We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The BEST hotel in the Dominical area! EXCELLENT service!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Roca Verde

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Roca Verde
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Dominical
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“The BEST hotel in the Dominical area! EXCELLENT service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2010

Our family has been returning to Roca Verde for almost eight years, and it just gets better and better with each passing year. Mike and Frank are the nicest people anyone could ever have the good fortune to meet, and their wonderful staff make everyone feel welcome. Edgar, Eric, Juan and all the rest are great people who will make your vacation a great one.

Roca Verde is a funky and perfect place for novice and experienced travelers who want to enjoy Costa Rica to its fullest. The Saturday night party is a blast and the beach is one of the finest in the world. They should charge $300 a night just for the beach alone.

The restaurant and bar is a top notch place to enjoy excellent food and perfect drinks. You will feel like Costa Rica is your home after only a few minutes at Roca Verde's bar.

I am highly suspect of the two or three trolls who have posted negative reviews about Roca Verde. Everyone knows that Roca Verde is secure and is the most stable business in town. The place has NEVER had a theft problem, which leads me to believe that the reviewer below is a competitor trying to defame a wonderful and respectable business. Roca Verde has full-time security on staff and has never had a theft problem, so please don't believe the B.S. from jealous competitors trying to lure you to their inferior roach motels.

The owners at Roca Verde greet every guest with a smile and warm respect. The food and drink are awesome (the Sopa de Mariscos is to die for). The beach is world-class, and the grounds are funky, artistic, plush, and beautiful. All this for much less than you'd think. The prices are are not only reasonable, but downright cheap.

I am an objective reviewer, and I have no ax to grind and no agenda here. I am not affiliated with the owners in any way. I just know from many years' experience that Roca Verde truly is an amazing place to visit and enjoy. If you are planning a visit to the Dominical or Uvita area, I highly recommend this excellent hotel. If you are looking for a true Costa Rica experience, you will be glad you came.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jabari99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    27
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
16
34
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
clinton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2010

Hotel itself is nice, but right next to a busy highway with lots of semi-trucks. Someone entered our room with a key at 3 a.m. and cleaned us out while we were sleeping. Would not recommend until they put safes in the rooms and change the doors.

The town itself is okay. Nothing charming or endearing. Be prepared to pay Hawaii prices for food and groceries. This is my 5th visit to Costa Rica and would not come back here. Surfing is beach break only. There is no surfing in front of the hotel. Best surfing is about a mile walk up the beach.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2lochsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdminRocaVerde, Manager at Roca Verde, responded to this review, 1 September 2010
Reviewer REFUSED on three different occasions to sign a police report confirming his allogations that someone had broken into his room, while he was sleeping, without any sign of break-in, without the use of any lights and wal able to locate an Ipod that was hidden in a brief case. Reviewer then proceeded to change his description of the "intruder" various times. Nonetheless he stayed in Dominical at a different hotel knowing that there were criminals on the loose. We hate to think of people in this way, but this story just does not match up. A simple "we're not satisfied with this hotel and would like to move to another" would have sufficed.

Here at Roca Verde we only want our guests to leave with a smile. We have on MANY occasions been more than willing and happy to find hotels for travelers who are looking for something different than what Roca Verde has to offer. We realize that people have different traveling needs and wants. We're here to accomodate those needs and wants to the best of our ability. Thank you for taking the time to see our side of things.

--Frank Witte - General Manager - Hotel Roca Verde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
253 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2010

We stayed at Roca Verde in Dominical for 2 nights during our three week Costa Rica vacation.

The hotel is right on the beach but within a beach walk to town.

Upon arrival, we received an odd cold welcome from the owner that left us feeling unsettled.
Looking through past tripadvisor reviews, we did find one that mentioned something similar. It said:
"Unusual welcome?"
"Owners/managers were not as friendly as one would expect, seemed to not be enjoying the business."

We agree with that old review on that particular point.

As for the hotel itself, it's a really nice design, looks very solid and well maintained. The rooms have a nice balcony (try for 2nd floor), are roomy and airconditioned.

What we liked:
- The rooms
- Cleanliness
- Water temperature and pressure
- Balcony
- The nice pool area
- The restaurant had decent meals at good value

To improve:
- No hair dryer in room
- No safe in room
- Friendliness / welcome from management

Note: One of the staff members, Edgar, was very nice to us.

Conclusion: Considering the cold reception we got, I would like to give a 3.5 star rating, however tripadvisor doesn't have that rating.......so instead, I have given an overall 4 star rating for the hotel itself. as it definetly is better than average for this remote location.

Also: As we were checking out, we noticed that staff had placed a sign at the side of the road advertising rooms for $30 less than what we just paid - ouch!

This is a "cautious" recommendation.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deathracer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mammoth Lakes, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2010

These guys were amazing. Everything from the rooms to their attention was stellar. I actually traveled there in 05 or so but the menu didn't allow that choice but it was truly beautiful and relaxing. Not like some of the other places in CR I stayed where one of the questions was, does your room have hot water? All the rooms were nice and the grounds are beautiful. Right on the beach.

Stayed May 2007, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank powderhound760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2010

Our first time to Costa Rica. I can't imagine it gets any better than Roca Verde. Clean and adorable rooms...hand painted murals of local flora on the walls. Private porch. Steps to the pool. Ambient music playing softly from the amazing open air bar/restaurant. A short walk up the beach to Dominical. Imagine strolling out onto the secluded beach with crabs scurrying across the sand, dolphins swimming in the distance, iguanas perched on the rocks, sounds of of the jungle always in the background. This is Roca Verde! The owners were very helpful and accommodating with transportation, tours, recommendations, and casual conversation. And a party end all parties on Saturday night!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChiTownBound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dominical hotels
0.9 km away
Rio Lindo Resort
Rio Lindo Resort
#7 of 13 in Dominical
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Diuwak
Hotel Diuwak
#11 of 13 in Dominical
3.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
1.4 km away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#4 of 13 in Dominical
4.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
5.0 km away
Villas Alturas
Villas Alturas
#3 of 13 in Dominical
5.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
4.7 km away
Cascadas Farallas Waterfall Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roca Verde? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roca Verde

Property: Roca Verde
Address: Dominical, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Dominical
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,880 - ₹ 10,929
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Roca Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roca Verde Dominical
Roca Verde Hotel Dominical
Roca Verde Costa Rica/Dominical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing