We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (273)
Filter reviews
273 results
Traveller rating
147
72
27
18
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
147
72
27
18
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews concra wood friday night portion size friendly receptionist few drinks recommend this hotel friendly hotel leisure facilities bar staff dance floor the hotel staff few weeks first morning busy hotel great night stayed nights golf society
Filter
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 273 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2017

Myself and 3 friends stayed in the Glencarn Hotel from Sunday to Tuesday last weekend. I felt I had to write this review to compliment the hotel and staff on a most enjoyable stay. The hotel was spotlessly clean, food was delicious and the staff couldn't do enough for us from reception to bar to restaurant staff. I love the idea of while breakfast finishes in the restaurant at 10.30 a.m. you can still get breakfast in the bar up to 11.30 a.m. Coming back in September with golf society and really looking forward to our stay.

Room tip: Stayed in rooms on the 1st floor and they were large, clean and very comfortable.
Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlencarnHotel1, Manager at The Glencarn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2017

Thank you Catherine for your lovely review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Glencarn Hotel & Leisure Centre. We certainly appreciate your praise regarding the warm welcome you received from our staff and the excellence of the food. We will ensure to pass on your comments to all departments and staff members. We look forward to providing you with the same service on your return visit in September.

Regards
Alan Reeves
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2017

Rosie, the receptionist & Anne, Susan and Louise were absolutely wonderful. All went out of their way to be helpful and really made our stay so pleasant. Had a most delicious and reasonably priced dinner in the Glencarn Dining Room with our cousins. The room was small but neat and very clean. There was a lovely dance in the evening (which we did not attend) and everyone seemed to be having a grand time. Will definitely stay again on our next visit.

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rkjtbarkley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlencarnHotel1, Manager at The Glencarn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2017

Thank you for your lovely comments regarding your recent stay with ourselves and I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay. I will pass on your kind comments to Rosie, Anne, Susan and Louise personally. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Castleblaney.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2017

just spent friday and sat night in this delightful small hotel, it was our second visit and hope to get back again, the room was warm and spotlessly clean.as was the whole hotel,, would definatly recomend the evening meal just 25 euro per person and food is amazing, staff are so friendly and helpfull, only negative was the room was above music and was very loud but i expect mid week that wont be a problem, but would not put me off staying again, swimming pool, jacuzzie was both nice and clean and warm, also they have a great looking gym and a steam room and sauna, thankyou to all staff at the glencarn hotel x

Room tip: if staying at weekend and not joining in on the entertainment ask for a quiet room
Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank lisagilbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlencarnHotel1, Manager at The Glencarn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2017

Lisa-Thank you for your lovely comments regarding your recent stay with ourselves, and we will ensure that we pass on your comments to all relevant departments that you so warmly praised. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Regards
Alan Reeves
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2017 via mobile

Staff very welcoming and helpful. Rooms lovely however if I was to travel again I would be very careful with what room I got as on both nights there was music. The first night wasn't so bad but the shouting outside the window was crazy however on the second night it was like I was at the night club. Thankfully our child slept through but for us there wasn't a chance of sleep. Food was very nice.

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Ann-Marie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlencarnHotel1, Manager at The Glencarn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2017

Ann-Marie-Thank you for your review and we are glad that you enjoyed the room and the food, and we shall certainly pass on your complements to the staff. We have noted and will take on board the issues regarding noise and please accept our apologies that this marred your otherwise enjoyable stay.

Regards
Alan Reeves
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2017

Recently attended the front lounge for some dinner. Waited 50 minutes for food with no update, my partner proceeded to ask a man with white hair and a suit who was acting as a manager in the bar, he asked the older man how much longer it would be and if he thought 50 minutes was a decent amount of time to wait, to which the man snapped back at him that it was a reasonable amount of time to wait and that he should sit down!! As regular customers of the hotel, we did not expect this kind of treatment by someone who has just joined the hotel as a new member of staff. It would make us think twice about returning.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Reecie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlencarnHotel1, Manager at The Glencarn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2017

Thank you for your review concerning The Glencarn Hotel & Leisure Centre. We take great pride in the customer service skills of our staff; therefore I am gravely distressed by the unfavourable opinion formed during your recent visit and in order to clarify and take the appropriate action I would appreciate if you contacted either myself or my colleague Melissa to discuss this matter further.

We can be reached at 042-974-6666 or by e-mail at reservations@theglencarnhotel.ie.

Regards
Alan Reeves
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews