We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice kitty”

Turpentine Creek Wildlife Refuge
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: "With over 100 exotic cats and other wildlife on display, Turpentine Creek Wildlife Refuge is one of the largest big cat sanctuaries in the United States. The non-profit USDA licensed refuge, founded in 1992, has grown to become one of the Top 10 attractions in Arkansas and the most popular in Eureka Springs. Lions, cougars, leopards, tigers, and bears are displayed in large natural habitats surrounding the main enclosures and gift shop. Each animal has its own story/history plaque for self-guided tours and over night accommodations are available via the Safari Lodge, RV park, and camping facilities. Guided tours are available from 10am until 4pm (Summer) or 3pm (Winter). The refuge is open year round (except Christmas Day) from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.."
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This was the first place my wife had to visit asap!!. It was nice, the tour was good. They also have a few bears. The tour is about an hour then afterwards you can roam the place all day if you want.

Thank michaelpE7448CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TCWR_Team_Member, Manager at Turpentine Creek Wildlife Refuge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good afternoon, Michael P.

We're glad you that we made yours and your wife's "must-see" list! Our tour guides try very hard to make sure the tour is informational and interesting. We hope you got to see Bam Bam, our grizzly. He's very funny to watch!

We hope your next visit is just as enjoyable. See you next time!

-Best,
The TCWR Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,031)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"big cats"
in 435 reviews
"walking tour"
in 176 reviews
"amazing animals"
in 34 reviews
"lions and tigers"
in 68 reviews
"their lives"
in 72 reviews
"grizzly bear"
in 34 reviews
"bam bam"
in 33 reviews
"beautiful cats"
in 32 reviews
"tree house"
in 26 reviews
"animal lovers"
in 39 reviews
"non profit"
in 36 reviews
"well taken care"
in 68 reviews
"love animals"
in 29 reviews
"the trolley tour"
in 32 reviews
"stay overnight"
in 23 reviews
"taking care"
in 25 reviews
"wonderful place"
in 70 reviews
Filter

13 - 17 of 2,031 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2018

The walking tour with Amber was very interresting she was excellent guide and very knowledgeable. We would highly recommend visiting and helping this fine facility.

Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TCWR_Team_Member, Manager at Turpentine Creek Wildlife Refuge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi, Scott C!

It was wonderful hosting you. We're glad you found your experience both entertaining and educational. Thank you for leaving such a kind review and for encouraging others to support our mission.

We'll see you next time!

-Best,
The TCWR Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2018 via mobile

Yes, it is sad that places like TCWR have to exist, but they provide the absolute BEST captive environment for all the animals they care for! We camped in an RV spot for the whole weekend and the cost is reasonable. YOu get entry for the days you stay AND get in an hour earlier than the public and that hour is magic! This was our first stay but have been coming since 2005, at least once a year! The huge natural habitats are so great! Grass, trees, toys and love from the stand make them thrive in the best situation that can be provided for them!

Thank O9213RHlaurag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TCWR_Team_Member, Manager at Turpentine Creek Wildlife Refuge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Laura G,

Thank you for staying at Turpentine Creek Wildlife Refuge in one of our RV spots!! We are so thrilled that you continue to support our cause! We always tell guests that our eventual goal is to put ourselves out of business because there won't be any more captive animals that need refuge from abuse and neglect! Unfortunately, that will probably be a long time from now, but we will help as many animals as we can until that special day! We look forward to many visits from you in the future and hope you continue to spread the word about TCWR!

Best Wishes,

Miranda Smith, Hospitality Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2018

We had a great experience at Turpentine Creek refuge. It was an experience to stay at the tree house, climb a ladder to the loft, while being serenaded by the animals. We had an exclusive time visiting the animals and were able to watch them being trained so that they would not need to be sedated for any medical procedures. The staff were very friendly and skilled. These animals are so fortunate to be rescued by this third generation family. I loved watching Bam Bam the bear playing with a piece of wood, I didn't know bears could be such comical contortionists.

Thank LLBGlenEllyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TCWR_Team_Member, Manager at Turpentine Creek Wildlife Refuge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi, LLBGlenEllyn,

Thank you for your visit and for leaving such a detailed review!

Our treehouse is a popular accommodation for and provides a great view. We're glad you got to listen to our lions carol- it's truly an unforgettable experience! Our exclusive tours really do give you a fantastic opportunity to learn more about our history and our animal residents. We're also glad you got to view the behavioral training!

Bam Bam is our resident "ham" and knows how popular he is! His attitude is contagious and has developed over time since his rescue. He never fails to put a smile on our face!

We can't wait to see you on your next trip. Until then, have safe, happy holiday season!

-Best,
The TCWR Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2018

We have visited the refuge 3 times over the last 5 years and it just keeps getting better and better. We were totally amazed about how much progress has been made since we were last there. Take the bus tour. Spend some time. Make a donation, I did. You can preview it at their website and learn how you can help in other ways.

Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TCWR_Team_Member, Manager at Turpentine Creek Wildlife Refuge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2018

Thank you for watching us grow, Susan! We're glad that you're such an invested part of the ever-changing adventures at the Refuge. Your continued visits, review, and of course, donation, is appreciated and makes a world of difference to our animal residents. We hope you are just as impressed on your fourth visit- who knows what we will have been up to by then! Thank you for being part of the TCWR team and giving a voice to the voiceless. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Turpentine Creek Wildlife Refuge also viewed

 

Been to Turpentine Creek Wildlife Refuge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing