We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A hidden gem and the perfect base for Lake...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
B and B -
5 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 9
San Marcos La Laguna, Lake Atitlan, Solola Department, Western Highlands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
AJ B
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A hidden gem and the perfect base for Lake Atitlan!”
Reviewed 21 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Hummingbird Hostel was an absolute treasure of a place to stay in Lake Atitlan. Away from the noise of San Pedro and San Marcos, you'll get a beautiful night's sleep. But more than that, you'll get a home away from home. Katy was very accommodating to all my needs. The Wi-Fi is incredible and makes the hostel a great spot for digital nomads working on the lake. The food is delicious and lovingly prepared. Get yourself to Hummingbird today!!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carly L
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Home away from home! ”
Reviewed 29 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

The energy here is relaxed and comfortable! We stayed here on and off month of January. Kate is an amazing host and really welcoming. This place has a special touch of tranquility and peacefulness. I highly recommend this hostel to anyone looking to chill with good company. + Kate has the cutest cats to cuddle with and a beautiful bright personality dog named Ruby <3 !!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jan 2018
Thank you so much , see you next year we hope xxxxxx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yulianna...
Ibiza, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“WHAT A GEM !!!”
Reviewed 7 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Hummingbird Hostal is a magical cozy place where you feel like home right a way, beautiful energy surrounding and covering you completely in fragrant flowers fallowed by millions of butterflies and of course Colibris making this expriance unforgettable ... being welcomed by loving Katy with kind smile on her beautiful face makes you dive into this little paradise of Tzununa that she created ... Oh yes , and how comfy are the beds , after all the hikes and traces was excatly what i needed to restore and reocver . Thank you so much , defintiely will come back to share this Magic .

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Sep 2017
Thank you so much lovely , see you again soon xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKAMarty
Western Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Decent place, but the neighbors ruined my experience.”
Reviewed 18 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Hummingbird Hostel is a lovely place, with friendly people and a relaxing atmosphere. I had a private room, reading lamp and comfy bed. WiFi was good.

Bathroom is downstairs, so if you have an upstairs room you will need to go down a flight of stairs and across an open space to reach the single toilet and shower.

The town of Tzununa is very small, with one restaurant and only small markets. San Marcos is not far (30 minutes walking, five minutes by water taxi, ten minutes by tuk-tuk) but the journey becomes much more challenging after night falls. Water taxis stop running, the road is dark and probably not a good idea for walking, and the tuk-tuk's triple in price.

Unfortunately, when I arrived I learned that there would not be any food available at the hostel, which was a major disappointment. Combined with the absence of guest kitchen and limited restaurant options nearby, I was definitely bummed!

Also, the church behind the hostel had REALLY loud music until late at night, and again starting very early in the morning. I usually love the sound of children playing, but right outside my bedroom window at 6 am was less than adorable. Combined with the neighborhood roosters, dogs, and firecrackers, I was ready to leave after two nights of bad sleep and having to travel to get food.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Sep 2017
Gald you enjoyed the most part of you stay , we enjoyed hosting you .... sometimes there are things out of our control ..... Its part and parcel of village life here ... there are 3 or 4 eateries in town here as well as street food vendors ..... Happy travels :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h a
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Most convenient spot in Tzununa with decent wifi, low-key down-to-earth atmosphere.”
Reviewed 18 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

I ran into this one on my search for some decent internetz while staying in another casita in Tzununa. Kept stopping by after my first discovery because the wifi was decent, the atmosphere friendly, the coffee delicious and music never bad.

When I got back to Lake Atitlan for a second time after leaving for a few days, I decided to stay in this hostel, and in Tzununa again. As a solo female traveler, I really enjoyed staying here because it was safe, friendly and easy to meet other people. The hostel had a tolerant, progressive, low-key atmosphere. I met many other travelers and had great convos here. The host and volunteers were some of the most down to earth people I met on my travels. The host, Katy, is a great storyteller with a solid sense of humor and with lots of super interesting observations about the lake, the town and its people. Like, I don't know why she's not writing a book...

The dorm room is great because there are only 3 beds and lots of space in it. Private rooms are clean and fairly sized as well. Most rooms are tucked away from the main hang out area so you can hide away in tranquility should you need it BUT I recommend chilling out in the kitchen / hammock / deck area because that's where you'll probably meet other friendly travelers and maybe locals. You might also want to consider joining communal dinner as the food is affectionately prepped and sourced from around the area.

Tzununa itself has easy access to the rest of the towns around the village by boat and is a gorgeous 20 min walk away from San Marcos but it is not as touristy. It has its own share of quirkiness, amazing sunrise from the deck, hummingbirds and hikes, friendly locals, permaculture and spiritual spots, and super loud funky churches.

Hostel is on the main road going up to the village on the hill and a few minutes of a walk away from the deck. If you are staying in Tzununa, this is probably your most convenient choice re:access. The only bummer I can think of is - for those who are on an extreme budget - that there is no communal kitchen.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Sep 2017
Thank you so much , we loved hosting you too , welcome back any time
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing