We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Love this spot and all the local hospitality that...”
other travellers have booked this property
queen bed, cieling fans, sliding glass door to patio
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
queen bed, cieling fans, sliding glass door to patio
Futon, kitchenette, desk, dining table Long portal with garden view and hammock
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
queen bed, cieling fans, sliding glass door to patio
Futon, kitchenette, desk, dining table
Long portal with garden view and hammock
Patio with jungle views- great for wildlife.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Drake Bay, Osa Peninsula, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
TravelWit...
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Love this spot and all the local hospitality that comes with it!”
Reviewed 23 October 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The Mango Street Casita is a perfect little gem for two or three people.

As someone who knows Costa Rica well and has been many times in Drake Bay, I often stay here.

The accommodations are spacious, clean, and very comfortable. The lovely property (with gardens lovingly cared for by Mario) is technically located "in town", but it's set off the main road. The ambience is very relaxing. There is much less noise than there would be otherwise. However, it's a very easy short walk into the heart of town (where the main grocery stores and several restaurants are) and an equally short walk to the beach from which the boats go to and from Corcovado National Park, the mangroves, and Sierpe.

Mario and Nichole are very responsible owners who have lived in Drake Bay many years. Given that their careers have been in the tourism industry, they know the importance of customer service first-hand and do everything possible to make certain that guests experience the best. Mario is on-premise all the time to assist with everything-- welcoming at the beach and transporting luggage; arranging tours and transfers; doing laundry; attending to anything that may arise unexpectedly, etc. If the howler monkeys and/or the sloth have dropped by recently, he will let guests know so that they may have the opportunity to spot them as well!

In addition to having stayed here many times, I have recommended the Mango Street Casita to others. Everyone has had a very positive experience!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Oct 2017
We appreciate your detailed review. Your comments will be helpful for future guests.

We are pleased to know that you had an enjoyable stay and we look forward to hosting you once again with the newest upgrade of air conditioning in the bedrooms.
Again, thank you for your visit and review.
Happy travels.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
776Kate
Socorro, New Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I felt I was in a jungle paradise with all the birds and flowers.”
Reviewed 12 May 2017 for a stay in January 2017

This is a tropical paradise surrounded by plants and trees well maintained by the owners. The village is not overdeveloped which lends to it charm. The accommodation are full service (full cooking kitchen, fans, internet access) which is amazing since Drake just recently had electricity installed. I noticed a reviewer complained about the bugs and I was amused. This is the tropics after all. I’d be nervous with a scorpion or snake which is common in the tropics. The location is a gem.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Oct 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review the casita. We are happy to know that you had a pleasant time in the rain forest. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Happy travels.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan P
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Cockroaches”
Reviewed 5 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Mu husband and I arrived for what we thought would be the perfect end to our 2 week tour of Coata Rica, 4 nights in Drake Bay with all the wildlife and tours to see even more wildlife. One thing that I didn't realize from the posting (my fault) was that the bathroom (toilet, sink, shower) were literally all outside. It was secluded enough, but still was surprised by this. Mario was very kind to meet us off the boat from Sierpe to walk us to the house as addresses are not like they are in the states. My husband tried to contact Nichole 4 days prior to our arrival in Drake Bay as we wanted a bit more info on the boat and the timing of boats. Unfortunately on the day we were to arrive in Drake we were traveling from Monteverde and only able to get wifi when we arrived in Sierpe. Nichole did correspond with us the day we were to arrive. I would have appreciated earlier communication. The only night we spent in Drake bay the power went out as promised and when my husband and I put on our headlamps we saw multiple cockroaches running around the bedroom and the kitchen. I was done at that point. I was not staying here. We told Mario and he was able to call Nichole. They were very understanding about us not wanting to stay here. Nichole was able to find us a room up the road with a friend and we stayed the night there and took the first boat back out. Nichole and I came to an agreement on a refund. She stated that she would take care of the cockroaches and that her family was there the weeks prior and didn't say anything about cockroaches.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Mar 2017
Thank you for taking time to write your review. Your opinion is important for all travelers coming to Drake Bay.
I am sorry that you were not able to enjoy the natural beauty of the area.
Regards,
Nichole
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dwilliams...
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“All around great”
Reviewed 21 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We were very happy to stay with a local vs be isolated in an eco lodge. Nichole was very very helpful with advance planning and Mario made everything work as Mother Nature had a few plans of her own. The casita is comfortable and secure. Within walking distance of every activity including very adequate market i.e. Mini super. Muchas Gracias

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Feb 2017
Thank you for posting your review and choosing our vacation rental for your time in Drake Bay.

Happy travels,
Nichole and Mario
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
652stef
Langley, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful place”
Reviewed 8 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Very clean, private and secure. Ten minutes from beach, restaurants and groceries. Mario and Nichole are wonderful hosts and great at booking various tours available, whether group or private, as they know everyone! This is our third time coming to stay here.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 125
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing