We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Awesome Relaxing Place!”
The open concept of our Luxury home
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The open concept of our Luxury home
 Location of Casa Rio Sierpe located in Primary rain forest along the Rio Sierpe Look at What's Included in your stay
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
The open concept of our Luxury home
Location of Casa Rio Sierpe located in Primary rain forest along the Rio Sierpe
Look at What's Included in your stay
Our 700 sqft covered deck is our favorite room in the house
Breathtaking views from the house of the rainforest, river & mountains
These could be your foot prints on this pristine beach
Spacious fully equipped kitchen to support your culinary delights
Included in your Stay, Unlimited River fishing by boat & we provide the tackle!
400 sqft Master Bedroom with private balcony
One of the amazing trees found in the primary rainforest near the house
Luxurious Master Bathroom, His/Hers Sinks, His/Hers Rainfall/waterfall showers
Howler monkeys, the loudest terrestrial animal in the world, your alarm clock.
Spacious guest bedroom with 180 degree views
Majestic, golden hour early morning views from the back deck
Our luxury home nestled into the primary and secondary rainforest
Spacious and well appointed bathroom
World class sport fishing found directly offshore
Inside dinning room and kitchen bar
The Bocca Beach on the SIerpe River, safe for all ages, Where is everyone?
Resident white face Capuchin monkey.
 All of the species of monkeys in Costa Rica  are in our area
Cano Island Diving and Snorkeling, the best in Costa Rica and directly offshore
Fishing on the Rio Sierpe is spectacular! How about fresh Grouper for dinner?
Guided Hikes Included; Our onsite staff guiding us through primary rain forest
One of our daily Visitors, the Toucan
The mysterious Mangrove Forest of Terraba Natl Park, largest in Central America
Lesser Anteater in one of our trees
You can do a horse back tour and have lunch and swim at this majestic river
Sierpe River at Sunset
Endangered Scarlet Macaws, they mate for life and are seen from the house
Rio Sierpe at Sunrise. Magic!
Your private waterfall swimming hole a 10 minute walk away.
Included in Stay Guided Kayak Tour; Entire family kayaking on one of our  trail
Included In stay, Tour to Jose Angles (he's 94!) fruit farm and botanical garden
Fire Billed Aracari, part of the Toucan family and regularly seen from the house
Dreams come true at Casa Rio Sierpe! This Rooster fish was a bucket list catch for this former guest
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Drake Bay, Osa Peninsula, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ME-John20...
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
“Awesome Relaxing Place!”
Reviewed 14 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Casa Rio Sierpe exceeded our expectations in every way. It is the perfect retreat for nature lovers and those who want to get “off the grid” and experience nature at its best. It’s kind of like glamping with the emphasis on the glamour part - experiencing life in the jungle completely exposed to nature and its sounds 24/7, but with top-notch amenities. We heard howlers every day and watched them with their babies from the porch. The jungle is an awesome place and Casa Rio Sierpe allows you to experience it at its fullest. Terrific service and attention from both owners and staff - loved this place!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
slinky223
Santa Clarita, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed 22 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Home was beautiful and you really felt like you were in the middle of a rain forest with birds, monkeys and rain sounds! We were busy everyday with kayaking, horse back riding, hiking, fishing, swimming and going to gardens. Plus, very few tourists around so all the attention remained on us! We had a personal guide Rubin that would drive the boat and as well as anything else we needed. Plus, his wife Arianna cleaned the house and came to the house 3 times to cook which was wonderful to have when you are to tired to cook. Mark the owner was so nice and very attentive, it was great to know everyone really cared! This place is wonderful if you want to be active and have fun! I will recommend to everyone!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cybamuse
Burnaby, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Costa Rica!”
Reviewed 26 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

From the moment you dip your toes into wondering whether to stay at Casa Rio Sierpe, Mark (the owner) wants to make sure you know this is going to be a good decision! Responses are quick and reassuring and lots of advice is offered. Even after booking, you are given additional information to plan your stay & also put in touch with a local travel agent who can help you with getting there and going on tours in the Corcovado National Park. And as the time draws closer, there will be a couple of gentle reminders that everyone is looking forward to your stay and want to make sure you will be getting the most out of your visit.

From the moment we were met in Sierpe by Rayna (local travel agent), and taken to the boat that was going to take us for the 30 minute trip down to the Casa, we were in good hands. Reuben was our captain and it turned out, exceptional and extremely observant guide for any tours we did. We were met at the house by Adriana, Reuben's wife, with a very refreshing cool towelette (necessary after walking up the short but steep driveway in the heat!).

The house is just stunning... It is done in a variety of woods... comfortable furniture, lots of decks (which you will spend a lot of time on, looking for and observing wildlife...), incredible view. Cooking facilities and fridge etc were all fabulous and the upstairs bathroom... wow!!!! Any down time was spent on the deck where we saw a variety of bird life - toucans, mealy parrots, scarlet macaws... A small troup of howler monkeys regularly passed by overhead in the canopy.

We were there for 4 nights and 3 full days which is probably the barest of bare minimums you want to be there. Quite honestly, we wish we'd stayed at least one more night and probably several more. It was easy to set up a variety of local activities with Reuben including night walks, local hikes, fishing, kayaking, going to one of 2 nearby beaches - all included! I cannot begin to tell you how impressed we were with Reuben's ability to see animals!!! He is AMAZING!!! From the tinniest critter to the most camouflaged, he saw them all and pointed them out to us.

In addition, Mark suggested we go on a horseback trip which we did and thoroughly enjoyed.

Our stay at Casa Rio Sierpe was definitely the highlight of our trip to Costa Rica and we wish we'd spent more time there. We'll probably be back some time because it was just so incredible there... You won't regret any decision to stay here!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristina2...
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Magical rainforest home by the river”
Reviewed 29 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We loved your home - it's beautiful. I have to say water wise I was more focused on the beach prior to our trip, but that river is spectacular! The mangroves, the birds, the light, the peacefulness - just beyond my expectations. I could tool around in those mangroves for hours.
The house: Absolutely lovely, the back deck is heaven with monkeys visiting us almost every day. We saw toucans, macaws and 3 dif types of monkeys just around the house. The howlers woke us up a few times, but hey, we really didn't mind. We were provisioned well thanks to Rayna's help and really enjoyed Adriana's meals. We got used to the climb and didn't mind it - especially the boots helped with climbing up.
The caretakers: We really enjoyed and appreciated the help from Ruben, Adriana and Yuliana. I practiced my college spanish and we communicated very well!! They are a wonderful asset for you. We enjoyed the walks with Ruben. On one night we (w/ Ruben) walked up the mountain and were very close to a big cat (it was my dream to actually see one). We heard a rumble/growl (a little warning to move along) that I suspect was a jaguar or maybe puma. It was maybe 10 feet from us, but we didn't see it.
The tours: Jose Angel farm - What a treasure! We want to alert 60 minutes to do a story about this guy. So interesting! 90 years old, living solo on this island for years and growing this Garden of Eden! *Loved it.*
Cano Island- was good, we saw shark, rays, turtles, pretty fish.
Sirena Station - Loved the park, the guide Cesar was very good. We saw lots of wildlife. Had a fantastic lunch by the Sirena River. (Would just love to see those bull sharks and crocs at high tide!!!) The ranger station is pretty cool. Would be interesting to stay there a couple nights and do some night walks.
Horseback - Lovely and beautiful! Rodolfo was super sweet and a great guide. Loved the freshwater pool. Loved the vistas along the way, just gorgeous. Adored Sabalo and all the funky cute houses and colorful flowers!
Kayak, 2 beach trips, mangroves and hikes with Ruben - All perfectly wonderful. Kayaking the mangroves was one of our favorite things!! Our last night we had a very peaceful walk -with lightning flashing! along the road with Ruben and Yuliana. It was delightful to share stories with them and teach/learn english/spanish with Yuliana along the way.
Return trip with Sergio - He is such a nice gentleman and I really enjoyed conversing with him. He was A+!
Thank you Mark and Lisley for sharing your beautiful rainforest home! We highly recommend to the adventurous, off the beaten path traveler!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan F
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“AMAZING!”
Reviewed 19 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

This house and location is absolutely amazing! Not only is the house stunning but the care takers Rueben and Adrianna were the kindest, most loving care takers imaginable. Leading up to the trip Mark was great at communicating and giving us all the details needed for an outstanding vacation. Adrianna will cook for you, Rueben will show you sloths, Monkey's, birds etc. We took many trips to the beach, river, fished, relaxed and had a once in a lifetime experience. Honestly, there is to much to list in a review! One of the most incredible experiences in 20+ years to Costa Rica. I would highly recommend this house for those wanting to get away from it all and experience what nature and Costa Rica living is all about. We even sent our 10 year old daughter to school with Rueben and Adrianna's daughter for a morning. Great people, great spirit and fantastic house with all the amenities you will ever need.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing