We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (47)
Filter reviews
47 results
Traveller rating
40
5
0
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
40
5
0
2
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 47 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2015

If you are looking for the true Costa Rica, this is your place. Located in the middle of the primary rain forest, you'll be surrounded by sounds of the jungle, your alarm clock will be the howling monkeys, the singing toucans.. and eventually you'll come across with lots of different species of birds, monkeys, or even bigger ones as the Baird's tapir.
The two days I've spent there were truly amazing, disconnected from the rest of world, and nothing else but pure nature. You can retire there to get some time for yourself, do some beautiful hikes or enjoy with the company of Daniela, Osvaldo, Jimmy and Juan, great hosts that can show you how to make your own cacao or sugarcane juice, or taste the original Costa Rican food.
Pura Vida!

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Nigurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2015

THANK YOU OSWALDO FOR CREATING AND SHARING SUCH A WONDERFULL PLACE.
my kids ( 5 and 4 years old ) and myself can't wait to be back and kick our shoes off to gentely walk on the soft- fresh sorounding of Casa Pequena .The place is just breath-taking , from the fist moment I walked-in I felt Mother Nature is here the main character .We slept in the two floor cabin .WE LOVED IT ! .Oswaldo taught us how to make organic substrate , my kids helped him out with gardening , in the morning we collected fresh duck eggs that Daniela cooked for breakfast .... delicious with fresh-prepared gallopinto and homemade tortillas.
Great experience for nature lovers of all ages .

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarladelBosque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2015

I just experienced this place...It's not what, it leads you to believe!
Unless, you're a young, wayward, traveler!
There is minimal food provided, you are basically "On you own"...No meat, poultry, fish, etc....Also, the owner Osvaldo offers "Team" treks though the jungle, to the beaches, but he'll desert you 3/4 on the way back & >>good luck finding your way back to the farm!!
Plus: It is NOT a working farm! No horses, animals, vegetable gardens, herb gardens, etc.
TOTAL misrepresentation!!!

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank pgbcaphill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2015

This oasis is perfect for coming down.
Very simple and close to nature. You hear and see the jungle everywhere.
There are only a couple of other guests around.
Delicious, fresh, organic food, especially the jungle-pizza out of the wood oven!
Very nice hosts!
It's helpful if you speak spanish...

Room Tip: I slept in the 4-bed-hut which was great one night in the tent was a great experience with the sound of the jungle and the view of stars and moon
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Marius K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I stayed here for about 4 full days in Feb 2014. The whole set up is super chill and laid back. Huge recommendation if you are into a more laid back setting; for those travellers looking for more polished operations or a simple jump-off for day tripping and touring corcovado, etc., then I might look in drake bay town itself.

I loved it here and spent much of my time hanging around the farm, lounging in hammocks, hanging with and practicing spanish with Osvaldo and Daniella, helping out with odds and ends (e.g., planting some plantain trees), enjoying some of the fruits of the farm (e.g., fresh young coconut plucked from tree, pineapple plucked from the bush), cooking with the big brick oven, and going for walks through the jungle or down to the beach (about a 35 minute walk) in the second half of the day. The place is very cool for hanging out, and the jungle is just right there -- with monkeys and macaws hanging out right at the border of the farm.

If you are just looking for a hostel to use as a home base for taking excursions to Corcovado and tours and stuff, then you might be better off down closer to Drake Bay (CP is kind of up in the hills and further down the coast). If you are looking more for the chilled out vibe, then CP is awesome.

Few details:
- Osvaldo will scoop you up from/drop you off at the drake airstrip, cost is i think $24 (and I don't think the taxis like to go up there cuz there are 2 river crossings) just let him know in advance
- Osvaldo will scoop you/drop you at the beach to catch the boat to and from Sierpe, cost is i think $14
- You can walk 30 minutes to a little general store to get food if you need it, but don't expect too much. You can also get some food (e.g., cheese, platains) from the neighbors and Osvaldo will help with that
- Everything is independently powered (CP is off the grid) and there is Internet in the main area (an internet USB modem thingy) but don't expect wifi or anything out in your room
- Bring cash -- there are no ATMs anywhere in drake bay or sierpe

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews