We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (81)
Filter reviews
81 results
Traveller rating
78
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
78
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews freshly baked bread souffle tucked away home away from home magical place beautiful house week trip in india great recommendations wonderful homestay masala omelette home stay old house memorable holiday swimming pool other guests air conditioning amazing breakfast
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 81 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2020

My partner and I stayed at the secret garden for 4 nights of a 3-week trip in India, and would have loved to stay for longer! The home itself is a beautiful and spacious heritage house, and Derrick and the staff were extremely friendly and hospitable and spared no effort to help us feel right at home. There are some great spots to eat a short walk away, and of course the amazing breakfast was something we looked forward to each morning. Thanks again for the wonderful time, and looking forward to our next visit!

- M&R.

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank real_mike_chong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSecretGardenGoa, Owner at The Secret Garden Goa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2020

Hello!

Thank you so much for your kind words and lovely review! So glad that you enjoyed your time with us - we love what we do at TSGG and it is always so wonderful to have new guests from new places! Great that you enjoyed our breakfast... still the most important meal of the day for us!

Looking forward to welcoming you both back through our gates in the future.

Stay safe and well! Thanks again, warm regards,

Helene and team TSGG

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2020 via mobile

Oh my goodness, this is idyllic!!! A perfect place for a rest and recuperation. There's nothing I could fault here! Derrick was an amazing host and their two helpers were so lovely and polite. Helen wasn't there
, but despite going through a family tragedy, she was still in touch on
WhatsApp, sending regular messages. They all went out of their way to assist and the facilities were all amazing. I would thoroughly recommend this place for families, couples or singles.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank vandanap130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSecretGardenGoa, Owner at The Secret Garden Goa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2020

Hello there,

So sweet of you! Thank you, firstly for your understanding of my absence from home - very difficult times.

However, I am so happy that D and the team looked after you and you had such a fabulous stay with us - the wonder of whats app meant that I was able to be on hand throughout your stay and co-ordinate things from the other side of the world with those left holding the fort unexpectedly!

Looking forward to meeting you on your next visit and welcoming you and your family through our garden gate, till then take very good care.

Thank you for selecting us for your staycation in Goa.

Warmly Helene and team TSGG

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2020

We spent 2 nights at the Secret Garden in early January, our last nights after a five week trip in India.
What a special place. Helene and Derek were great hosts, making us laugh with Helene's wonderfully quirky sense of humor.
They gave us excellent advice on places to go and how to get there.
Oh did I mention the most amazing breakfasts! I don’t remember ever having such a spectacular breakfast before. Homemade loaves of bread and majestic masala omelettes. They truly set us up for the day.
The house is an old beautiful Goan beauty, decorated with charm and quirkiness, a wonderful relaxed environment.
All in all we had the most wonderful end to an unbelievably amazing adventure in India.

Thank you Helene and Derek, may we meet again one day .

Date of stay: January 2020
Thank nickyp177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSecretGardenGoa, Owner at The Secret Garden Goa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2020

Hello! How very sweet of you to take the time to review us on TA... it really was our pleasure to host you both, our very first guests from South Africa! How lucky we were that you chose to stay at The Secret Garden at the end of your tour. We will keep great memories of the time you spent in our home - you were both such great fun. Thank you for your kind compliments about your breakfast - it really was a pleasure to cook for you - especially after seeing how much you relished the spread! You are both welcome anytime through the gates of The Secret Garden - till then take excellent care! Warmest regards to you both, stay safe and happy! Helene & Team TSGG

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2020

The Secret Garden is a wonderful homestay in a heritage house in central Goa.
The room are spacious and artistically decorated with old world charm.
Breakfast is an attraction in itself and a real treat.
Our hosts went out of their way to make us feel at home and provided invaluable advice and help in selecting local restaurants and attractions.
We has a truly memorable holiday!

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Go741587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSecretGardenGoa, Owner at The Secret Garden Goa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2020

Hello Australia!

Thank you so much for your kind words and taking the time to write a review for us... So happy that you had a holiday to remember and made the most of your time in Goa. Glad you enjoyed breakfast - the most important meal of the day!

Looking forward to your next visit to our little state and welcoming you both back through our gates.

Until then take care, warmly Helene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2019

After three weeks of touring, The Secret Garden provided the perfect antidote. This beautiful house and garden became our home and dream hideaway for 6 perfect nights. The garden was a haven for butterflies and wildlife and we whiled away the hours in the pool or just relaxing in one of the many shaded areas. Our room was just perfect with a large cosy bed, comfy lounging areas and air conditioning. Helene was an amazing hostess and her breakfasts were superb with home cooked specialities, freshly baked bread and homemade jams. We will definitely return again, hopefully soon.

Date of stay: November 2019
Thank TracyS841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSecretGardenGoa, Owner at The Secret Garden Goa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2019

Dear T&M

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your wonderful review of your recent stay with us- what lovely kind words. :) You two were an absolute delight to host - you really did make the most of your stay at TSGG which was so gratifying to see - so happy that you were really able to unwind and totally relax. You guys are most welcome back through our gates anytime at all. Hope it is not chilly back in Blighty - take care and stay warm till we meet again. Love Helene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews