We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flew Back Down the Next Month”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Guaria de Osa Ecolodge
Reviewed 18 May 2017

I first wrote a review for Guaria de Osa when I returned from a group retreat there in January of 2017.

I loved it so much that I had to bring my significant other down right away - so I booked two plane tickets and flew back down for another mini-retreat being held there the following month.

Beautiful land, amazing views, wildlife everywhere and a short walk to Corcovado National Park. A beautiful Toucan with a bright yellow and sky blue beak came right down to the edge of the Lapa Lapa lodge where we were staying and checked us out for a while.

It was so great to see the Capuchin monkeys again and hear the Howlers in the morning. Some of the best sleep I have ever had has been down at Guaria (thanks to the ocean waves, so soothing)..

A+ as always.
Recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Joshua V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ladna, Front Office Manager at Guaria de Osa Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Your words make us feel we are completing our mission of stewarding this beautiful area on earth to share with incredible people like you! Thank you so much for your visit, for returning with your significant other and for writing us this review! We look forward to seeing you again! Pura Vida!!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2017

Muchisimas Gracias to Jonathon & Everyone at Guaria de Osa for the wonderful life-affirming/changing experience. The location feels kind of magical what where ocean meets jungle amidst a setting of tropical lushness and unfettered wildlife. Beaucoup attention to detail at Guaria seems so lovingly well thought out, thus facilitating a holistic place of healing that integrates naturally with the environment. Jonathon is a walking encyclopedia of knowledge regarding local and transplanted flora/fauna and has quite the knack of a bard to boot. Enjoyed the small/intimate size of the group retreat and sense of community that was like a family of friends plus meals were wholesome and fresh along with a variety of fortifying fruit juices and medicinal teas… woohoo!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank sarahsierra2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ladna, Front Office Manager at Guaria de Osa Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Muchisimas gracias a usted! We can't tell you how much your visits mean to us! Thank you for your beautiful words! You are such a talented writer! Pura Vida and always look forward to seeing you on the amazing Osa at beautiful Guaria de Osa Ecolodge!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2017 via mobile

Love this place. Been going here for the last 15 years. Quant cozy unique rooms. Some with the most incredible, out this world, views ever (you have never seen a sunset like the ones here). Good, healthy food. Surf boards (there is a great break) Horses! Monkeys! It's super close to Corcovado national park which is amazing.

The two main attractions are the Taoist temple and ethnobotanical garden.

The temple is zen personified. All constructed by falling lumber. It is one of my most favorite spaces in the world. It has a timeless feeling. A great place to meditate and practice yoga. It takes on a everywhere character. Bali. India. The hills of Bhutan. Fiji. A great place to write and make art.

The gardens are top notch. Jonathan. Who runs the place is a 30 years deep ethnobotanical activist. He has compiled a collection of plants from all around the world and local from Costa Rica. His knowledge is profound and endless about plants and their purpose.

So many amazing flowers.

Truly a lovely place to relax, play and reflect.

Can't recommend it enough.

Felt like I was deep in the rainforest but with the modern accommodations of comfort.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Morgan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ladna, Front Office Manager at Guaria de Osa Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

We can't thank you enough!!! Your words make us feel we are doing our job right. Your visits make the dream of stewarding this land to share with an incredible community of people like you come true. With appreciation and pura vida from all the horses, monkeys, marine turtles, and the rest of the crew at Guaria de Osa Ecolodge! Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2017

The 5 stars don't do this place justice. Guaria is truly the Orchid of the Osa, the unique
design of the structures along with it's biodiverse Amazonian/Costa Rican medicinal Gardens. This place has the most epic views, alive with nature and warmed with the most helpful, kind, compassionate, caring staff i've ever come across. I've really learnt so much valuable information from my stay there, that will go on to impact my life in many ways. But the best part of this my stay here was meeting Jonathon, the wonderful host, who blessed us with his captivating stories and joyful presence. His knowledge of plants is vast and his heart is huge. I want to deeply thank everyone at Guaria for making the stay one of my most favourite experiences I've ever had. I'll be back soon for sure!! So much Love to you all.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OllyBoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ladna, Front Office Manager at Guaria de Osa Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Not enough words to thank you for being part of this community. Your stay makes the dream of taking care of this beautiful natural area, buffering Corcovado National Park, come true! Gracias con todo corazón y Pura Vida! We can't wait for your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2017

I came to Guaria de Osa, now know as Ocean Forest Ecolodge, as a female solo traveler and it completely changed my life - in ways words that can't explain. I was very lost and unsure about my life - felt disconnected from my spirit. Jonathon was able to sit down with me one on one and helped me make a decision to become an acupuncturist, both agreeing it would be of my highest potential. The sacred medicine work healed and cleansed negative energy I was carrying around and cemented my life path. I came to understand the power of consciousness and finally found my footing. I've been to a few other retreats and I'll always come back to this one and will always recommend this one - I've never met such an incredible & dedicated staff, who are always looking to grow themselves and the organization. I hope to bring my family here soon.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Cianna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Drake Bay hotels
5.7 km away
Aguila de Osa
Aguila de Osa
#4 of 8 in Drake Bay
487 reviews
4.4 km away
Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort
4.5 km away
Hotel Las Caletas Lodge
Hotel Las Caletas Lodge
#2 of 49 in Drake Bay
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 km away
Hotel Casa Horizontes Corcovado
2.4 km away
Casa Drake Lodge
Casa Drake Lodge
#14 of 49 in Drake Bay
45 reviews
5.5 km away
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
#1 of 8 in Drake Bay
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guaria de Osa Ecolodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guaria de Osa Ecolodge

Address: San Josecito Beach | South of Drake Bay, Osa Peninsula, Drake Bay, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 49 Speciality Lodging in Drake Bay
Price Range: ₹ 20,127 - ₹ 23,694 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guaria de Osa or Orchid of the Osa Ecolodge is a beautiful and pristine rainforest beach get a away on The Osa Peninsula of Costa Rica - where a wilderness coast and paradise beach borders a sparkling and pristine Pacific Ocean. Experience extreme nature, swim in the tropical ocean, see whales, dolphins, monkeys, flying fish, tropical birds such as macaws, toucans, gorgeous beaches and rainforest in the comfort of our unique lodges and cabins.Our facilities include extensive ethnobotanical gardens, a spacious yoga hall with the finest sustainable wooden floors, large veranda style conference room, dining area, satellite internet, solar energy, quality filtered spring water, friendly and professional staff, delicious daily meals with vegetarian options, top notch nature guides, ocean and jungle cabins and lodging just a walk away from the beach.Our fees include 3 daily delicious and healthy meals, housekeeping and organic teas, cacao and coffee throughout the day. We will arrange all details to get you to and from Orchid of the Osa! See you in paradise! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Guaria de Osa Ecolodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guaria De Osa Ecolodge Drake Bay, Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing