We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best place ever - fantastic view”
other travellers have booked this property
Come on in
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Come on in
Surf's Up Fridge, Microwave, Cooker (hob, grill, oven)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
Come on in
Surf's Up
Fridge, Microwave, Cooker (hob, grill, oven)
Ahoy, captain!
Evening
Bathroom
Misty morning
Reflection
Bedroom
Lazy time
Air Sea Rescue exercise over Rossnowlagh Bay
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Rossnowlagh, County Donegal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Andi-Magg...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best place ever - fantastic view”
Reviewed 11 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018

We had a one week stay. We came from Germany by car and also with our motorbikes on a trailer.
The appartment is big enough for two people and the view to the beach is incredible. We never had a scenery like that one.
So - to make it clear: If you would like to visit this area - stay at this place!!!!
We had also a warm welcome from Mary and her husband.
For Motorbikers is it a good "base" to discover North-Ireland.
So come on and do it

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jul 2018
Thank you Andreas and Andrea for your wonderful review. We loved having you to stay and to hear of your explorations of Donegal on your motor bikes. Thanks for sharing your adventures with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimmorgan...
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“perfect for a relaxing weeknd”
Reviewed 2 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Just spent the weekend in the Sunset Lodge in Rossnowlagh. fantastic place, perfect scenery and a hidden gem in the 'Secret Garden' with stunning views over Donegal Bay and Rossnowlagh Beach. Well looked after by Mary and Patsy. ten out of ten for hosts, facility, location, scenery and the ability to relax and take it in your stride. will be back sooner rather than later.

Jim and Kate Belfast.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2018
Thank you, Jim, for your lovely review. I am glad you enjoyed your visit. The sun was certainly a bonus. I can't always guarantee that!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra L
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Small, but perfectly formed”
Reviewed 20 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

We had a wonderful short break in this little lodge, with the most beautiful views from the front door and the private garden. The sound of the waves lapping is so restful and you feel as though you are miles from anywhere, though ten minutes takes you into the nearest town (and there are a couple of shops and hotel restaurants nearby). A beautiful beach is a 5 minute car trip away.
Though the (very clean) lodge is small, it has everything you need, including fluffy towels, lovely bedding on comfy beds and toiletries (also a tv if you want, but you probably won't).
Mary and Pat are very friendly and helpful and had even left us a food starter-kit, which was very thoughtful. I do hope we can return next year. Thank you.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2018
Thank you Sandra for that wonderful review. I look forward to seeing you next year if your holiday plan takes you this way again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy C
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 19 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Stayed in The Sunset Lodge for 2 nights. Beautiful place to stay, very clean and tidy. The scenery and beach were amazing and the owner Mary was wonderful. Perfect ending to the evening was sitting in the private garden looking over the cliffs to the beach with a nice glass of red wine. Would definitely recommend this place.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2018
Thank you, Amy, for your kind review. I am glad that you enjoyed your visit and hope you will visit again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerryDais...
Donegal Town, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden treasure”
Reviewed 29 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Just returned from a perfect couple of days in sunset lodge. Mary and Patsy couldn’t be more accommodating and the secret garden was the icing on the cake. We couldn’t recommend highly enough it’s just perfect. Only disappointment was having to leave the place! We will definitely be returning (photos all taken from secret garden) x

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 May 2018
Thank you, Mandy, for your lovely review and thank you for the fabulous photographs.
I am glad you enjoyed your visit. It was a pleasure to meet you and your family. We looking to having you visit again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing