We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Tranquility” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Markree Castle Homefarm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Collooney
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Markree Castle Homefarm
Belfast
1 review
“Tranquility”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2008

I had never heard of Markree Castle and hadn't visited Sligo on nigh on 30 years when I saw a special offer of b&b for 49 euros in local press. For my birthday my husband booked a night (rather than our usual foray to Donegal which usually is 50 euros plus for the run of the mill) as a treat for me and all I can say is that Markree is something else. Pure peace and tranquility with food that is glorious! The fittings maybe to some eyes a tad worn but the whole place oozes a shabby-chic for a want of a better phrase and the staff are brilliant. I will be returning if only to have a spoonful of the cream of cauliflower soup,which I used to believe I made a good version of before my visit to Markree, and to taste FRESH eggs which I thought had been banned under some obscure law..........And then there is the beautiful landscape and peace.......what more could a city-bound busy 'girl' want?

  • Liked — Ambience
  • Disliked — lack of detail in cleaning bathroom...was clean but not spotless
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dubhrann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    8
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
18
6
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
sligo
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2008

Stayed at homefarm for a month in the Granary house.....absolutely fantastic!!!!! the high quality finish, the old and modern combined, beautiful scenery and the never ending countryside!!!! absolutley breathtaking.... brilliant family holiday, went with family and kids of 18 17 17 17 15 11 and kids boyfriends and friends!!! difficult to please teenagers but it went down a treat they loved it and with hundreds of places to discover i didnt hear the word boredom once!!!!!!!
rercommend it for all. best holiday ever and when the sun was shining you may as well have been in the carribean. owners are very obliging and gave us the use of a canoe and fantastic decking area for a bbq!!!!

without a doubt go!!1

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
Thank markreehomefarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2007

Top class finish to these fabulous apartments and a the staff are an absolute riot.
We stayed here for a week with friends and it was a shame to go out of an evening as it really was a home-from-home.
We ventured to the indoor hottub on several occaisions but that had to be done!
The apartments and houses are tastefully furnished and every little detail is thought out - even down to including washing up liquid and dishwasher tablets. Towels are included too which is rare for self-catering accommodation.
One of this things I liked was the peace. Because there is an area for cars to park, it's so peaceful as you don't here people coming in at all hours.
Can highly recommend Markree Home Farm apartments. We had a blast and would definately return.

  • Liked — Everthing!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauralolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2007

Stayed at homefarm with friends and family for a wedding at the castle. Very impressed with the accommodation which was clean, spacious and well laid out. Enjoyed the upside down lay out with the skylights and french doors upstairs, although make sure any early risers are not heavy footed. The owners have gone to an effort to make the accommodation modern and neutral and were very welcoming. The location is very peaceful and as you are in the grounds of the castle you can walk through the parkland or go tto the castle for dinner. The layout and sizes of the different apartments are great for a large group of people who also want some privacy.

  • Liked — The peaceful location
  • Disliked — The tv reception went after the first day - but so what!
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2006

Stayed two nights in the Homefarm Apartments and found them delightful. The converted buildings are renovated nicely and are spacious and well equiped. You are nicely secluded from the Castle, a minute or so walk away, and Victoria and the staff are welcoming and friendly. The only downside is that the living room/kitchen is upstaires, with small windows without views, and the bedrooms are downstaires ( for insurance reasons I believe). The shower in the bath was poor, and check the hotwater timer suits your needs, as we ran out after only one shower, thou' there were four of us preparing ourselves for a wedding in the caslte! Ugh..

  • Liked — Simpathetic renovation
  • Disliked — Bad shower
  • Tips/Secrets — Not suitable for mobility impared
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Pips21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Collooney
3.1 km away
Castle Dargan
Castle Dargan
#1 of 1 in Ballygawley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
0.0 km away
Markree Castle Hotel
Markree Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Collooney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Markree Castle Homefarm? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Markree Castle Homefarm

Property: Markree Castle Homefarm
Address: Collooney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Collooney
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Collooney
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,433 - ₹ 21,768
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Markree Castle’s 17th Century farmyard buildings, you can enjoy sculpture gardens and a private deck overlooking the river Unsin as well as sauna and hot tub facilities. This range of luxury, self catering suites and the fabulous Granary House are just minutes walk from the Castle itself, where meals and afternoon tea can be enjoyed by prior arrangement. Markree Castle Home Farm gives you the opportunity to immerse yourself in the peace and relaxation that Markree has to offer while enjoying all the comforts of home. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing