We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Amazing views, lovely hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Strandhill
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing views, lovely hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

Strandhill Lodge was everything we expected -- beautiful views of the ocean and Knocknarea mountains from a modern and comfortable hotel!

We had a balcony room at Strandhill and although it was a bit cold in mid-May to sit outside comfortably, we would highly recommend booking a similar room. Our room was large and clean, as was the bathroom. The bed was comfortable, and the hotel staff was helpful.

A few words about the area: Strandhill is outside Sligo. We made it our last stop before returning to Dublin so we could really take in the ocean view and visit Yeats' grave (also beautiful, not only for the view but also the cemetery grounds). But we found so much more in the area that we hope to return.

There were several restaurants and pubs within walking distance (less than five minutes). We ate at The Venue, right next door to Strandhill. What a stunning view! The Venue staff also were wonderful. We really enjoyed the experience.

Also, en route to Strandhill, we found Dunguaire Castle outside Galway. It was a welcome surprise, since we had avoided Blarney and Bunratty castles after hearing they were highly commercialized and touristy. Dunguaire is a small caste on the water, but it's three or stories are full of treasures. And it was quiet enough to really be able to explore and take it all in. We visited during the day, but there's also a banquet at night. And a local jewelry maker has a workshop in the upstairs gift shop. Beautiful work!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JessStephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMcCoy, General Manager at Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2012
Dear Jessstephen

Thankyou so much for your kind review and for taking the time to do so.

Im delighted that despite our unseasonal cold May - you were able to enjoy the wonderful scenery in Strandhill. The only shame is that you were unable to perhaps sit out properly and watch the sunset over Strandhill Bay.

As i mention time and time again we are blessed to be situated amongst some fantastic bars and restaurants here in Strandhill and in perhaps one of the most picturesque areas in Ireland. There is so much to do in the locality and in Sligo generally that it is difficult to fit it all in. I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed the area and the sites and sounds that Sligo and Strandhill have to offer.

I'm happy to hear also that you enjoyed the rest of your holiday on the west coast - which in my biased opinion is unrivalled anywhere in Ireland!!

I hope you will be back this way soon and i look forward to welcoming you to the north-west when you do.

David McCoy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

506 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    447
    51
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
87
240
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
colchester
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

A great hotel in good location overlooking Sligo Bay, very friendly staff, (David especially) nothing too much bother. The hotel was fully booked all weekend and still it was peaceful at night.
I never give excellent for anything but had no choice here, that says it all, well done Strandhill Lodge

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anniew666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMcCoy, General Manager at Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2012
Dear anniew666

Thankyou very much for taking the time to write such a positive review of your stay in Strandhill. We are delighted that you enjoyed a peaceful relaxing stay and that you were not disturbed by noisy guests!

We strive to make guests stay as comfortable as possible - so i'm delighted that we have gone someway to doing this on this occasion.

I hope we will see you in Strandhill in the near future, and i look forward to greeting you again on your arrival.

David McCoy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norther Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

Great value for money. Extremely friendly pleasant staff, gorgeous healthy breakfast served to a very decent hour of eleven am !! And hotel itself was really lovely , clean, bright and nicely decorated. Well worth a visit

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mahoney77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMcCoy, General Manager at Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2012
Dear Mahoney77

Thankyou so much for your review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

It makes our jobs all the more worthwhile when we receive such positive feedback. I look forward to greeting you back in Strandhill in the future.

David McCoy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012 via mobile

Strandhill Lodge and Suites was recommended to us as a great place to stay. The suggestion was absolutely spot on.
The staff (David, in particular) were extremely helpful and went out of their way to make our stay as comfortable as possible.
We booked a ground floor room with access to a shared terrace. The room was large, clean, bright and had a great big comfortable bed. The terrace was great for our 2 year old daughter, with the added peace of mind that it was fully enclosed.
Breakfast was splendid. With a great choice of food for us all, including our sometimes fussy daughter. The dining area, like everything else, was spotless and gave us the opportunity to chat to our fellow guests.
Our stay was brilliant and we're already looking forward to our next stay there.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mav_Span
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMcCoy, General Manager at Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2012
Dear Mav_span

Thankyou so much for taking the time to review; and for writing such a favourable one. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

All of us here will always strive to be as helpful as possible in making the stay a good one - and so it is important to us that you are provided with all local information.

The ground floor patio access rooms are ideal for your purpose as you mentioned the small terraced area while providing terrific views also offer some peace, and comfort of mind for curious kids!

Im happy that you found breakfast so enjoyable - as i mention repeatedly it is an area that we constantly try and improve to meet our guests requirements.

To hear that we lived up to your expectations is always a lovely thing to hear as that is paramount in what we are trying to achieve... ie good recommendations and then living up to expectations.

Thankyou again for your review and i hope you enjoyed the rest of your break - i look forward to welcoming you back in the near future again.

David McCoy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

We have stayed in the Strandhill Lodge & Suites on a few occasions and every time has been very enjoyable. The location of the lodge is excellent and is just a 10 minute walk from the beautiful beach, the seaweed baths and the great restaurants and pubs in Strandhill. It is also easily accessible by train, as a taxi from Sligo train station just takes 10 minutes. The lodge itself is very clean and modern. The rooms are very spacious and the beds are really comfortable. The staff are very friendly, the service is excellent and overall I would rate the lodge way ahead of any of the hotels I've been to in Sligo. We will definitely be going back again soon for another weekend break.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMcCoy, General Manager at Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2012
Dear FionaM

Many thanks for your kind review; it means a great deal that you took the time to do so.

It is always a pleasure to welcome you all back to Strandhill; I hope the surfing was enjoyable also. As you mention we are lucky to have the Voya Seaweed Baths and the great bars and restaurants in the area.

Hopefully it will not be long before we see you in Strandhill again;

Thankyou again for taking the time review - it is greatly appreciated.

David McCoy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strandhill
7.2 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
8.4 km away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
7.9 km away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#4 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 km away
Sligo Park Hotel & Leisure Club
9.0 km away
Clarion Hotel Sligo
4.8 km away
Yeats Country Hotel, Spa and Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel

Property: Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
Address: Strandhill Lodge & Suites Top Road, Strandhill, Sligo, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo > Strandhill
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Strandhill
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,665 - ₹ 11,692
Hotel Class:4 star — Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strandhill Lodge and Suites is a new hotel accommodation that has 18 Large Double and Single Deluxe Rooms and 4 Luxurious Superior Suites; with magnificent views of the famed Knocknarea and Strandhill Bay. All rooms are bright and spacious with a King Sized Bed and all modern conveniences. Rooms are suitable for two – three people sharing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing