We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We went in winter, it was beautiful!”
Review of Lake Myvatn

Lake Myvatn
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 169.23*
and up
Fat Bike Tour at Lake Mývatn from Reykjahlíð
Ranked #4 of 29 things to do in Lake Myvatn
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“We went in winter, it was beautiful!”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We didn't even really SEE the lake, since it was 100% frozen over, but even then it was stunningly beautiful, although you wouldnt want to stop there for a long period of time, we just drove around it on our way around the ring road! Totally different experience to the summer i think! But as ever in Iceland, every view is postcard perfect!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsJen1310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

685 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    408
    207
    62
    8
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
220 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Across the road from our hotel, beautiful!”
Reviewed 17 November 2011

This was a lovely area and it was directly across the road from our Hotel. Lovely walking. The pseudo craters were interesting too.
Don't think I would fancy all the midges in the summer as the name translates to Midge lake.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Mad-on-Maldives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, MI
Level Contributor
104 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Peaceful Lake with Geothermal Undercurrents...”
Reviewed 10 November 2011

Lake Myvatn is beautiful, certainly with the sunset, but is located in a geothermal hotspot (where in Iceland isn't?).
The cinder-cone volcano, Hverfjall, is just to the east of the lake, and warrants a climb up to its rim for the view of the lake and of the volcano interior. The rock is so elemental.
15 km east of the lake on Route 1, take the road to the north up to the geothermal electricity generating station. Drive under the steam pipes and up onto the overlook beyond. the educational materials there will give you a good idea of the landscape buckling power of the earth's core.
A little further NW is a walk through a steaming and bubbling lava field. Apparently, it used to be off limits because of the danger, but everybody came anyway, so they have put in a pathway to guide you through. It is pretty spectacular, and will drive home the awareness of Iceland's pent up energy. It all feels very imminent, especially with all the energy-tapping vents over the surrounding hills.
A little farther NE is Lake Viti, which sits in an former vent. The water is reportedly hot, but we didn't climb down to the surface.
...And then back to the quiet of Lake Myvatn.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank another_traveler0104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennebunkport, Maine
Level Contributor
237 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“worth a detour”
Reviewed 9 November 2011

to me, the lake was like any other lake but what makes this area so special are all the attractions right around it- from lava fields, dettifoss, scenic flights, thermal baths, craters, mud spots and fumaroles, and a lot more. Very interesting area- plus there's the lake

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank kpter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, ON
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice but Spent Too Much Time Here”
Reviewed 6 November 2011

We took our time driving around the Lake and trying to see everything and stopping at every pull off. It wasn't until later in the day we discovered the Krafla Volcano and the hikes there- we were only in the area one day and although Lake Myvatn was nice- we regretted spending so much time there and didn't have enough time at Krafla- the most amazing experience of my life. Essentially - it's a very picturesque lake with forest surrounded by lava fields. It's pretty- but other than the old lava fields around it reminded us of Canada.
If you have lots of time- take your time and enjoy it. Remember the boiling mud pots and Krafla Volcano are right around the corner.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Cookiepaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lake Myvatn also viewed

 
Lake Myvatn, Northeast Region
Lake Myvatn, Northeast Region
 

Been to Lake Myvatn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing