We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Christmas Vacation - Very good cabin. Would stay...”
other travellers have booked this property
Seen from the gate
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Seen from the gate
Burfell mountain as the backdrop Cedar Log Cabin, in December 2013
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
93 reviews
Seen from the gate
Burfell mountain as the backdrop
Cedar Log Cabin, in December 2013
View from the hill
Northern lighs over Burfell mountain, December 2013
December 2012 - in the morning
Main entrance at the back
River and mountain view from the hotpot
Winter by lake Alftavatn.
Hot pot with massage
Mountain view from the kitchen window
Lake Alftavatn and mountains in the vicinity, 30 min. walk.
Living room
Kitchen fully equipped
Master bedroom with great view
Bathroom, with big shower, washing machine and dryer
Bedroom downstairs beside masterbedroom. Great view.
Sleeping upstairs.
Sleeping in the guesthouse with 1/2 bathroom with toilet and sink.
Washing (8kg), Dryer (9kg)
Play area upstairs.  Video,dvd, playstation.
On the way (3 min. from Selfoss town) Volcano Hekla in the background (45 min. drive)
Heading towards the Cedar log cabin (3 min. from Selfoss town).  Mountain Burfell in the background (2 min drive from...
Aurora thunderstorm at Thingvellir National Park,  10- 15 minutes drive
All shades of green
Thingvellir National Park autumn (15 min drive)
Blafjoll ski area, 35 minutes drive
Perfect location, near to Reykjavik (40 min. drive)
Beautiful northern lights
Boat trips at Ulfljotsvatn (Scouts) and Stokkseyri (15 minutes drive)
Unique Thingvellir National Park nearby 10 minutes drive.
Vestmanna Islands,  a great day tour with a ferry. ( 1hour drivce to the ferry plus 20 min sailing)
Thingvellir National Park, winter wonderland
Landmannalaugar for a day trip (2 hours 20 min. drive)
Dyrholaey close to Vík  (1 1/2 hour drive)
Þórsmörk (1 1/2 hour)
Icelandic coastline (20 minutes drive) Stokkseyri, Eyrarbakki, Thorlakshofn
Seljalandsfoss, 1 hour drive.
RiverJet on the River Hvita close to Geysir and Gullfoss waterfall (40 min. drive)
Reykjavik winter, 40 min. drive.
Nearby, Lake Alftavatn, 2km. Great walks and jogging options.
The cabins surrounding in winter time.
Freedom unspoilt!
After crossing the bridge from Selfoss, from this turn it is 4 km to the cabin.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Selfoss, South Region

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 93 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Mike R
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Christmas Vacation - Very good cabin. Would stay again”
Reviewed 6 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
2
people found this review helpful

My timings are for winter (it snowed and the roads were very icy).
The cabin is easily located with just a map (I had a hire car so I could travel at my own whim). The rooms are large, furniture is comfortable, the kitchen and living room are inviting, and it has all the amenities needed, except only one shower in the main house if there more than 4 people staying, but there is another in the guest house.
It was very warm (underfloor heating), the hot tub was great, everything worked, and there were instructions inside the cabin.
It is close to several tourist sites, Selfoss, and food shops are only 20 mins away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: views
Liked least: the darkness
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Wenge...
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Magnificent!”
Reviewed 21 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013
3
people found this review helpful

After a long trip to Iceland from the USA, we could not believe our good fortune to find this beautiful cabin nestled below the Burfells mountains. The cabin was warm and beautifully decorated. Beds and furniture were so comfortable! We cooked a few meals in the evening, and found all the pots, pans, spices, and oils that we needed. We highly recommend a visit to Iceland in the winter. This cabin is ideally situated for day trips to Vik, Geiser, Thingvellir, and the Fontana Spa in Laudervatn. We went this spa twice, and each time, we had the pools to ourselves! The restaurants in Selfoss were excellent too. Icelanders were extremely kind and helpful to us - we are thinking of returning just to ride the Icelandic horses! The owners of the cabin were readily available to answer questions and provide everything that we needed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was as comfortable as our own home
Liked least: not a thing - it was beyond our expectations
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin81R
Heswall, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect, wonderful, amazing base to explore Iceland”
Reviewed 14 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This cabin is perfectly situated with a fantastic feeling of space and privacy, yet not far from a good selection of shops in Selfoss (We were travelling with Celiacs and vegans and had better choices for dietary requirements than back home) The skies are fantastically dark, with the milky way visible, and we were treated to a spectacular display of the northern Lights from the comfort of the hot tub. I echo everyone's comments that Robert was fantastic and couldn't do enough to help. The weather outside got as cold as -13, but the fantastic under floor heating meant that both the guest house and cabin were always toasty.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CelestePe...
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fabulous Home & Scenery”
Reviewed 4 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We traveled to Iceland the first week in November and booked Robert's home in Selfoss. Although we were relatively close to town, it felt like we were in the country with the breathtaking views from every window.

We loved the location as it was near the National Park and several of the Golden Circle attractions (Kerid Crater, Geysir, Gulfoss). We were able to sleep late everyday because the drive was much shorter than staying in Reykjavik.

And the most magical thing of all were the appearance of the Northern Lights the first evening we were there. We loved having the huge wrap-around deck to view the lights from many vantage points.

We had a great stay in Iceland and were very impressed with Robert's communication and manual he provided us on the home prior to our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouGoon
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fantastic base for exploring the Golden Circle and South Coast”
Reviewed 23 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

On arriving at the cabin the 6 of us (aged 28-38) we were quite overwhelmed by its charm and location! Robert, the owner, kindly also gritted the steep driveway as it had become quite icy!
The cabin and guesthouse were lovely, cosy and very welcoming, with a nice toasty warmth when we arrived.
During our stay the cabin was more of a place to sleep while we got up early to drive to locations (we basically spent the night there) but we really enjoyed it and couldn't find a fault with it. During winter I would recommend a 4WD to reach it as some of the roads could be quite treacherous, especially at night.
Although Selfoss itself is a little underwhelming, we did enjoy food at the local Grimborger Hotel (approx 1km walk from the cabin) and we were easily able to get grocery supplies (Kronan, Bonus, Netto) in Selfoss should we have needed them.
From start to finish Robert could not have communicated any better and was very helpful during our stay - out toaster didn't work and he replaced it immediately.
All in all, I'd definitely recommend this to fellow visitors to Iceland!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Warmth
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing