We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid if you can” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Cal Ruiz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Cal Ruiz
Ranked #18 of 33 Hotels in Pas de la Casa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Avoid if you can”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

Positives
- the rooms were
-lots of hot water/clean towels.
-a plate of food was left when our bus arrived late

Negatives
- the food was awful. Felt rough everyday from it. Breakfast was poor with horribly greasy food. The first things out were definitely the day befores leavings. Diner was worse. Stopped eating there on the 4th say when a lump of meat (probably lamb) squirted blood from it because the middle was cold.
-really really smokey reception/bar. Expensive bar with a pint of larger at €3.50 and a double and mixer at €6. Although the barman could have been pocketing the difference as I saw another review say they were dishonest.
-our room was at the end of the corridor nearest light was about 5 meters away no light on a fidly key.
-Reception staff rarely there to give a key to. Most people seemed to grab there own.

In summary I would never go back there would never recommend it and was really disappointed that we stayed there.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaspersflag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    75
    48
    24
    12
See reviews for
30
56
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

Pleasantly surprised with our stay at this hotel. The location at the bottom of the town was not a problem as it was only a five minute walk to the slopes. We rented lockers for our gear beside the slopes which meant we didn't have to carry it up and down every day. The food was fine with plenty of choice each evening.
Our room was very warm and was cleaned every day with fresh towels provided. Staff were friendly and helpful. Overall it was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank mark_gorman_dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

We had gone to pas de la Casa on boxing day for a weeks skiing holiday. We stayed at the Cal Ruiz a hotel which we had stayed previously some 7 years ago. It was good to see that the hotel was still very clean and tidy. Every day our room was cleaned, beds made and clean towels something which we were not expecting on a daily basis. New Year Eve was the best, the gala dinner was exceptional. Myself and partner were pleasantly surprised. The staff and hotel had gone that extra mile. We returned home on Monday but can honestly say enjoyed totally.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Car0lineSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london, UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2011

I was staying in the Cal Ruiz with my step son on his first ski holiday. It is the second time i have stayed there and for a 3* hotel it performs well. Location at the bottom of the resort sounds bad, but a 5 minute (quicker coming back) walk to the town centre isn't a 'slog' (or flog). The staff are friendly and accomodating, even if they didn't speak english ( well you are on holiday).
The food was catered to english and spanish people and i must say it was more than adequate and plenty of it. There was usually a dish or 2 that was unfamilliar but on a whole it was good (no complaining 15 year old is a good thing).
The only annoying thing about the holiday was the people that obvoiusly have champagne tastes and beer money.
The bar area could do with some new chairs, but was comfortable enough and a good meeting place for the well timed happy hour. The hot tub and sauna was good for the first few days, but i think they should have longer opening hours.
To sum up, it's a decent 3* hotel that is clean and tidy with friendly staff and adequate food.
P.S. For a reasonable fee you can store your skis and boots by the slopes.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank broadsword02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carmarthenshire
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2011

was pleasantly surprised with this hotel as some of the reviews we read were quite poor. Hotel was close to the pickup drop off point for coach transfersinto Plas de la Casa. Rooms were clean and tidy, maid service good. We found the food to be quite adequate for us with plenty of choice, staff were great and helpful, only downside being a smokey bar when you are not used to it but good fun. Jucuzzi and sauna clean and quite nice to have in the hotel, close to the sports centre if you felt like a swim and close to the shops for shopping.
5 mins walk to the main ski lifts. We went in our Half Term so it was quite busy but we didn't find much of a problem with queueing on the lifts as they are run very efficiently. Pistes were immaculate and well marked and the whole skiing area (Grand Vilara) can accommodate any level of skiier as this is a vast area.
Ski storage (extra) paid through Paddys Irish Bar was a great idea as all your gear is stored and warmed right next to the ski lift.

We booked this holiday quite late through Crystal and I must say that every aspect of their service was excellent (transfers, skis and boot hire, welcome meeting, information and help were all excellent and we thoroughly enjoyed our holiday. Thanks to Cal Ruiz and Crystal.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank welshies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pas de la Casa hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Les Truites
Hotel Les Truites
#1 of 33 in Pas de la Casa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.1 km away
Parma Hotel
Parma Hotel
#7 of 33 in Pas de la Casa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.2 km away
Magic Pas Hotel
Magic Pas Hotel
#11 of 33 in Pas de la Casa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Himalaia Pas
Hotel Himalaia Pas
#10 of 33 in Pas de la Casa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Pic Mari
Hotel Pic Mari
#23 of 33 in Pas de la Casa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Kandahar
Hotel Kandahar
#5 of 33 in Pas de la Casa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cal Ruiz? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cal Ruiz

Property: Hotel Cal Ruiz
Address: Avinguda Consell General 10-12, Pas de la Casa AD200, Andorra
Region: Andorra > Encamp Parish > Pas de la Casa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 33 Hotels in Pas de la Casa
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,534 - ₹ 6,938
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cal Ruiz 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Cal Ruiz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cal Ruiz Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing