We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food friendly service ”

The Old School House Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 79 Restaurants in Swords
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 8 - US$ 39
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 20 August 2018 via mobile

Went here on recommendations from friends.It was lovely sunny afternoon when we were there so we wanted to sit outside.It can be quite loud and smoky.We ordered the burger,steak and nachos and for dessert we had the toblerone cheesecake which was really good.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Kerryfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (967)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 48 of 967 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2018 via mobile

Went on the suggestion of our B&B hosts Mary and Jimmy, and it was great. We waited for just a few minutes before being seated. The cod and chips were wonderful. The steak was good as it was the special that night. The portions are huge so I would suggest not getting a starter too or if your not too hungry only get a starter as an entree.
It was packed with a wait list when we left, so come early. Looks like the have a great lunch menu too.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Kakyak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2018 via mobile

This pub came highly recommend as a favorite spot but we found it too smoky and the food just ok. If you are a big smoker and love the bar or pub scene it’s probably for you!

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank princessjax29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

Great bar food (the best in Swords) The staff are super professional and very friendly (Eoin) .
The most common problem is seating at the busiest times of the day (I guess this is a problem for most bars) especially on Friday evening (a popular spot with people after work)
Saturday and Sunday being the busiest days to visit but if you get a seat you're in for a treat.
Enjoy!

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rodo O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

My friend and I arrived shortly before the kitchen stopped serving. Instead of declining us they immediately seated us. They were gracious and served us a most delicious dinner. The place was full of energy.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Emily K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old School House Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Swords, County Dublin
 
Swords, County Dublin
 

Been to The Old School House Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing