We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Roca Verde” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Roca Verde

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Roca Verde
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Dominical
Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Roca Verde”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

The rooms are okay, but the manager is rude and the rest of the staff are weird. We cannot recommend it.

Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Th0r_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    26
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
16
31
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2011

Our third time here, and my husband finally agreed with me that it is the best hotel and location for the things that matter most traveling--especially with teens. Once we got used to no frills, no swans made of towels, no TV or room safe, no real ocean view, and a little flaking paint, we began to appreciate its plusses -- like strong hot showers, good ventelation, strong air conditioning (we don't normally like it, but this time it was a necessity), reliable coffee maker, wifi at the bar only--which was fine with us--and their 12 stroke length nearly private pool which was sparkling clean, eventhough it could use some more blue paint. Juan, their night watchman stood guard at the entrance to all rooms and was so polite and made us feel very secure. The best kept secret is their "Cheers" atmosphere bar/restaurant, where everyone mingles and feels like a "regular" -- guests, area expats, locals, and Ticos. Brothers Michael and Frank may seem aloof, but they really care, and run a great ship. Argueably, their simple, eat-at-the-bar restaurant serves the best plate of food in Dominical. Chicken Cordon Bleu, which I would normally not choose, was eye-rolling-back delicious and huge!! The kids felt independent hanging out by themselves in the open air game room, tide pools and climbing the huge rocks on this northern, more secluded and quiet part of Domical's beach -- yet they were within seeing-distance from us at the bar! Or they could feel grown up taking a walk on the beach into town to Dominical's lifeguarded surf beaches, shops and "bling," and still be within walkee-talkee range. Not far away, we rented surf boards for the kids for $10 a day, and we both had truly top-rate massages on the beach under the trees. We were glad the hotel was not in the middle of busy town, or a nose-bleed drive up a hill each night. We liked it too, that it was set back from road noise, yet close enough to zip onto the Costanera highway for all the places we wanted to go. The toughest thing about the hotel was deciding whether to bring ear plugs to endure the Friday night dance party that booms till 2 a.m., or just join in.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryJanePiazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
204 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2011

I have stayed at the Roca Verde several times and even when I haven't stayed there I have always had drinks and dinner there a few times during the trip. Mike and Frank are great, as is Sasha and the rest of the staff. It's a great meet-up place, and the Saturday night disco is still the best for 100 miles, has been for 15 years. The rooms are very nice for the area - simple and clean with large showers and bathrooms. Saturday night is noisy with the party. Good breaks on the beach to the north or south of the namesake rock that juts out from the ocean side of this hotel. Not a place for a room with a view, just a room with great access to the water. 50% of the place is the restaurant and bar, there are only 8 or 10 rooms.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NYCAngels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2011

Firstly, I LOVED Dominical- I thought the town has a cool vibe. I can easily understand how people say it used to be the hippyish, grungy destination. Many streets are still dirt and apparently the highway to reach it was only recently paved. the beach was nice but I enjoyed the open market along the beach for shopping, and the fun laid back vibe.

that said - once you decide on staying in Dominical - you have options of staying in town or closer to the beach. Roca Verde is a nice property if you want to be close to the beach and you have a car.

I wouldn't recommend it for those without a car, as town is accessible only during day- and by beach- with tides out.

The staff was nice.
Their food was good.
The bar does draw a local crowd - which is cool, but loud when they have a band. something to keep in mind. This is NOT your quiet beach escape.

Definitely would recommend

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbug28970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2010

We stayed here one night. The owner was cold and rude. We had reservations for Wednesday and he said after reading his hand written calender which he had us for Monday , "you're late!" He had plenty of rooms, got a key and proceeded to nearly run off ahead of us. Of all the wonderful people in CR, he is a fellow American and was the only rude person we encountered. Food for dinner was very good. Wine , not so much. The waiter, Eric, was very nice. It really is not "on the beach" but actually a little set back. Our room was really nice with a balcony. They need a safe. We did not stay Saturday. Try somewher else a little further South.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank highfw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dominical hotels
1.4 km away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#4 of 13 in Dominical
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Diuwak
Hotel Diuwak
#10 of 13 in Dominical
3.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.9 km away
Rio Lindo Resort
Rio Lindo Resort
#6 of 13 in Dominical
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
5.0 km away
Villas Alturas
Villas Alturas
#3 of 13 in Dominical
5.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
4.7 km away
Cascadas Farallas Waterfall Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roca Verde? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roca Verde

Property: Roca Verde
Address: Dominical, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Dominical
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,004 - ₹ 9,900
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Roca Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roca Verde Dominical
Roca Verde Hotel Dominical
Roca Verde Costa Rica/Dominical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing