We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I think better options outthere...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Tempe Downtown
Ranked #17 of 53 Hotels in Tempe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2012

I can not understand why TV sets have to be located at one side of the bed...instead of just in front...

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PECASMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

254 - 258 of 280 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2012

We stayed at this hotel as a stay-cation. We live in Phoenix and were celebrating a special occasion. The location of this hotel is great, close to Mill Avenue. Lots of restaurants within walking distance. But the hotel itself has paper thin walls (our neighbors ran a marathon at 6:30 Sunday morning and we heard evey word); towels are thin, the A/C unit is from the 1970s and squeaked; popcorn ceilings, and kind of a small room. So-so hotel; great location.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AZtraveler879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

I stayed here for 5 nights last week and thought it was a pleasant stay. The hotel was updated, staff was friendly, and the location was excellent. The pool was nice and the place was clean. The housekeeper was wonderful. I would sleep in then leave for an hour or two, to return to a very clean room. I was amazed every day on how she snuck in and did such a great job. Overall, it was a nice stay. It is not a big, fancy place, but nice and they work hard to do a good job.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brewerboy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Great service and good location but...terrible food, no wifi in the room, thin walls, towels as thin as paper napkins, and a noisy A/C wall unit from 1970. The new Courtyard design is terrible. The lobby furniture is uncomfortable and uninviting and the food at The Bistro is worse than what I would expect to find on any airline. Why would CY take away the hot buffet breakfast and omelet station? And they use those half size pillows that are completely worthless. They would be a good size for a child. The new CY is terrible and this location is the epitome of that. Please redesign CY again and bring back real food for breakfast, nice bedding, nice bath towels, and WIFI in the rooms!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Stayed three nights for a meeting at the University which is a few blocks away. Nice lobby arrangement for lounging, newpapers, food counter with great service for coffee, breakfast and other snacks, boarding pass printout system etc. The check-in staff and others were all very helpful and the shuttle bus picked up and delivered to the airport (~10 minute ride) as well as other short courtesy runs. The room was standard efficiency hotel with starchy uncomfortable sheets, a cooling system that didn't seem to want to work, and loud guests in the hallways - did not make for restful sleep. Expected better care as a Marriott gold member but even breakfast was better at Starbucks down the street. I wanted to use the fitness center but the three treadmills in a small cramped room were fully occupied by 6am when I checked on two mornings and the pool was too short for lap swimming. Location was great for my needs but I would still look elsewhere for my next visit.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fred200099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tempe hotels
0.4 km away
Tempe Mission Palms Hotel and Conference Center
0.6 km away
Residence Inn Tempe Downtown/University
1.3 km away
Graduate Tempe
Graduate Tempe
#11 of 53 in Tempe
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
MOXY Phoenix Tempe
MOXY Phoenix Tempe
#10 of 53 in Tempe
217 reviews
1.9 km away
Hyatt Place Tempe/Phoenix Airport
2.7 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Phoenix Tempe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Tempe Downtown? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Tempe Downtown

Address: 601 South Ash Avenue, Tempe, AZ 85281-2822
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Tempe
#4 Business Hotel in Tempe
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tempe
Price Range: ₹ 8,535 - ₹ 24,301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Tempe Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The refreshing, state-of-the-art lobby at the Courtyard Tempe Downtown Hotel provides great flexibility and choices for our guests. Enjoy free Wi-Fi throughout and easy access to the latest news and weather conditions via our GoBoard(R). The highlight of our new lobby experience is The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect.(R), which provides guests with healthy food and Starbucks(R) beverage offerings in the morning and evening dinner service with cocktails. The Courtyard Downtown Tempe Hotel is ideally situated in the heart of Tempe, AZ and is just blocks from Arizona State University, Sun Devil Stadium, the Phoenix Zoo and a free ten minute shuttle ride from Sky Harbor Airport. Guests can enjoy fishing and boating on Tempe Town Lake, hiking at Papago Park or visit Mill Avenue District-home to restaurants, shopping and microbreweries. Book your stay with us today at the Courtyard Tempe Downtown Hotel, one of the top hotels in Tempe, AZ. Your stay is sure to be more enjoyable than ever before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Tempe Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Tempe Downtown Hotel Tempe
Tempe Marriott
Tempe Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing