We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel La Carreta

Hotel La Carreta
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tilaran
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel La Carreta
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tilaran
Duncan, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2011

We used La Carreta as a stop over and were pleasanty surprised with every aspect of our stay. Owners Ed and Rita were super and the hotel was as clean and neat as a pin. We got a great rate and the included breakfast was the best we had on our trip. We also loved the town of Tilaran, especially the trees full of green parrots in the church yard across the street from the hotel.

Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank islandguy_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

5 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
munich
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2009

My husband and I stayed here on Good Friday when the town had virtually closed down for Easter. The owners were very attentive and helpful. They directed us to the only restaurant likely to be open - the Chinese, which was O K & good value. The garden bedroom was very comfortable and well decorated but breakfast was rather spartan -either egg or fruit and granola - no fruit juice or large plates of fruit as we received in most other places. As another reviewer mentioned, the neighbour's dog barked a lot at night, but that is not the owners' fault. At 50 dollars + tax, rather pricey for a non-tourist town.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eileenmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2009

We stayed at this hotel two nights in March while on a family vacation. We found the hotel to be very clean and accomodating. The couple that ran the hotel spoke English and were very helpful. The room were very clean, had a comfortable bed, and nicely decorated. I was very happy with the stay. The owners provided us with plenty of information regarding things to do and places to eat. The breakfast was very good and had nice selections. I would definitely recommend this to anyone and will stay there if we return.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKFans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington CD
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2009

I would give this little hotel an excellent rating all the way around. It is as if you are staying in the home of the hosts. Actually, you ARE staying in the home of the hosts!

The rooms are very clean and accomodating, with nice furnishings. Each room even has reading lamps on the wall behind the beds! The beds are very comfortable.
Much of it is newly refinished, so it is very fresh.
We even had a TV in the room , with cable.
The hosts could not be more gracious or accomodating. They are Americans, so language is not a problem. Actually, even if you speak only Spanish, it is not a problem, either.
Tilaran is a very pretty town with wide, clean streets. It is a good place to stay to take in the tourist sites around the lake.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lillecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2009

This is a great little hotel. The owners were super friendly and very helpful. They spoke English which was nice for our first night in Costa Rice. They gave us tips on where to go and what to see. The hotel has super comfy beds and the rooms have a fun tropical decor. There is a nice little garden in the back with hammocks to hang out in. On top of the rooms is a balcony that you can take a look at the town from. The only downfall of this hotel is that the neighbors have a dog that barked all night. Tilaran is also very windy so the roofs rattled at night. Not the fault of the hotel though. It would happen at any place in Tilaran. They served a yummy breakfast that was included in the cost of our room. We enjoyed our stay here!

  • Liked — Comfy beds
  • Disliked — Dogs barking
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharCharBinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tilaran
0.0 km away
Hotel El Sueno
Hotel El Sueno
#5 of 7 in Santa Elena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.0 km away
Lake Arenal Hotel & Microbrewery
0.0 km away
Monte Terras
Monte Terras
#2 of 6 in Tilaran
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
La Ceiba Tree Lodge
La Ceiba Tree Lodge
#1 of 8 in Tilaran
5.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Cielo Azul Resort
Hotel Cielo Azul Resort
#4 of 8 in Tilaran
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.0 km away
Heliconia Hall
Heliconia Hall
#7 of 8 in Tilaran
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Carreta? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Carreta

Property: Hotel La Carreta
Address: 150 Meters South Banco Costa Rica, Tilaran, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tilaran
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tilaran
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Carreta calls Tilaran home. Nestled between Lake Arenal and the Tilaran Mountains, it is the perfect stopover for planning the next move in your Costa Rican adventure; whether it be the colorful Caribbean coasts, the sunny beaches of Guanacaste, or the lush mountain forests of Monteverde. Each of our unique rooms offer guests: Cable TV, ceiling fans, orthopedic beds with reading lamps, and private baths with hot showers. Wheelchair accessible. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing