We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Great location, whiskey, and tour

Whilst true that the distillery is still in the process of making their first single malt, the 3... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
John D
Beautiful Distillery and area

This was the most beautiful of distilleries as far as I'm concerned. The friendly staff just made... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Nancy M
Read all 149 reviews
  
Reviews (149)
Filter reviews
149 results
Traveller rating
134
13
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
134
13
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews our tour guide great tour whiskey distillery old stables answered all our questions knew his stuff well worth a visit local area return again excellent guide historic setting cruise ship tasting room highly recommend this tour an understatement distilling process whole process
Filter
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 149 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

The whiskey tour was so fun. The guides are so kind and knowledgeable. One of the most fun things we did!

2  Thank Jordan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek K, Visitor Experience at Slane Whiskey Distillery, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Hi Jordan W,

Thank you for your review, Glad we are up there with the best of your experiences on your trip!

Slainte!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

Booked a tour at Slane Distillery for our day trip in County Meath. The distillery is located next to the Slane Castle. The former castle stables have been beautifully restored and converted into a distillery and visitor centre. Very nice tour explaining the local and family heritage as well the very sustainable approach to whiskey production that the family/business has. Tasting included naturally, and possibility to buy the product or some nice Slane Whiskey merchandise as well. Slane Castle would have been open for visit, but we did not have time for that. Great location if you’re driving in the area and visiting e.g. Newgrange or Trim Castle. Also have to mention that the distillery was most welcoming and flexible, they were happy to reschedule our tour time as we encountered a hassle with our reservation at Newgrange. Warmly recommend a visit!

2  Thank Parsakka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek K, Visitor Experience at Slane Whiskey Distillery, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Hi Parsakka,

The review covers so much of the whole experience on offer and really is a pleasure to read!!
One of the more impressive aspects of our Distillery is the sustainability which we take great pride in. Our co-founder Alex and his family
are passionate about the environment and this shines through right here. It is fitting that on our tour that their family heritage is celebrated.

I am glad you found your whole visit,our hospitality and were made feel welcome!

Thanks again for your kind review,
Slainte!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

Myself and my family did the Slane Whiskey tour recently and thoroughly enjoyed it. Our guide, Adam, was so knowledgeable and informative. The staff are all so pleasant. The grounds are amazing. We would highly recommend it.

2  Thank Leonsbeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek K, Visitor Experience at Slane Whiskey Distillery, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Hi Leonsbeg,

Thank you for your mentioning so many parts of your experience you enjoyed.
Particularly your tour guide Adam, He will be happy to hear you had a great time on his tour.
Thank you for visiting!

Slainte!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

Worth a visit . Tour guide Flann was very friendly and all staff in castle and distillery were very nice and helpful

Thank MarkBuck90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek K, Visitor Experience at Slane Whiskey Distillery, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Hi MarkBuck90,

Thank you for giving us a great review,

Flann, like all our guides deliver a fantastic experience. He will be very happy with the mention.

Slainte!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018

Slane Distillery was recommended to my friends and I by a local women after we had missed a tour of the Newgrange Tombs. We figured we'd just stop in a take a peak of the distillery, but after walking the grounds of it, we decided to take a tour. The tour was such an incredible experience. It turns out we were actually there on the first few days of it opening! The man who guided the tour was so passionate about his town and the distillery. It was so heartwarming to hear him speak so highly of the area and the place. The tour takes you through a majority of the distillery and walks you through the process of making their whisky. At the end of the tour, you finally get the tasting, which was excellent. I am personally not a whisky person, however I enjoyed Slane's whisky very much. Every single person we spoke to was so friendly and helpful. I highly recommend this place to anyone who is taking a trip to Ireland and to buy their whisky! Thank you, Slane Distillery, for an unforgettable experience!

Thank kirsteningwersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek K, Visitor Experience at Slane Whiskey Distillery, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Hi kirsteningwersen,

It sounds like fate brought you to us!

The tour guides, most of whom are local can give a great insight into the surrounding area which is a lovely touch on any tour.
Many of our visitors may not be whiskey people on arrival but after hearing the story surrounding Slane Whiskey, give it the benefit of the doubt and end up big fans!

Thank you for mentioning our staff..We are proud of the team and a genuine love for the job here at the distillery makes heart-felt customer service second nature, They will be glad you got to feel that on your visit.

Slainte!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews