We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (590)
Filter reviews
590 results
Traveller rating
338
167
63
17
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
338
167
63
17
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscosta ricabeautiful hotelwelcome drinkhowler monkeyspacific sidewhale watchingthree nightsinfinity pooldominical areanice poolfresh fruitmanuel antonioview of the oceanpura vidajunglebeacheswildlife
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 590 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2017 via mobile

Had this been a hotel in the 100 dollar per night stay, I would have been inclined to give three stars, but considering the 170 dollar they charge per night, I expected a lot more. We have traveled the whole country from pacific side to Caribbean side and never paid this much for a hotel.
The room was superficially clean: Dirty curtains, dead insects in front of the door that didn't get cleaned up during our two day stay, dirty pillows, drawers inside the cabinets with remains of coffee inside.
The pool is very small and there are only 6 chairs around it. By 8.30 am all of them are taken. Cannot imagine what this must be like in peak season.
The air-conditioning unit did not work on the first night and when we went to the front desk at midnight because we nearly melted, there was only a night guard on duty who did not speak any English and claimed not to know anything about air-conditioning. We got it to work the next day, but it operates on infrared to make sure the air is not on while you are not in the room. During the night it switches off quite often with a loud beep. This woke me up so I could turn it back on. There was a thunderstorm during the night (also not uncommon in Costa Rica) but it kept interfering with the air-conditioning unit which kept switching on and off (again, with the loud beep). We did not get any fresh pool towels on the second day of our stay and in the rainy season its impossible to get them dry overnight.
A last point that I wanted to mention here is that the hotel brochure in the room mentioned that the hotel normally does not allow children under 12. Furthermore, if they do exceptionally allow them, they can only access the pool from 10 am to 5 pm. As far as we know this was not mentioned on the site of Hotels.com and had we known about this policy we would have never booked the hotel with our 9 and 11 year old kids.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hcda, Gerente at Hotel Cuna del Angel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

Dear Barbara,

We appreciate you shared your comments about your stay with your family.

Our goal is to provide the best possible service and unforgettable experiences in the midst of a unique nature. We regret that you did not tell us anything about what happened during your stay, because we could have found the best solutions to make your stay a perfect memory. For us the service is always a priority.

We hope to see you again in the future,

Eduardo Calvo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017

Absolute Beautiful property, such kind people, amazing breakfast, loved the welcome drink and warm wash cloths after a long day of travel. The pool was so refreshing and the wildlife was abundant. We saw a sloth immediately as well as howler monkeys. We also saw a Toucan. Very quiet and peaceful. Their hospitality was second to none!! Highly recommended!

Room Tip: We had two queen angel deluxe rooms and loved them!!
Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hcda, Gerente at Hotel Cuna del Angel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Dear Mark,

We thank you for taking the time to share your opinion about your experience at Cuna del Angel.
We work every day to offer the best possible service and distinguish ourselves for it, taking care of the best possible way to our guests according to the needs of each one.

Thank you for your comments that encourage us to continue working day by day for each of our guests.

Sincerely,

Eduardo Calvo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

This place was amazing, there's s short walk on the property where you can see sloths and monkeys and if you find the hidden path down the hillside, you'll emerge on a gorgeous secluded beach! Go in June! We were the only people on that beach for hours! It was magical!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lenarushingart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hcda, Gerente at Hotel Cuna del Angel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Dear Lenarushingart,

We are very pleased to hear your comments so positive about your experience at Cuna del Angel.

We love to know that you have enjoyed the facilities, the service and the nature that we care with much attention. Your comments encourage us to keep working hard and offer unforgettable stays.

Eduardo Calvo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017

The place is not touristic but has all what you need: nice beachs, little towns and the nature is beautifull. On our last morning the boss of the hotel were there so they did make a special good breakfast. Was funny to see that they did try to make the best (for showing the boss). Near by the hotel is a animal resort which we propose to visit.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nickobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hcda, Gerente at Hotel Cuna del Angel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

Dear Nickobe,

We are very happy to know that your stay has been a very good surprise and that you have enjoyed our facilities, service and surroundings. It is certainly a motivation for us to know about your experience and we thank you for sharing it.

We hope to visit again soon,

Eduardo Calvo
Cuna del Angel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2017

Strongly recommend the hotel if you go to Dominical or surroundings. Location is perfect, driving to and from easy, close to beaches and other small towns. Facilities and services are the best. Their restaurant is the best for dinner, good food and wine. And the view to the beach is gorgeous.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cärolina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hcda, Gerente at Hotel Cuna del Angel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2017

Dear Cärolina F,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments about your experience at Cuna del Angel.

For us, it is a pleasure to share with our guests the beautiful nature that surrounds the property with nature lovers like you. Your comments encourage us to continue working to offer unforgettable stays.

We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future,

Eduardo Calvo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews