We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Phenomenal Week in Dominical”
other traveller has booked this property
This could be you!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
This could be you!
No, it's not photo-shopped, enhanced, zoomed or anything Now this is what you call open air living
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
This could be you!
No, it's not photo-shopped, enhanced, zoomed or anything
Now this is what you call open air living
From the living room
Fully equipped kitchen
Breezes and views from everywhere
Casual kitchen dining
Dining for six, watch out for hummingbirds and butterflies passing through
Precious hardwood bar
Master suite #1 with exotic hardwood ceiling
Nicely appointed master suite #2
See and listen to the beauty around you from the showers
Custom carved limestone sink/countertop in bath #1
Custom coral countertop/shower in master bath #2
View towards the west
Hammock view
Tarzan the sloth hanging 8' over the deck
Fluffy and Stuffy sharing at FT
Sunrise from your bedroom or living room
Tropical sunsets from pool
Sunset reflection
You have arrived in paradise!
Tarzan the sloth
Fiery billed aracari
Deck for more viewing of whales, dolphins, water and wildlife
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lori B
State College, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Phenomenal Week in Dominical”
Reviewed 3 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We loved our visit to The Flying Toucans. You can't beat this location for two reasons: convenience to Dominical, Utiva and Ojochal and all the beaches/activities in between; and the access to an amazing view and enjoyment of wildlife.

We spent half our time doing activities (horseback riding, kayaking, visiting towns and beaches and restaurants) and the other half hanging out at the house, swimming, reading, etc. We very much enjoyed our visits by howlers, capuchins, and toucans. They're all harmless and fun to watch, though on two days the capuchins (maybe about 15 of them) started climbing on the house and we spent about a half hour scaring them away. Overall, we found it amusing and have good stories to tell.

The house itself is really fun. We gave the master to our 19 and 20 year old daughter because it had a king-sized bed and they wouldn't have to be bumping into each other. My husband and I took the other bedroom which had a queen and was completely fine. The kitchen is fun to cook in, though the coffee maker is horrible--it takes at least 45 minutes to brew a pot (maybe they'll get a new one). There was no corkscrew so we bought one and left it. The pool and patio/living area are really nice. We spent a chunk of everyday in the pool.

We were told that the gardener would come mid-week to straighten up around the outside, but he didn't get there. By the end of the week, it was looking a little messy from the all the giant leaves the monkeys had dropped.

Overall, the house was very clean, comfortable, and a pleasure to stay in. I was sad to leave.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and pool
Liked least: coffee maker
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jun 2016
Thanks Lori, So glad you really enjoyed your vacation with us! Note, we have a stockroom on site with new back up appliances etc..,.just ask and we will replace/fix anything that day.:) (Actually in all our rental agreements the only paragraph in bold letters states that our guests agree to call us immediately if anything is NOT in perfect condition...so much for that) I am sure next guest asked and received. Also,( in agreement) we ask to prefer to keep pool/yard cleaned up during week, that is our policy, that's why many guests comment in reviews that FT is "immaculate". It's only when guests ask us NOT to come over that we can't keep it that way. For future guests please communicate with Daryl if anything is not in excellent condition and he will happily take care of it .
John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan B
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very hard to leave this place! The view, the pool, the wildlife!”
Reviewed 24 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Jaw dropping view! We were visited by a sloth the first day, monkeys the next and toucans after that! The hosts Darryl and Donna were incredibly helpful especially when our scheduled flight in was cancelled and we had to improvise our way to Dominical. There are lots of outdoor activities nearby and more beaches to visit than we had days in the area. But the place is so comfortable that we really could have just stayed put and been quite happy. The house was spotlessly clean and obviously well maintained. The garden and pool are very well cared for. While close to the newly paved main road, you feel completely secluded and can not see anything but trees , beaches and ocean. Watching the sunrise from the main bedroom every morning was amazing. Grocery shopping is only minutes away in Uvita. A 4x4 is not necessary to access this house but useful to have to visit the nearby wildlife sanctuary and other nearby locations. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and the backyard wildlife
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Mar 2015
Thanks Pat and Bryan for taking time to write a review. Again we never tire hearing how our guests fell in love with FT and surely future guests enjoy reading and dreaming about their future vacation spot.
J&M
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, Connecticut
Reviewed 29 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views/wildlife
Liked least: the distance from the airport
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
25 Mar 2015
Thank you Michelle and Brian for choosing Flying Toucans for your family Christmas vacation 2015. Hope you can return again some day soon.
John and Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Roscommon, MI
Reviewed 12 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: The bugs at night only if you turned on the lights
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
24 Mar 2015
Glad you appreciated the view as much as we do. Over the years we have never tired of it. It mesmerizes us again and again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cedar Grove, New Jersey
Reviewed 12 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Infinity Pool and the view....and the monkeys
Liked least: The cutter ants at night.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
24 Mar 2015
Good choice coming in September. Lots of guests avoid September/October but are pleasantly surprised at how nice the weather is. Come visit again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing