We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impromtu stop.....”

Slane Whiskey Distillery
Ranked #1 of 8 things to do in Slane
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: An unfolding story as unique as our smooth and flavourful, triple-casked whiskey, Slane Distillery is housed within the 250-year-old stables of the iconic Slane Castle estate. The new distillery pays homage to the resilient nature of our heritage and the surrounding lands that we call home. Allow our storytellers to immerse you into our wonderful world of whiskey. The fabrics of the Conyngham family tapestry are carefully woven through an interactive and immersive tour of our state of the art working distillery. Finish the tour in the best way possible, with a taste of our signature triple casked blend, Slane Irish Whiskey.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Stairs / lift
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We thought we'd do a castle tour but it was closed so instead we did the whiskey tour! Very informative and great restoration of the old stables. Conor our guide was excellent as were all the staff we came in contact with. The tasting was fun and their gift shop has some lovely reasonably priced items. At €18 a tad expensive if you had an adult family but sometimes you pay that little bit extra for quality! Well worth a visit and best wishes for the future of Slane whiskey.....

5  Thank Catherine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek K, Visitor Experience at Slane Whiskey Distillery, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Catherine O,

Thank you for the kind review,
The restoration is breathtaking and is a certain standout as you walk through our archway.

Conor is a very attentive guide and is very passionate about the whiskey making process and really comes to life
in our production area. Your mention of your experience with our staff is appreciated.. We pride ourselves on going the extra mile for our guests.

Thank you for the wishes!
Slainte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"our tour guide"
in 11 reviews
"local area"
in 5 reviews
"fantastic experience"
in 4 reviews
"great tour"
in 4 reviews
"castle grounds"
in 3 reviews
"four hours"
in 2 reviews
"genuine passion"
in 2 reviews
"knew his stuff"
in 2 reviews
"drink options"
in 2 reviews
"irish coffee"
in 2 reviews
"visited today"
in 2 reviews
"old stables"
in 2 reviews
"fantastic knowledge"
in 2 reviews
"an understatement"
in 2 reviews
"look forward to visiting again"
in 2 reviews
"great visit"
in 2 reviews
"great afternoon"
in 2 reviews
Filter

17 - 21 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The whiskey tour was so fun. The guides are so kind and knowledgeable. One of the most fun things we did!

2  Thank Jordan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek K, Visitor Experience at Slane Whiskey Distillery, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Jordan W,

Thank you for your review, Glad we are up there with the best of your experiences on your trip!

Slainte!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Booked a tour at Slane Distillery for our day trip in County Meath. The distillery is located next to the Slane Castle. The former castle stables have been beautifully restored and converted into a distillery and visitor centre. Very nice tour explaining the local and family heritage as well the very sustainable approach to whiskey production that the family/business has. Tasting included naturally, and possibility to buy the product or some nice Slane Whiskey merchandise as well. Slane Castle would have been open for visit, but we did not have time for that. Great location if you’re driving in the area and visiting e.g. Newgrange or Trim Castle. Also have to mention that the distillery was most welcoming and flexible, they were happy to reschedule our tour time as we encountered a hassle with our reservation at Newgrange. Warmly recommend a visit!

2  Thank Parsakka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek K, Visitor Experience at Slane Whiskey Distillery, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Parsakka,

The review covers so much of the whole experience on offer and really is a pleasure to read!!
One of the more impressive aspects of our Distillery is the sustainability which we take great pride in. Our co-founder Alex and his family
are passionate about the environment and this shines through right here. It is fitting that on our tour that their family heritage is celebrated.

I am glad you found your whole visit,our hospitality and were made feel welcome!

Thanks again for your kind review,
Slainte!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Myself and my family did the Slane Whiskey tour recently and thoroughly enjoyed it. Our guide, Adam, was so knowledgeable and informative. The staff are all so pleasant. The grounds are amazing. We would highly recommend it.

2  Thank Leonsbeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek K, Visitor Experience at Slane Whiskey Distillery, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Leonsbeg,

Thank you for your mentioning so many parts of your experience you enjoyed.
Particularly your tour guide Adam, He will be happy to hear you had a great time on his tour.
Thank you for visiting!

Slainte!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Worth a visit . Tour guide Flann was very friendly and all staff in castle and distillery were very nice and helpful

Thank MarkBuck90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek K, Visitor Experience at Slane Whiskey Distillery, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi MarkBuck90,

Thank you for giving us a great review,

Flann, like all our guides deliver a fantastic experience. He will be very happy with the mention.

Slainte!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Slane Whiskey Distillery also viewed

Slane, County Meath
Slane, County Meath
 
Donore, County Meath
Slane, County Meath
 

Been to Slane Whiskey Distillery? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing