We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Peter N
Home away from home but without the housework
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 21 Nov 2019
I revisited India after 50 years to make contact with some old friends. Goa was the place to meet and The Secret garden was recommended. I was there for 5-6 days. it all went too quickly. It was like a home away from home without the housework! The place was amazing. Like a big stuffed cushion. You could relax anywhere- in your airconditioned room, in the large lounge area overlooking the daily attended pool or the large well-groomed gardens with abundant with plants and birdlife. More importantly, was the informality of it all. We Australians are a pretty informal lot and Helen and Derrick are just so welcoming. Her breakfasts are to die for. Souffle omelettes from heaven. Helen is a pommy (can't play cricket mind you) and has had the most interesting life. She always has time to chat and make you feel welcome and indeed pass on vital information for your trip in Goa and even ongoing information. She has encyclopaedic knowledge. She even worked for Richard Branson in her long life. They are a wonderful team. I also happen to be a dog lover and fell very much head over heels for hers. By the way, she makes fresh bread every day. Recommend it. I think I have made two great mates for life. I really really wish them well. And I hope you have as good a time as me. 11 outta 10 kids
Date of stay: November 2019
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
₹39,795
₹30,532
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    ₹32,976
  • Expedia.com
    ₹39,795
  • Priceline
0.5 km from The Secret Garden Goa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Kids play area
MakeMyTrip
₹3,825
Fully refundable
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Agoda.com
  • Lol.travel
0.8 km from The Secret Garden Goa
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
₹5,040
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    ₹5,040
  • Agoda.com
    ₹3,635
  • Hotels.com
    ₹5,040
0.9 km from The Secret Garden Goa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Ascott Cares
Booking.com
₹5,040
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    ₹5,040
  • Expedia.com
    ₹5,040
  • Hotels.com
    ₹5,040
1.1 km from The Secret Garden Goa
Pool
Restaurant
Priceline
₹5,488
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    ₹5,488
  • Agoda.com
    ₹4,058
  • Vio.com
    ₹4,058
1.1 km from The Secret Garden Goa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
₹3,864
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
    ₹3,720
  • Agoda.com
    ₹1,855
  • Trip.com
    ₹2,511
1.7 km from The Secret Garden Goa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    ₹5,040
  • Agoda.com
0.7 km from The Secret Garden Goa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    ₹5,512
  • Agoda.com
    ₹5,512
1.7 km from The Secret Garden Goa
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    ₹1,568
  • Trip.com
  • Agoda.com
    ₹1,568
1.6 km from The Secret Garden Goa
View more hotels in Saligao
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveller rating
79
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
79
3
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 82 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2019 via mobile

The Secret Garden Goa is a sprawling Portuguese styled villa homestay. Located in the village of Saligao, it offers a unique experience with a perfect blend of the old world charm of a bygone era and modern amenities and a swimming pool. It provides seclusion and yet is close enough to Calangute & Baga beaches and it's night life.

Run and managed by the lovely Helene Menezes, it is the perfect getaway for the discerning traveller.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank ArtiK13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TheSecretGardenGoa, Owner at The Secret Garden Goa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2019

Hey Arti

Thank you for your kind words! So happy to have you at TSGG for your mini staycation! Looking forward to many return visits!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2019 via mobile

If you’re the kind of traveller who likes sterile, homogeneous hotel rooms with 24hours room service in a hotel chain with 100 other guests and multi-cuisine restaurants, The Secret Garden is NOT for you.

The Secret Garden is tucked away from the main road and the narrow approach does not prepare you for the surprise that this beautiful old house is. The three rooms that the property offers are an extension of the home of the owners- Helene and Derrick. The entire place is a labour of love and each room distinct in its decor and vibe. The common areas are comfortable and invite you to feel at home.

We were lucky to have booked all three rooms so we had the place to ourselves. The highlights for us adults and kids were definitely the delicious breakfast cooked by Helene and eaten on the never ending communal dining table. The freshly baked bread and the sour dough pancakes need a special mention. And the swimming pool set in middle of the garden. The luxury of going for a swim at any time of day or night and the pleasure of watching butterflies and dragonflies hovering around.

Helene and Derrick are terrific hosts. They were very helpful with answering our questions and guiding us around Saligao and other places, from local transport to food to museums. The three dogs are friendly and good to have around. We really enjoyed our stay and couldn’t recommend this place enough.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Nvz14
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TheSecretGardenGoa, Owner at The Secret Garden Goa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2019

Wow! What a really wonderful review to read this morning. Thank you so much. You really summed up the kind of guests we dont want at TSGG in your opening line! And of course, you guys are exactly our kind of people and the perfect sort of guests - those that feel at home enough to be super comfortable but spoilt enough to know that you are on vacay and can relax and indulge! It was my absolute pleasure to feed you all - great appetites and clean plates are a cooks best friend! Looking forward to seeing you all again - the gates of The Secret Garden will always be open for you... much love Hx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2019

We had an absolute amazing holiday with friends at the secret garden. Starting off with a breakfast which can only be explained as a big hearty healthy breakfast. A pool which spent alot of time in and the most gracious hosts in H and D, who made it even more special.

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JJCherian
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TheSecretGardenGoa, Owner at The Secret Garden Goa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2019

So happy that you had the holiday you so wanted and that it all happened at The Secret Garden. Special friends are worth cherishing and nurturing - you guys all got on so well and had a great balance between you - was lovely to see. Glad that you appreciated the details - I can't stop finding other bits and bobs that our home 'has to have' - quite funny for someone who doesn't like to shop! Thank you so much for enjoying the food with gusto! It was our absolute pleasure to host you.... till next time! Love to you and the family, Hx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2019

Helene and Derek are amazing hosts who made us feel right at home. A beautiful house tucked away from the hustle and bustle of Goa. Helene's breakfast were to die for with fresh, hot bread served every time. Its a place that you would keep going back to...there's something for everyone.....a cupboard full of thoughtfully picked toys for all ages, a beautiful, clean pool and the lovely rooms.

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank suji1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TheSecretGardenGoa, Owner at The Secret Garden Goa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2019

Hello!

Awh! Thank you so much for taking the time away to write a lovely review of your stay with us - you are very kind. Glad that you enjoyed your time with us. I love to cook and when guests love to eat it is the perfect combination! So happy that the games cupboard was enjoyed - you guys had a lot of fun and that is what makes what we do here worthwhile! Looking forward to your next visit! Thanks so much, Helene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2019 via mobile

Secret Garden. - The description of the name pretty puch sums it up. A beautiful curated home stay with each room tastefully decorated. The rooms and the living/ dining room open into the Secret Garden. With its tropical green plants, surrounding the perfect pool. This was our second stay here, and the best thing.. Nothing changed from the first time. The hosts Helene and Derrik are fabulous. Helene's breakfast is legendary, with home made bread, fruit preserves, cereals to choose from, eggs, omletts, fresh fruits,coffee, tea, juices .. And not to mention our daughters favourite the pancakes with chocolate sauce. She also offered us other options of traditional Indian breakfast..
The secret garden is located perfectly in North Goa, tucked away from the tourist madness that does take over the beautiful state. But convinent to all the restaurants, bars , the museum of Goa, the beaches.. All which come with great recommendations from the Hosts.Helene helped us get rental bikes and cab pick up and drop from the airport.
We were a group of 3 families, and had the house and pool to ourselves as soon as the kids woke up to midnight dips in the pool. It was as private as one could have.
We were looking for a relaxing holiday, and the secret garden was just perfect combination of aa beautiful comfortable stay with lovely conversations, and all that Goa promises.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Sucheth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TheSecretGardenGoa, Owner at The Secret Garden Goa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2019

Hello there!

I am so happy that you love TSGG as much as I do. It is always so encouraging when guests return and have an awesome stay with us. A lot of love has gone into my home and it is wonderful that by return it gives it out by the bucket load, and better still when it is appreciated and our guests feel at home too! The kids had such fun in the pool (as did the big kids) and of course, as always it was my absolute pleasure to feed you all. #perfectguests Thank you so much for returning to The Secret Garden and getting the break you all needed, a mix of fun, relaxation, adventure and great Goan food! You will all, always be welcome through our gates...

Till next time! Love Hx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews