We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveller rating
79
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
79
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews amazing breakfast one of a kind derrick malabar eleni homestay hosts windsurfing goa hospitality scooter
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 82 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2020 via mobile

Oh my goodness, this is idyllic!!! A perfect place for a rest and recuperation. There's nothing I could fault here! Derrick was an amazing host and their two helpers were so lovely and polite. Helen wasn't there
, but despite going through a family tragedy, she was still in touch on
WhatsApp, sending regular messages. They all went out of their way to assist and the facilities were all amazing. I would thoroughly recommend this place for families, couples or singles.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank vandanap130
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSecretGardenGoa, Owner at The Secret Garden Goa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2020

Hello there,

So sweet of you! Thank you, firstly for your understanding of my absence from home - very difficult times.

However, I am so happy that D and the team looked after you and you had such a fabulous stay with us - the wonder of whats app meant that I was able to be on hand throughout your stay and co-ordinate things from the other side of the world with those left holding the fort unexpectedly!

Looking forward to meeting you on your next visit and welcoming you and your family through our garden gate, till then take very good care.

Thank you for selecting us for your staycation in Goa.

Warmly Helene and team TSGG

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2020

We spent 2 nights at the Secret Garden in early January, our last nights after a five week trip in India.
What a special place. Helene and Derek were great hosts, making us laugh with Helene's wonderfully quirky sense of humor.
They gave us excellent advice on places to go and how to get there.
Oh did I mention the most amazing breakfasts! I don’t remember ever having such a spectacular breakfast before. Homemade loaves of bread and majestic masala omelettes. They truly set us up for the day.
The house is an old beautiful Goan beauty, decorated with charm and quirkiness, a wonderful relaxed environment.
All in all we had the most wonderful end to an unbelievably amazing adventure in India.

Thank you Helene and Derek, may we meet again one day .

Date of stay: January 2020
Thank nickyp177
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSecretGardenGoa, Owner at The Secret Garden Goa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2020

Hello! How very sweet of you to take the time to review us on TA... it really was our pleasure to host you both, our very first guests from South Africa! How lucky we were that you chose to stay at The Secret Garden at the end of your tour. We will keep great memories of the time you spent in our home - you were both such great fun. Thank you for your kind compliments about your breakfast - it really was a pleasure to cook for you - especially after seeing how much you relished the spread! You are both welcome anytime through the gates of The Secret Garden - till then take excellent care! Warmest regards to you both, stay safe and happy! Helene & Team TSGG

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2020

The Secret Garden is a wonderful homestay in a heritage house in central Goa.
The room are spacious and artistically decorated with old world charm.
Breakfast is an attraction in itself and a real treat.
Our hosts went out of their way to make us feel at home and provided invaluable advice and help in selecting local restaurants and attractions.
We has a truly memorable holiday!

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Go741587
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSecretGardenGoa, Owner at The Secret Garden Goa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2020

Hello Australia!

Thank you so much for your kind words and taking the time to write a review for us... So happy that you had a holiday to remember and made the most of your time in Goa. Glad you enjoyed breakfast - the most important meal of the day!

Looking forward to your next visit to our little state and welcoming you both back through our gates.

Until then take care, warmly Helene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2019

After three weeks of touring, The Secret Garden provided the perfect antidote. This beautiful house and garden became our home and dream hideaway for 6 perfect nights. The garden was a haven for butterflies and wildlife and we whiled away the hours in the pool or just relaxing in one of the many shaded areas. Our room was just perfect with a large cosy bed, comfy lounging areas and air conditioning. Helene was an amazing hostess and her breakfasts were superb with home cooked specialities, freshly baked bread and homemade jams. We will definitely return again, hopefully soon.

Date of stay: November 2019
1  Thank TracyS841
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSecretGardenGoa, Owner at The Secret Garden Goa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2019

Dear T&M

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your wonderful review of your recent stay with us- what lovely kind words. :) You two were an absolute delight to host - you really did make the most of your stay at TSGG which was so gratifying to see - so happy that you were really able to unwind and totally relax. You guys are most welcome back through our gates anytime at all. Hope it is not chilly back in Blighty - take care and stay warm till we meet again. Love Helene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2019

I revisited India after 50 years to make contact with some old friends. Goa was the place to meet and The Secret garden was recommended. I was there for 5-6 days. it all went too quickly. It was like a home away from home without the housework! The place was amazing. Like a big stuffed cushion. You could relax anywhere- in your airconditioned room, in the large lounge area overlooking the daily attended pool or the large well-groomed gardens with abundant with plants and birdlife. More importantly, was the informality of it all. We Australians are a pretty informal lot and Helen and Derrick are just so welcoming. Her breakfasts are to die for. Souffle omelettes from heaven. Helen is a pommy (can't play cricket mind you) and has had the most interesting life. She always has time to chat and make you feel welcome and indeed pass on vital information for your trip in Goa and even ongoing information. She has encyclopaedic knowledge. She even worked for Richard Branson in her long life. They are a wonderful team. I also happen to be a dog lover and fell very much head over heels for hers. By the way, she makes fresh bread every day. Recommend it. I think I have made two great mates for life. I really really wish them well. And I hope you have as good a time as me. 11 outta 10 kids

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSecretGardenGoa, Owner at The Secret Garden Goa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2019

G'Day Mate!

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! 11/10 - wow that's humbling!! A special thank you to Anita to introducing you to us - it is always lovely to have guests through a personal recommendation. So happy that your return to India after so many decades turned out to be everything you wanted and more. We really enjoyed having you to stay - the hounds are missing you! Glad that you enjoyed the breakfast spread - I love to cook and it is such a pleasure when it is enjoyed with such relish. Fabulous that we could help with the onward part of your journey down memory lane - it was fascinating listening to your tales of the good old days in Bbay at clubs we go to now! Not much has changed as you could see from your visit but they must have been such fun in those days. Thank you for your kind words - stay safe and stay in touch - welcome back as soon as you like! Helene, Diver, Merlot and Luna and all the rest of the team say hello!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews