We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (314)
Filter reviews
314 results
Traveller rating
161
83
35
18
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
161
83
35
18
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bouncy castle wedding venue next morning chicken wings would highly recommend this hotel full irish breakfast last night long flight communion airport ireland
Filter
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 314 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2016 via mobile

This is our 2nd time to stay over at Kettles. We felt it would be cheaper to stay rather than get a taxi home. We booked the room a few weeks in advance. Our room was on the ground floor and much nicer than our last room. Good, clean sized room with a modern decor and nice bathroom. Downside is wardrobe space if you were staying longer than 1-2 nights. Our room didnt have a nice view but we didnt mind as we checked in late in the evening and wouldn't have noticed. We headed to a friends party. Girl at desk very polite and helpful. The food at the event was fab ! The function room was fabulous perfect for a wedding.
Breakfast was the full Irish we ordered brown bread, when it came out it wasn't (they use goodness of both) but the girl gave us some brown soda instead.(better again) Big Irish fry up rashers sauages beans black n white pudding and potato slices. Tea/coffee. Eggs cooked whatever way you liked.
As it is a small hotel breakfast was limited no cereals juices etc. Feel price had gone up since our last stay and breakfast was extra this time wasn't included.
Would we come again yes ! Good breakfast, friendly staff, clean comfortable and modern room !

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Gerrirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettle C, General Manager at Kettles Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2016

Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback on your stay with us.

I am delighted to hear that you were pleased with your visit with us whilst attending a function within the hotel. I am also pleased to hear you were happy with your breakfast the following morning. I am sorry to hear that you were not offered a continental option by a staff member. We do have a breakfast bar set up every morning in the Breakfast dining room which includes, fresh fruit, pastries, muffins, cereals, yogurts and a variety of juices as an option for guests.

Whilst making your reservation there is an option to book on a room only basis or a bed & breakfast basis. The breakfast would always be an additional cost however. There may have been a slight price increase as this can vary based on occupancy levels and whether it is a weekend evening.

We hope to welcome you back to Kettles Country House Hotel soon, whether it be for a night away or just for breakfast!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2016

We enjoyed the hotel and staff during the time there. And the food in the restaurant was good.Sorry I can't write any more about our stay. Other than the fact we enjoyed it. In America we don't seem to have that many places that are similar.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janets3238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettle C, General Manager at Kettles Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2016

Thank you for your review.

I am delighted to hear that you were pleased with your visit with us here at Kettles Country House Hotel.

We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Ireland!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2016

We stayed here for one night in July and it sure was disappointing for the price paid. Check in was ok, restaurant was ok, the bedroom was massive and had a cold feel about it and the hotel in general is very outdated. There was no atmosphere in the bar, not helped by the barman in all fairness even though there was live music on at the time. The function below our bedroom was been set up at 7am, moving tables etc. Overall keep driving, there are other hotels doing a much job out there.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank dunnangallIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettle C, General Manager at Kettles Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2016

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.

I am disappointed to hear that you were not pleased with your stay with us and am sorry to hear that you were not pleased with the vintage themed hotel decor. As we are a Country House Hotel we feel this decor is fitting with our theme since opening almost 10 years ago.

I apologise for the noise disruption you experienced due to a function room being set up. We would generally aim to have these set ups completed at a more sociable hour. We would advise in these circumstances that you would call reception regarding any complaints so as to try and deal with them as soon as possible.

Should you wish to discuss this matter further please call our front desk where a manager can discuss with you further.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

Huge place lacking in character or atmosphere. Very scruffy room with badly cracked basin, ceiling paint peeling off,mildew on bathroom walls and bad scuff marks and smears on bedroom walls. The iron had a dangerous cord with two sections of exposed wires.
The restaurant was loud with small children racing around. Staff were slack, rude and unprofessional. They had no wine list because they said they had just got new wines in. But they made no attempt to put them on a blackboard or let us have information - they simply were not interested in the wines.
Food was uninspired and very "Cobb and co".
Prices were dodgy. I booked the place thru booking.com, for 107 euro and it would have charged 10 euro each if we had booked breakfast. However the menu only charged 8.50 for breakfast and the hotel website had rooms at 85 euro fora couple.
Apart from anything else, that particular room should have been at a reduced rate
because it was so scruffy.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Eleanore M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettle C, Public Relations Manager at Kettles Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review us.

I am sorry to hear that you were pleased with your stay. Thank you for bringing these matters to our attention.

We have been made aware of damage sustained to a certain room, as described in your message and we have since undertaken renovations to address these damages. I am sincerely apologetic that you were unfortunately allocated to a room which we feel is not representative of Kettles Country House Hotel and the high standards we like to set. Had these issues been brought to our attention prior to your stay with us we would have not sold this room on this evening.

I am very disappointed to hear that the customer service you received was not up to a high standard which we would expect from our staff members.

Should you wish to discuss the matters mentioned in your message further, I would encourage you to contact the front desk where you can speak with a manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2016

We stayed here for our last night in Ireland before flying home. Our welcome was warm at reception and when we enquired about using the shuttle to go to the airport on the next day we were told they would see if it was available. Within the hour we were told it was and was booked for 0900. Our room was large and spotless. Bathroom was modern. We used the bar for our meal that night and breakfast next morning and both times the food was very good and service excellent. I really can find nothing to complain about and wished we had come the day before as our last day had even spent in Dublin. We were driven to the airport by the co owner of the hotel who gave us the history of this family owned business. Great stay

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank terrymh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettle C, General Manager at Kettles Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2016

Thank you for your kind review.

I am delighted to hear that you were pleased with your visit at Kettles Country House Hotel.

We would love to welcome you back in the near future, next time hopefully for a longer stay!


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews