We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect retreat”
other travellers have booked this property
San Marcos Lake House viewed from Jinava Bay
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
San Marcos Lake House viewed from Jinava Bay
Front patio deck, jacuzzi  and garden Living and reading room with bay window to  lake and view of meditation garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
6 reviews
San Marcos Lake House viewed from Jinava Bay
Front patio deck, jacuzzi  and garden
Living and reading room with bay window to  lake and view of meditation garden
Kitchen and dining table looking over lake
Breakfast nook with wonderful display of sented florifundia outside
Living room, fireplace and bay window over the lake
Master bedroom with bay windows overlooking the lake
Stairs to send level as seen from living room
Master bedroom
Master bathroom
Our private boat dock and view of Jinava Bay
View across lake of San Pedro la Laguna
Lake front nature walk and diving platform.
View from our veranda directly across the bay. Native fisherman in his hand made boat.
night view across lake & distant Pacific storm which can be as entertaining as local fireworks
View of lake and private deck from second bedroom
Bedroom number 3 with view of lake and private upper deck
Entrance to lake view meditation garden .. two terraces
Master bedroom bay window overlooking lake and garden
Second level lake view deck and sun  bathing area.
Our boat the 'Susana' availabe with operator for trips to villages and lake tours
Spend a quiet morning canoeing on the bay.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
San Marcos La Laguna, Lake Atitlan, Solola Department, Western Highlands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Letty M
Antigua, Guatemala
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect retreat”
Reviewed 27 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Our fourth visit to this wonderful house on the lake. We think of it as our weekend retreat. The location is outstanding, right on the edge of the lake with magnificent views. The terraces afford us the opportunity to relax in great comfort. The living room provides more delightful space. Cooking which I love is easy in the convenient kitchen with lake views. The bedrooms offer all the comfort we wish. Waking with those lake views is a dream. And we love the walk to San Marco where we have favorite restaurants and shopping.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 May 2017
Glad you keep enjoying the house. We continue to make improvements as we can ... poco a poco as they say.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janestach
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Complete misrepresentation of villa-looks beautiful in the picture but beware.”
Reviewed 11 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017
4
people found this review helpful

We stayed here a month. When I arrived I was shocked to see the proximity of the caretaker and his family. The information says " The caretaker, his wife and young child live onsite and they are very discrete" This is totally false. Their house was literally 2 steps from the villa. It's impossible to be discrete. There is a huge kitchen window so they can see everything. There is no privacy. At minimum there are 4 adults staying in the caretakers house I believe their son and his young baby. It was not unusual to have 4 adults and sometimes 6 sitting outside their house with clear views into the villa. The dining area window is in direct line of sight by those sitting in there yard. We moved the table outside to give ourselves some privacy as we could not even eat a meal without being overlooked.
This could easily be solved by making the entrance to their home on the other side. Clearly this was the case formally as the gate is clearly visible. This would also avoid all the traffic from their family and friends coming through the same entrance as guests.

The caretaker and his family do not speak any English so really he was not able to help us with any information. This is not stated in the information and obviously communication was difficult. It states to contact the letting agent if you want to communicate. Again totally unrealistic.

The steps into San Marcos are extremely steep and they are unlit at night. Coming down is quite difficult as it can be quite slippy. There is no handrail and you have to hang onto the wire fencing as a safety measure. This is unacceptable and again underplayed in the advertising.

To gain acces to the "third bedroom" you have to go outside and up steps. Again this was a total shock. So if you need to use the bathroom at night you have to go outside. The caretaker also has 2 dogs which bark all night and use this area as a toilet so the smell of dog faeces is strong.

The villa should have been cleaned every 3rd day but never was. We had to contact the letting agent several times about this. This is important as you can't flush toilet paper down the loo and there are open bins for the toilet paper. Very unhygienic if the bins are not emptied regularly. The whole villa needs a deep clean and the bathrooms are very dated. The shower in one of the bedrooms was dripping constantly which was very irritating. I reported this but it was not fixed.
I also need to mention that the bedding was old and in need of replacing. The pillows on one bed were so disgusting I asked for them to be replaced which they were. I should not have needed to ask.
The information says it sleeps 8. There are only 2 sun beds and those have no cushions on them. There are only 6 dining chairs so if there were 8 staying they would not be accommodated.

The boat prices are extremely expensive if there are only 2 people staying at the villa. Not sure how they can justify those prices. We only used the boat in emergencies and took the public boats which were great and cheap. Also getting in and out of the the villa boat was tricky because there is a huge gap. To say the water level had fallen is nonsense and no excuse it needs to be addressed.

I was not sad at all to leave and staying in a hotel in San Pedro just highlighted to me how many issues there are with this villa. Private villa yes but with absolutely no privacy.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn T
Lindfield
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Poetic licence”
Reviewed 1 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017
2
people found this review helpful

The spectacular views of the lake and surroundings nearly compensate for the accessibility issues, lack of cleaning, proximity of the caretaker and lack of privacy.
The Villa is definitely needing some strong TLC to make it an appealing home.
So many areas for improvement: eg the dock access, ladder on the dock to allow for swimmers to climb out of the Lake, access to the steep slope is precarious, limited sun loungers with lack of cushions, no facilities in 3rd bedroom, access to the 3rd bedroom, bathroom bins, kitchen bins, etc etc
Why would the owner grow a climbing plant over the window in the master bedroom. Surely the fact that there is no window dressing and the daylight and views are visible at all times means you want to be able to see out. Such a shame.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Mar 2017
We're glad you enjoyed the lake and surrounding views; It is said that Lake Atitlan is the most beautiful lake in the world! Unfortunately the lake level can fluctuate significantly, and the current dramatic drop in level has made it a challenge to keep the dock and steps aligned properly. The necessary alterations should be in place in a few days. We appreciate your bringing the housekeeping issues to the attention of our property manager; she is working with the caretaker family to improve performance in those areas. We trim trees and shrubs to keep the lake view from the master bedroom window unobstructed; we'll make sure the gardener gives more attention to any exuberant tropical vines. Thanks for your help in making sure we offer a good experience to our guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: stunning views
Liked least: wifi went a little sku-wiff on the last day
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
dardonsan...
Taos, New Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing