We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Sandhouse Hotel(Rossnowlagh)
US$ 192
US$ 179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Creevy Pier Hotel(Ballyshannon)
US$ 113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 101
US$ 93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 106/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 83
US$ 78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 91/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 118
US$ 94
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 115
US$ 112
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Abbey Hotel(Donegal Town)
US$ 114
US$ 110
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (344)
Filter reviews
344 results
Traveller rating
180
83
38
23
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
180
83
38
23
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsscampirossnowlagh beachoystersbooked a tablegreat tablebriedonegal baystunning viewschowdermain coursetroutwindow seatfirst classfabulous foodfew drinksate herebar menu
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 344 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2017 via mobile

Stopped here with my girlfriend and her mom for a drink and bit of food. We found a table and ordered a Guinness and a coffee and to look at the menu.

The drinks came and straight away my girlfriend's mother didn't like the temp of her coffee as it was far to cold and we were told all they do is press a button on a machine so not much they could do so asked for some hot water which never arrived. We looked at the menu and just wanting a sandwich but not seeing any asked if they did any only to be told they could but didn't want too as didn't want to start all that up and risk other customers seeing it.

So we ordered the chicken and noodle soup and a bowl of chips. The soup was ok but too salty and the chip portion was small to say the least.

The coffee wasn't drunk as too cold so didn't pay for that. A nice enough place to sit and enjoy the atmosphere but everything else was disappointing. Won't be rushing back.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank James Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smugglers C, Owner at Smugglers Creek Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Thank you for stopping by at Smugglers Creek on Sunday and taking the time to write your review.
I am sorry to read that your girlfriend’s mother found the temperature of her coffee too cold. We use a Bean-to-Cup machine, which makes the freshest coffee because they grind the beans as you use them. However, the temperature is pre-set. Yes, some hot milk or water would have helped and I must apologise for the fact that you did not get the hot water you ordered but glad that you were not charged for the coffee.

I can see that you were disappointed when you “just wanting a sandwich” and we were not in a position to offer you one because Smugglers Creek Inn offers a Sunday Lunch Menu every Sunday, with the usual favourite roast, such as Beef, Turkey & Ham, Chicken and a variety of Fish. It is the only day that our Sandwich Bar is closed. We serve a selection of build your own sandwiches and a few Gourmet options from Monday to Saturday, should you have visited us any day except a Sunday, we would have been able to offer you our Sandwich Menu option.

Regarding the Chicken & Noodle Soup, it was a popular choice for many that day, although in this instance, it was not to your taste. We serve a good size portion of Fresh Cut Chips for just €3.50, we found many customers have struggle to finish it in the past, we also offer a larger portion at €4.50. As we could not ascertain how hungry you were at the time, we gave you our standard portion.

On a positive note, you did find Smugglers Creek being a nice enough place to sit and enjoy the atmosphere.

Thank you again for visiting Smugglers Creek Inn.

Best Wishes
Emily Browne-Rush
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2017 via mobile

My first time in the smugglers creek inn. After a long walk along the beach we were very much looking forward to it. The views are stunning and the restaurant very well situated. However we were unable to get a window seat which was fine other than my partner rang earlier in the week to reserve only to be told you can't reserve. When we arrived it was quite clear you can reserve and no explanation as to why we couldn't book.

Food was varying - chicken wings were good; the scampi was nice, though chips were a bit hard in places. Most disappointing was the steak ciabatta - throughly over cooked steak and rock hard ciabatta. Waitresses were very nice and attentive.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Rachel_j_30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smugglers C, Owner at Smugglers Creek Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Dear Rachel, thank you very much for taking the time to post a review following your recent visit with us. I am very pleased that you found the view from Smugglers Creek Inn stunning and the waitresses were very nice and attentive. However, it seems that you departed feeling somewhat disappointed with your overall experience with us. Let me address some of those issues you have raised here.

With regards to our Table Reservation Policy, we reserve tables in the Conservatory Restaurant for Sunday Lunch (12:30-4:30pm) and a la carte dinner (6-9pm) only. We cannot guarantee a window seat at any time. This information is available publicly on our Website. In your case, as I did not know what time you arrived at the restaurant so it will not be fair for me to comment on the reason why you couldn’t book.

I am glad to read that you enjoyed the chicken wings and scampi but please accept my sincerely apologies for the Steak Ciabatta and Fresh Cut Chips. We are having some issues with the supply of our fresh cut chips which we are working closely with our local suppliers to rectify the problem.

I do hope that you return to the Smugglers Creek again in order for us to show you the high standard of service that we do provide.
Best Wishes
Emily Browne-Rush
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2017

Just back from a blissful couple of days in Rossnowlagh. We have stayed in the sandhouse hotel before but opted for a more relaxed visit this time. Room was fantastic room 4 enjoys a balcony with uninterrupted views over Rossnowlagh beach and Donegal Bay. Nothing was too much hassle food was lovely menu to suit fish lovers and meat lovers alike. Would thoroughly recommend a visit, will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Leslee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2017 via mobile

This is the place where you forget yourself and time means nothing.
Got to be one of the best restaurants in Ireland, don't let outside appearances deceive you, it is weather beaten and careworn, small and a little rickety to get into around the winding path...
But you gotta go, every morsel of food here is as fresh as it could possibly be, seafood chowder to die for, and no matter what your menu selection would be it will be fabulous. The view is outstanding, you are on the hill looking right out at the ocean, all you can see is water, peaceful and unhurried this place is a haven.
You have not experienced fish until you eat here.
It is my #1 place to eat

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank tillylamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2017

we visited the smugglers creek inn, after good reviews on tripadviser, on the day the place was busy,a good sign!, but mainly locals inside,so a few international guests the better! the view from the restaurant of the bay, makes the trip worthwhile, and im told by my family the guiness on the night was the best they had tasted! and considering we have been to ireland many times before this, it was high praise, the food was also good, a family member enjoyed the scampi, and another the beefburger, my haddock was a bit ordinary on the day,but presented well, and the staff were most helpful, all in all on a good weather day highly recommended as a visit!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank danX3469SN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews