We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Educational and Fun

This was such fun! There were plenty of cats to see, but most of all, we learned a lot from our... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
717lexiv
,
Searcy, Arkansas
via mobile
Wonderful place to visit for the whole family :)

The staff is very friendly and informative. I loved seeing the animals here. Plenty of room to play... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
sochale
,
Eureka Springs, Arkansas
Read all 2,033 reviews
  
Reviews (2,033)
Filter reviews
2,033 results
Traveller rating
1,626
285
92
22
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1,626
285
92
22
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews big cats walking tour lions and tigers their lives amazing animals grizzly bear bam bam beautiful cats tree house animal lovers non profit well taken care love animals the trolley tour stay overnight taking care wonderful place
Filter
Updating list...
216 - 221 of 2,033 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2018

Great family fun place. The tours are very informative. It was a great experience. You must go see Bam-Bam!

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank greenelie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TCWR_Team_Member, Manager at Turpentine Creek Wildlife Refuge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2018

We're glad you had such as great experience, Greenelie! Bam-Bam certainly has many adoring fans. We hope you will be able to come back and visit him again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018

While I hate that somewhere like this HAS to exist, I'm so glad it does. Anyone who has ever been here can attest to the fact that not only does every volunteer know each of these big cats by name, they can tell you their entire history, and even tell you specific details about their personalities. They truly care and the work they are doing here is just wonderful. If you are on the fence, be sure to visit! I have been going long enough to have seen Bam Bam go from his small enclosure to his "Bear Mansion" as I call it and it's amazing to think that all of that is made possible by donations and hard work put in by interns and volunteers!

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank AshleyF2403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TCWR_Team_Member, Manager at Turpentine Creek Wildlife Refuge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

Thank you for your visit and your wonderful review, Ashley! We love that you've had the opportunity to watch us grown and change as we do each year. When it comes to the need for big cat sanctuaries, we're right there with you; in a perfect world, TCWR would not be necessary, and we still mean it when we say our goal is to someday "put ourselves out of business. " Because of people like you who understand that big cats do not belong in captivity and who visit the Refuge and spread the word about our mission, hopefully, there will someday no longer be a need for places like us.

We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018 via mobile

Being an animal lover, visiting here was hard. I am appreciative of the facility and the good they are doing, but I am saddened that some members of the human race exploit these and other animals for their personal gain and enjoyment.

The facility itself was well kept, the animals appeared healthy. The intern-led tour was very educational. I would recommend a visit to anyone who wants to see big cats and bears up close and hear the unfortunate, entirely preventable, circumstances that led to the being there.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank jules72653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TCWR_Team_Member, Manager at Turpentine Creek Wildlife Refuge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

Great point, jules72653! We love our animals dearly and are happy to provide a place of refuge to them, but we wish it wasn't necessary. We wish our animals did not have to experience the sad stories you were told. We are grateful that you understand that wild animals are not meant to be exploited as pets or props. Thank you for encouraging people to visit our Refuge. It is people like you who spread the word about the sad consequences that stem from keeping these animals as pets that are paving the future for a better existence for them. We hope you are able to visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018

Although it was very cold that day we still enjoyed seeing the animals and learning about their pasts.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Joe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TCWR_Team_Member, Manager at Turpentine Creek Wildlife Refuge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

Joe W., wouldn't it be nice if Arkansas would make up its mind on its weather? We're glad you had a great time despite the chilly, windy day! We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2018

We spent the afternoon at this location. We took the guided walking tour. Our tour guide was very informative and knew a lot about each animal rescue. She spoke with passion and has a genuine love for what she does.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Principal38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TCWR_Team_Member, Manager at Turpentine Creek Wildlife Refuge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Thank you for your visit, Principal38! We're glad you were able to take advantage of this nice weather and go on one of our walking tours. We can't wait to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews