about them. We all hope to see you back soon,

Kindest regards

Adriaan Bartels
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2017

This is a phenomenal property with outstanding staff. We were there for one night and the views are outrageous. I could have stayed for a week. The staff are amazing, very attentive,nice and accommodating. We will be back if we come back to Ireland. The restaurant has innovative cuisine with outstanding staff.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Relais & Chateaux
Thank Gail K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adriaan_Bartels_13, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2017

Dear Gail K

Thank you so much for your review and your comments.

We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Kindest regards

Adriaan Bartels
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017

This hotel plays at the higher end of the market in the bracket with luxury hotels like Ballynahinch Castle in Connemara. While the food is absolutely excellent we were very disappointed with the hotel, and particularly the service. It felt more like a Best Western.

Everyone was very friendly, but either they were understaffed, are having trouble hiring good people or the manager needs to crack the whip! For example, after a delayed check in (check-in is 3pm, but our room was not ready until 4pm, even though they knew we had already arrived at 1.30pm) we still had to call down to reception FOUR times to simply get a kettle and milk and a bottle opener.

This is not a big deal, just annoying when you are paying top dollar to relax. But when you add to it that the sauna is drafty and the layout of the place is ridiculous (leave a trail of breadcrumbs to find your way from reception to your room) and that the rooms are actually surprisingly small...well...we just wished we had gone somewhere else.

As I say, everyone was very friendly and the food was fabulous. But that's not really enough on its own. The staff need to get their act together.

Room tip: Get a room near reception so you don't have to deal with the warren.
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeKellyIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adriaan_Bartels_13, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2017

Dear MikeKellyIE

Thank you for your review and your comments.
I take them on board - we can easily rectify the service issues you encountered but unfortunately the design of the hotel is what it is and not much we can change there.
Try us again and you will see the difference,

Kind regards

Adriaan Bartels
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews