We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveller rating
70
44
10
4
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
70
44
10
4
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews other travelers cooked meals steep hill we loved our stay drake's bay family style corcovado national park atv cabinas lodge trips balconies osa stories ocean adventure trek
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 135 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Drake Bay is quite simply a wonderful place. The day trip to Cano Island was great as was the day trip to Corcovado National Park. The best thing for me about El Mirador was that it wasn't the plastic, sterile experience that clearly you get in some other places nearby. Other reviewers have used the word 'rustic' to describe the cabins here. I would agree with that and add that 'rustic' here is great. I came here for an experience. I came here to see the wildlife. I came here to taste local food. I came here to mix with like-minded people who had tales to tell. Did I get it? Yes I did. El Mirador earns 5 stars from me because at this price you can't get any better. There may be more luxurious options in Drake Bay. There are also cheaper options in town. My experience is that El Mirador is possibly the best option - great price and a wonderful location. Worth considering??

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chouen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

The rooms are more like nice sheds and you can hear everyone around you so privacy isn't great. It was also unbearable hot and humid at night.
However, the meals provided were tasty and dinner times were very sociable, which was really nice. The views are great and the look out is a nice place to sit in a hammock overlooking Drake Bay.
Isis speaks to everyone after dinner to check their arrangements are all sorted for the next day and helps you book anything.
The walk up to the lodge is steep, but not very long and we didn't mind going up and down several times a day. It only takes about 2 minutes to get to the beach and the town is a short walk away.
Definitely looked like the best of the cheaper places to stay.
Tips: get the boat from Sierpe - interesting ride to get there and book the night tour ahead as it was all booked up when we got there so we missed out. Snorkeling at Cano Island and walking to Sirena Ranger Station were both amazing trips booked through El Mirador.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Yes, this is rustic... Drakes Bay is a rustic location... so relax and enjoy this amazing place. To say the view is stunning is an understatement. It is a challenge to get there for sure, but it's truly a wonderful experience to stay there. Isis is so helpful... the food is great and plentiful. You meet so many great people. I'll never forget our 5 nights and days... the walks thru the jungle to get to amazing beaches... our trips to Cano Island for snorkelling and Corcovado... what a truly special place.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoanPSutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012 via mobile

We just got back from El Mirador and LOVED it! The views were better than some of the places that were triple the price!! Isis and her staff were amazing, as was the food. The ocean views were spectacular and the hammock area had a great view as well. What a great value for what we got, in addition to the best rates on tours in town! I would definitely go back!! Thank you, Isis, for everything!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fleurster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

The secret to enjoying El Mirador Lodge is being in good physical condition and having an adaptive attitude. At the level where the open air dining room and some of the cabinas are located are million dollar views and on up at the actual viewpoint are billion dollar views of Drake Bay, making the long trek up the steep path quite worth it. They did take our luggage up on an ATV. We're in our 70s and managed it at least once a day, and sometimes more often. The rooms are simple: furnished with a comfortable bed and a couple of resin chairs but no closets or other hanging space and no dressers. Only cold water is available, but welcome after a day in the hot sun. The rooms, which are screened, have a balcony from which to enjoy the glorious sunsets, as well as daily housekeeping. The only light is an overhead CFL. We especially enjoyed the delicious and ample meals, over which we shared stories with other travelers to Costa Rica. I strongly suggest booking your tours, such as horseback riding, the Corcovada National Park tours, and snorkeling tours through El Mirador Lodge. We took the collective boat from Sierpe to Drake Bay, and had a "wet" landing, i.e., wading through the surf, which was an added adventure in our reef shoes. In summary, we had a great time at Drake Bay. We booked for six nights; four nights would have been more than adequate. The best tour was the night tour with the "bug lady." Don't miss it! An added bonus to our stay: Ms. Vargas let us use her washer and dryer to do a load of laundry on our last day for just $5.00. Quite a bargain!!! If you enjoy living with a local Costa Rican family, and adapting to local standards, you'll love this place.

Room Tip: We didn't see all of the rooms, but the ones that we did see all enjoyed the incredible view.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quertosomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews