We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE-GOOD TV RECEPTION NOT TO BE EXPECTED”
Review of Sandhouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sandhouse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rossnowlagh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 November 2011

I stayed in this hotel with my girlfriend for one night. I was very disappointed with this hotel, firstly we were not allowed to check into our room until 4pm even though their website states check in is from 2pm. When we got into our room, the reception on the TV was awful. We questioned this with the girl at reception who told us we could not expect a decent TV reception was we were "not close enough to the roof and therefore the connection couldn't expected to be good". The attitude of the receptionist was disappointing as she displayed little in the way of customer service. They did change the TV to a small flatscreen but the reception did not improve. One good point was the location and breakfast which were exceptional. Overall disappointed with the hotel, I would not recommend anyone to stay here and I will certainly not be returning in the future. On a side note, I wrote a letter of complaint to the hotel manager and I did not receive a requested response. Again shocking customer service displayed.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PDiver, Manager at Sandhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am delighted you enjoyed your breakfast and out location. Unfortunately we have a price to pay for our stunning location, a poor tv reception. Given that we are located practically on the beach surrounded by cliffs and beautiful mountains it is very difficult to get a perfect tv reception all of the time so I do sincerely apologise that we could not provide you with a clear reception on your television..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (615)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

501 - 505 of 615 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2011

My husband and I with our two kids are just back from a 1 night stay here,and we were dying to stay longer but couldnt,due to work commitments..we loved our connecting rooms with sea view! It was very warm everywhere in the hotel...a warm hotel lobby is indeed hard to find..very comfy beds..lashings of hot water and excellent dinner(though my cod was very well cooked!!...) and breakfast,served at the table,which is also a rare pleasure! The staff were all lovely and we tried to book again,but alas they close for the winter...a real gem...on a beautiful beach...sigh...we'll be back!

Room Tip: Definitely one with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claireMullingar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

We returned a year to The Sandhouse this year. It was like returning home to a warm family embrace. Paul, the manager, was extremely concerned we were well taken care of. No problem there! As we found on our first trip to the Sandhouse, the fireplace is inviting, the food is exceptional, the services outstanding, and there is nothing better than a Tullamore Dew for viewing the bay.
We took a trip into Ballyshannon via a marker for a W W II plaque commenorating an American plane that crashed. Our taxi mates had a relative who had been on the plane that crashed. We had told Elizabeth at reception we were quite ignorant about the event. When we returned from Ballyshannon, Elizabeth handed us a printout of the history about the plane crash. A fellow history buff!
You cannot go wrong by choosing to stay at The Sandhouse for whatever reason, be it business, a celebration, or just a holiday.

Room Tip: Ask if you can have a room overlooking the bay. Sunsets are spectacular and if the moon is full, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StoneWiegman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

I spent three nights in the Sandhouse on a business trip. I travel frequently and stay in a great number of hotels and my time at the Sandhouse ranks extremely favourably among them. I had a third floor room that had a stunning view out over the bay. The room was equipped with a four poster bed and the bathroom, although compact, was to a high standard. The service was exemplary and the food very good. Even though it rained for the a large time that I was in Rossnowlagh I enjoyed the experience so much that I will be back, next time for leisure, and the hotel is as a much a draw as the countryside around.

Room Tip: Go for a third floor with a bay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ADSSouthCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Thank you so much for a fantastic stay we all really enjoy it. The hotel is friendly spotless cosy comfortable and the sea view from the room was breath taking. A must for anyone who wants to have a weekend away in sheer comfort

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat20122011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rossnowlagh
17.6 km away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
18.8 km away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
4,326 reviews
13.1 km away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 km away
Great Northern Hotel
Great Northern Hotel
#4 of 5 in Bundoran
1,038 reviews
12.8 km away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
796 reviews
9.6 km away
The Holyrood Hotel
The Holyrood Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bundoran
1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandhouse Hotel

Address: Rossnowlagh, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Rossnowlagh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rossnowlagh
Price Range: ₹ 10,021 - ₹ 25,432 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandhouse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4 star manor house hotel is located on the edge of the Atlantic Ocean overlooking Donegal Bay and Rossnowlagh Beach. Award winning cuisine, fine wine and local staff mix to give a truly relaxing experience. Marine spa with seaweed bath, Jacuzzi steam room and 8 treatments rooms is a must visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandhouse Hotel Rossnowlagh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing