We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The name says it all!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Cuna del Angel
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Dominical
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 6 August 2017

This was one of my favorite parts of my stay in Costa Rica. I had the pleasure of being able to stay in this magnificent hotel more than once during my time down there. The staff went above and beyond in every way. I will definitely be back.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank shannon_m_jaques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hcda, Gerente at Hotel Cuna del Angel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Dear Shannon_m_jaques,

We appreciate you have shared your comments about your stay at Cuna del Angel, and we appreciate even more to be your favorite place during your visit to Costa Rica.
Your comments encourage us to improve and work harder every day.

Best regards,

Eduardo Calvo
Gerente General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (527)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 527 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2017 via mobile

Had this been a hotel in the 100 dollar per night stay, I would have been inclined to give three stars, but considering the 170 dollar they charge per night, I expected a lot more. We have traveled the whole country from pacific side to Caribbean side and never paid this much for a hotel.
The room was superficially clean: Dirty curtains, dead insects in front of the door that didn't get cleaned up during our two day stay, dirty pillows, drawers inside the cabinets with remains of coffee inside.
The pool is very small and there are only 6 chairs around it. By 8.30 am all of them are taken. Cannot imagine what this must be like in peak season.
The air-conditioning unit did not work on the first night and when we went to the front desk at midnight because we nearly melted, there was only a night guard on duty who did not speak any English and claimed not to know anything about air-conditioning. We got it to work the next day, but it operates on infrared to make sure the air is not on while you are not in the room. During the night it switches off quite often with a loud beep. This woke me up so I could turn it back on. There was a thunderstorm during the night (also not uncommon in Costa Rica) but it kept interfering with the air-conditioning unit which kept switching on and off (again, with the loud beep). We did not get any fresh pool towels on the second day of our stay and in the rainy season its impossible to get them dry overnight.
A last point that I wanted to mention here is that the hotel brochure in the room mentioned that the hotel normally does not allow children under 12. Furthermore, if they do exceptionally allow them, they can only access the pool from 10 am to 5 pm. As far as we know this was not mentioned on the site of Hotels.com and had we known about this policy we would have never booked the hotel with our 9 and 11 year old kids.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hcda, Gerente at Hotel Cuna del Angel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

Dear Barbara,

We appreciate you shared your comments about your stay with your family.

Our goal is to provide the best possible service and unforgettable experiences in the midst of a unique nature. We regret that you did not tell us anything about what happened during your stay, because we could have found the best solutions to make your stay a perfect memory. For us the service is always a priority.

We hope to see you again in the future,

Eduardo Calvo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017

Absolute Beautiful property, such kind people, amazing breakfast, loved the welcome drink and warm wash cloths after a long day of travel. The pool was so refreshing and the wildlife was abundant. We saw a sloth immediately as well as howler monkeys. We also saw a Toucan. Very quiet and peaceful. Their hospitality was second to none!! Highly recommended!

Room Tip: We had two queen angel deluxe rooms and loved them!!
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hcda, Gerente at Hotel Cuna del Angel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Dear Mark,

We thank you for taking the time to share your opinion about your experience at Cuna del Angel.
We work every day to offer the best possible service and distinguish ourselves for it, taking care of the best possible way to our guests according to the needs of each one.

Thank you for your comments that encourage us to continue working day by day for each of our guests.

Sincerely,

Eduardo Calvo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

This place was amazing, there's s short walk on the property where you can see sloths and monkeys and if you find the hidden path down the hillside, you'll emerge on a gorgeous secluded beach! Go in June! We were the only people on that beach for hours! It was magical!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lenarushingart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hcda, Gerente at Hotel Cuna del Angel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Dear Lenarushingart,

We are very pleased to hear your comments so positive about your experience at Cuna del Angel.

We love to know that you have enjoyed the facilities, the service and the nature that we care with much attention. Your comments encourage us to keep working hard and offer unforgettable stays.

Eduardo Calvo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017

The place is not touristic but has all what you need: nice beachs, little towns and the nature is beautifull. On our last morning the boss of the hotel were there so they did make a special good breakfast. Was funny to see that they did try to make the best (for showing the boss). Near by the hotel is a animal resort which we propose to visit.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nickobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hcda, Gerente at Hotel Cuna del Angel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

Dear Nickobe,

We are very happy to know that your stay has been a very good surprise and that you have enjoyed our facilities, service and surroundings. It is certainly a motivation for us to know about your experience and we thank you for sharing it.

We hope to visit again soon,

Eduardo Calvo
Cuna del Angel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dominical
7.5 km away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
2.1 km away
Villas Alturas
Villas Alturas
#4 of 14 in Dominical
422 reviews
8.6 km away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#3 of 14 in Dominical
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 km away
Roca Verde
Roca Verde
#8 of 14 in Dominical
90 reviews
8.3 km away
Waterfall Villas
Waterfall Villas
#6 of 14 in Dominical
213 reviews
8.7 km away
Oxygen Jungle Villas
Oxygen Jungle Villas
#1 of 13 in Uvita
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cuna del Angel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cuna del Angel

Address: | entrance to Puertocito, 9 km south of Dominical Beach, Dominical 60504, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dominical
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Dominical
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dominical
#4 Family Hotel in Dominical
Price Range: ₹ 5,992 - ₹ 14,785 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Cuna del Angel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cuna del Angel is an exclusive and cozy boutique hotel that is committed with high quality standards in service and sustainability, its facilities are comfortable and intimate with an atmosphere of tranquility and romance surrounded by exuberant nature in the South Pacific of Costa Rica. Cuna del Angel is the ideal scenery for honeymoons and fantastic adventurous vacations. Located in Bahia Ballena, at the amazing South Pacific of Costa Rica, where the resplendent green of mountains can be admired year around. The name Bahia Ballena (Whale Bay) is to honor the yearly arriving of whales to the region; these impressive mammals can be easily seen year after year when they come to mate and give birth to their calves. Bahia Ballena is considered a strategic location to visit and explore important tourist attractions such as: Manuel Antonio National Park, Marino Ballena (Whale Marine) National Park and the worldwide famous Corcovado National Park, besides a wide variety of exciting activities in the vicinity ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Cuna del Angel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cuna Del Angel Hotel
Cuna Del Angel Dominical
Hotel Cuna Del Angel Costa Rica/Dominical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing