We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Strandhill
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Mullingar
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

We were 3 friends meeting up for a get together, and experienced a really pleasant stay at the lodge. Great location, lovely views, spacious triple room, tasty breakfast, friendly and helpful manager and overall great value for money. Very modern and clean inside. Very impressed and all 3 of us have decided to return with our families. I would highly recommend Strandhill Lodge and Suites to anyone visiting the area. I (we) will be back and looking forward to it already.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eob01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMcCoy, General Manager at Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Dear Eob1

Many thanks for taking the time to review; it always means alot to us. I'm delighted you all had a good time during your stay and you blessed with the fine weather. The larger balcony rooms are ideal for your purpose and i'm glad it all worked out well for you.

Im glad you liked the breakfast and the amenities and i will pass on your kind comments to Brid about the cleanliness. You mentioned you may return with your families; well please be sure to ring in advance and i will ensure you get a nice seaview room.

Thankyou again for your review and i look forward to welcoming you back in the Summer.

David McCoy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    463
    52
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
91
248
13
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

I'v literally just left this place this morning and I could not give it any better review! It is the cleanest place i have ever stayed! It has the friendliest and most helpful staff I have ever come across! The bed was like sleeping on a cloud, the ipod docking station and dvd player in the room was a fantastic idea! We were advised by David(manager) about what kind of restaurants were around and when we brought back a take away we were given plates and forks by the staff and told they would collect them whenever we were finished! The complimentry tea/coffee/hot choc etc is such a nice touch, and the continental breakfast was 1st class!! I am already recommending it to family and friends and hoping to be back there during the summer!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sasomal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMcCoy, General Manager at Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Dear Sasomal

Thankyou for taking the time to review and i'm delighted that you all enjoyed your stay with us.

Im happy that you like the room amenities teh DVD player does come in handy for those nights in. We are happy to oblige when it comes to providing cutlery and delph for the takeaways so i'm delighted that you availed of this. It is also possible to get the food delivered to your room also - just for future reference! The complimentary Tea/Coffee/hot chocolate is there as an addition and again i'm glad you availed of it. In the next week or so we will also be adding a fresh purified water dispenser also.

We are blessed with both the quantity and quality of our local restaurants so it is always a pleasure to point them out.

Im really happy with your comments about cleanliness it is so important to us that we maintain high levels of cleanliness throughout i will pass your kind comments on to Brid who is our head housekeeper.

I look forward to welcoming you back in future; and I hope your morning skydiving at Strandhill Airport went well for you all!

I look forward to seeing you again soon.

David McCoy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

Visiting hometown for a family occasion over a weekend, saw reviews and seemed worth a try. Would recommend to anyone, fantastic views especially with balcony room, one side gave us views down to Strandhill beach and the other view of stunning Knocknarea mountain. Modern, clean, relaxed and friendly, very varied breakfast selection.great base for a holiday I would say.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trish S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMcCoy, General Manager at Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Dear Trishs

Thankyou for taking the time to review; i'm delighted that you found us to be to your liking. Being your home area it is nice to get feedback from a local!

The views from the Balconies and from the Front rooms are spectacular indeed i'm just glad that you found that we complimented it.

I look forward to seeing you again shortly and thankyou for choosing us when you came home to Sligo.

If i can be of any assistance please let me know.

David McCoy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballyshannon, Ireland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

i stayed here the weekend before valentines having not known how well it had done on trip advisors top hotels poll.
The friendly staff was the first thing to strike me about this hotel, when asked the resaon for my stay the man on reception (the manager) said he would leave us tw mini complimentary bottles of chamagne cooling in the room, he also was very helpful in making sure the rest of our evening was fully planned offering advice on all the restaurants and bars in the village. he also advised that the tea and coffee machine at reception was complimentary, a small thing i know but still nice to be offered.

The room itself was very spacious, and well finished. It had a fantastic view of the atlantic ocean. it had everything you would expect from a hotel, with nothing to gripe about. We went walking on the beach bearby and when we came back to the room we had been left our champagne but also two rom coms on dvd... again another nice touch.

Breakfast is continental, but plentiful and the dinig are although small has plenty of space to accommodate all guests.

We visited the sea weed baths on recommendation of the hotel and reallyt enjoyed the experience, and got a discount as hotel guests.

Overall, it was the atmosphere and customer service that made this hotel such a great place to stay, and a perfect spot for a short break.

Room Tip: make sure to book a room with a balcony!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnsie80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMcCoy, General Manager at Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Dear Johnsie80

Thankyou so much for your kind review; and for the kind comments in relation to your stay with us. I am delighted that your romantic stay worked out for you. I think you would put the men of ireland to shame with the effort you put in to make your evening so special!! - we were delighted to supplement what you had already done.

It is great to hear that you found strandhill; the bars and restaurants to your liking - we always stress that we live in a terrific village and surrounds and we all work together to give guests and tourists a worthwhile experience. The Voya Seaweed baths are a truly terrific success story and the fact that their home is here in strandhill and the service they offer only supplements what we offer here. The extras we offer here in our accommodation are designed to ensure that guests enjoy their experience with us. If these standards slip we will always be anxious to hear.

In relation to the continental breafast; we are always trying to improve what we offer; our model here in the Strandhill Lodge and Suites is to offer a clean, healthy and green accommodation and our breakfast is part of this. In listening to our guests we also now offer boiled eggs and sausage rolls to further enhance the breakfast. I'm delighted that you found all to your satisfaction.

If i can be of assistance in your future romantic breaks away i wlll be sure that you receive the balcony room again.. and i look forward to welcoming you back in future. Thankyou again for taking the time to review.

David McCoy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clonmel, Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Rate was very reasonable, room was lovely very clean. Service was outstanding and manager went out of his way to help. Breakfast was a continental type breakfast but was fantastic. Well reccomended. Top choice.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fadsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMcCoy, General Manager at Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Dear Fadsie

Thankyou so much for taking the time to review; i'm delighted you found all to be to your satisfaction.

We try to offer top quality service and accommodation at a reasonable affordable rate. I am glad that we are continuing to reach that goal.

If you are booking in the future please contact us directly and we'd be delighted to offer a similar room. I look forward to welcoming you back to Strandhill soon.

Thankyou again for your review we always value feedback.

David McCoy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strandhill
8.4 km away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
7.9 km away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#4 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
7.3 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 km away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#7 of 8 in Sligo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
8.3 km away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
7.9 km away
Sligo City Hotel
Sligo City Hotel
#6 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel

Property: Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
Address: Top Road, Strandhill, Sligo, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo > Strandhill
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Strandhill
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,075 - ₹ 13,280
Hotel Class:4 star — Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strandhill Lodge and Suites is a new hotel accommodation that has 18 Large Double and Single Deluxe Rooms and 4 Luxurious Superior Suites; with magnificent views of the famed Knocknarea and Strandhill Bay. All rooms are bright and spacious with a King Sized Bed and all modern conveniences. Rooms are suitable for two – three people sharing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing