We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NOT SO GOOD STAY HERE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Canyon Plaza Resort
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Tusayan
Province of Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“NOT SO GOOD STAY HERE”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

On arrival at Reception, the girl was frantically chewing her gum and just smirking. The place was as crowded as Grand Central Station, and a bit of a madhouse - nothing tranquil here - just chaos, and the receptionists made it quite clear that the guests are just something in their day's work - nothing more. The room in the far block was very nice, and unlike other Reviewers here, we had no problems with the bedsheets - they were fine and all the furniture was in good condition and everything was clean. Following a Trip Advisor Reviewer's advice, we booked the Manager's Special which was good value, but a little troubling to find out in this restaurant that if you didn't speak spanish it was a bit difficult, as practically ALL the staff were only speaking spanish. The "once over light" eggs arrived almost raw, and when sending them back, the waiter said that "the chef is new here"; which was quite amusing, when they came back, they were just a little better, but certainly not they way they were required to be. At dinner, we found it rather cheeky when the waiter (who was very good and efficient) arrived with the bill which included Service and his Tip!!!! We were taken aback completely by this, so we just let it be, as he had given us good service, but a little naughty. Like others have said, this place is part of the Grand Canyon Tourist Trap and is probably as good as you will find around this area.

Room Tip: Get the Manager's Special direct from their own website - our room was good - large and good fur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lolimin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,660 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    515
    595
    225
    173
See reviews for
522
700
49
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Honestly, this place seems to be a money mill that caters to bus loads of foreign tourists visiting the Grand Canyon. Check in was a lengthy affair as we stood in a huge line of of folks off of a bus. The room was decent, we managed to get a roll away bed with out difficulty.

After being told at check in that we could cancel the reservation for the following night (we would have to call because we made it through a 3rd party) another employee denied the request. I had to walk back to the desk and physically confront them about it to get it approved. This seems to be pretty poor customer service.

At no time during our stay did the WIFI work. According to other reviews this seems to be standard operating procedure. There were no working ice machines to be found in our building. On the plus side, the buffet breakfast was very good.

Over all, I would probably just stay in the Grand Canyon Village on my next visit. You do save some money staying outside the gate in Tusyan but you miss out on the magic of the Canyon.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tusayan hotels

Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012 via mobile

Although the front staff was smiley, they didn't have much expertise. We had to move rooms twice; first time for this stale cigarette-like smell, second for a loud constant noise perhaps from the elevator. Our third room was an "upgrade." after figuring out ( with added troubling delay) that the magnetic key cards opened a second room 305 door, we found the rooms to be spacious, but really un-inviting for a living space. This "suite" did not have a sink in the bathroom, and the only trash bin was puny. Apparently this was one of the more reasonably priced places from the limited selection in the area, yet still probably $50 more than is worth. To their credit, they did take down the duplicate 305 sign on the second inactive door. One of the arms on the chairs was busted and the second room had no natural light. Although clean, to say the place needs some updating is an understatement. The glass door to the outside patio did not have a functional lock, nor did some other entrances into the building. Good thing bad people decided to not take advantage of this fact.
On the brighter side, the walls and ceilings were in good condition, and the spray strength to the shower head was strong, but hung low for my six foot two inch frame. The queen bed was comfortably firm and adequate for our activities.

FYI- the Mexican restaurant is no good across the street. go to the restaurant in the Grand Hotel. They feature live entertainment nightly. They probably have better rooms, but we don't have any first hand experience of this.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

The second stop on our road trip was the Grand Canyon. We booked a room in Tusayan, a tiny town about 10 minutes outside of Grand Canyon Village. The majority of the available places to stay are motel style. We booked a king room at the Canyon Plaza Resort as nothing else was left. Do note that if you stay here it is behind the IMAX.

Room
We were in the furthest block of rooms on the second floor; room 2019. There was no elevator, so we had to carry our suitcases up two flights of stairs, which is ok because we're younger. The room was quite large with a living room area, three piece bath room, additional vanity area and bedroom area. There is a coffee maker. There were two tvs and I think there was a mini fridge. The space had an off-putting smell; musty and as if it had once been a smoking room. The bathroom was nice and appeared clean. The bedding was atrocious! The was no fitted sheet! They'd just tucked a top sheet over the mattress. The sheets were full of little holes. I had previously read a review on TripAdvisor from a couple who found bed begs here so once there, I extensively inspected the bed and pulled back the pillows, blanket and sheets to have a really close look - hence why I found that the fitted sheet was a top sheet. I didn't find anything parasitic at all, but I did find a curly black hair beneath the 'fitted sheet'. Had I inspected other hotel beds as closely, I would have likely found similar items. So we made due as it was for only one night. I couldn't get the wifi to work because we were too close to the other motel and I wasn't picking up the signal.

Hotel
There is a pool overlooking the parking lot and I think there is an indoor hot tub space but I didn't see that. There is no bar/lounge here. I was told there was but when we returned from the Grand Canyon, we went to kick back and have a beer and found that the reception/lobby area was the 'bar'. It was satisfactory. We ate at the restaurant for dinner and it was ok. The servers and staff were excellent - very friendly and helpful so I give them an A.

To summarize, as long as the Grand Canyon is there, people from all around the world will pay LOADS of money for whatever accommodations are available, whether those accommodations be decent or sub-par. On a positive note, it's really close to the Grand Canyon, so if you are there for a few days, that can work in your favour. We paid over $200US for the night and I think if I were to do it again and other places had vacancies, I would have paid more to have better accommodations. However, rooms are scarce in Tusayan, so I hope you can find somewhere else to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building and we paid less for dinner ordering A La Carte then had we eate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeasideSteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

It's an overpriced place to spend a night or two, not the main attraction. It's a dump and a tourist trap... now get over it! Accomodation on the Canyon books up fast. But this place does alright to take a shower in and catch some sleep before you wander off to experience what you really came through town for... the Grand Canyon!

For dinner, go across the street to 'We Cook Pizza and Pasta' for whatever they sell; and if you've never paid $10 for a McDonald's breakfast combo, here's your opportunity to do so!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dagger-trotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tusayan
0.5 km away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
0.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
9.0 km away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
0.1 km away
Red Feather Lodge
Red Feather Lodge
#3 of 6 in Tusayan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,336 reviews
9.4 km away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canyon Plaza Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyon Plaza Resort

Property: Canyon Plaza Resort
Address: 406 Canyon Plaza Lane, Grand Canyon, Tusayan, AZ 86023
Region: United States > Arizona > Tusayan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Tusayan
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,594 - ₹ 22,024
Hotel Class:3 star — Canyon Plaza Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 1 mile from the South Rim entrance to the Grand Canyon National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TravelClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Canyon Plaza Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canyon Plaza Hotel Tusayan
Quality Inn Grand Canyon National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing