We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (779)
Filter reviews
779 results
Traveller rating
409
266
73
22
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
409
266
73
22
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews leisure centre groupon deal swimming pool staff were lovely great hotel bar food saturday night bar staff recommend this hotel seafood chowder nice bar fish excellent value for money great view two nights a lovely stay room was large
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 779 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2018

First, a word of warning. As you leave your room for the first time you will hear the usual loud click and assume it has self-locked. It has not, you must use your key.
The hotel prides itself on it's friendliness and this we found to be the case. From the Liverpool Lass at reception to the bar/restaurant staff to the breakfast staff to the room cleaners, all were wonderful.
Our room was spacious, a good bathroom, very comfortable bed, but the walls were bare. A picture or two would not go amiss.
Unfortunately the leisure centre was closed so I cannot comment on that.
Like the bedroom, the foyer could have done with more seating and being livened up.
Two items deserve an excellent, the bar/restaurant and the breakfast.

Room Tip: Best rooms are 321 to 329 (odd numbers only) to get great views and quiet.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Talan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception T, Guest Relations Manager at Bay View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2018

Dear Talan7,

Thank you ever so much for your lovely review, you are 100% accurate when you say we pride ourselves on friendliness, we are here to make sure your stay with us is as memorable as possible.
Hopefully in the near future we will look in to an update on bedroom decor in the hotel and maybe add that splash of color to liven things up as suggested, we love to here feedback back from our guests to give us ideas.

I hope in the future we can welcome you back to the Bay View Hotel once again.

Kind Regards,

Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2018 via mobile

Just back from a 2 night stay Groupon deal. Good value. Ten years since we last stayed here and new ownership. We were in room 203 - with a sea view. BUT - this room is directly over a private function room. Unfortunately - on our first night- unknown to us until too late- there was a private party on that night- complete with a singer! Kept awake til 3.00am - despite several phone calls to reception.
Other than that- comfortable hotel, good food and excellent staff. Just avoid room 203 if you want a good nights sleep!!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank kayakboy48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception T, Guest Relations Manager at Bay View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2018

Dear kayakboy48,

Thank you so much for your review, we appreciate all customer feedback good or bad.
I'm again very sorry about the lack of sleep you had on that Friday night I know you were on a Groupon deal with us and got a free upgrade to one of our Superior rooms with sea-view on check-in. It was just unfortunate for you that there was some noise that particular night. I hope you slept better on the Saturday night.

We hope some day you might return and we can give you a nice quiet room away from any noise.

Kind Regards,

Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2018 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in the Bayview for 2 nights B&B from Sunday till Tuesday, using a Groupon voucher.

The hotel is not 5* but certainly makes up for this by the friendly service, the great accommodation and the locality.

We were allocated a large double room (one double and one single bed) on the second floor with magnificent views over the harbour. We were able to sit at the window, sip a glass of wine, read our Sunday papers and look out at the views.

A really relaxing stay, and highly recommended.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank AnnieMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception T, Guest Relations Manager at Bay View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2018

Dear AnnieMG,

Firstly Thank you so much for your lovely review, It sounds like you had a perfect, relaxing weekend which is what we love to hear back!!

I hope someday you will return again.

Warm Regards,

Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

Beautiful hotel, lovely food. Very reasonable price. The staff are very helpful and friendly will definitely go back to stay. Nice quiet town and plenty to do. Is a great place to go away with friends.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
Thank F4924WKdonnar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception T, Front Office Manager at Bay View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Dear F4924WKdonnar,

Thank you for staying at the Bay View Hotel and for leaving us such a kind review, we hope some day you will come back to us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

This hotel has a great position overlooking the harbour and in the town centre,be aware tho that during this time meals for lunch or the evening are served in the bar.The bar is very large and with few people about suffers cold drafts every time someone enters or leaves.Food is passable no haute cuisine but filling.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room oddnumbers on the second floor and presumably the third are a good bet.
Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank bigglesStrathaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception T, Front Office Manager at Bay View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Dear bigglesStrathaven,

Thank you for visiting us here at the Bay View Hotel, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed visiting the hotel and we would love to see you back again one day soon.

Warm Regards,

Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews