We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hyderabadi Kahani, Goa ki Zabani..”
Review of Saligao Stories

Saligao Stories
Ranked #4 of 9 Restaurants in Saligao
Price range: US$ 14 - US$ 28
Description: At Saligao Stories we have created an elegant space with a menu especially influenced by Hyderabad with a Global accent.
Restaurant details
Description: At Saligao Stories we have created an elegant space with a menu especially influenced by Hyderabad with a Global accent.
Reviewed 20 April 2018 via mobile

Saligao Stories, a quintessentially Hyderabadi restaurant, in fact the first of it's kind ,in Goa is a delightful treat to many sensory organs..
Anisha, the owner, has transformed her maternal grandmother's ancestral home and written the script for a beautiful gastronomical story .
A bunch of friends and i went there on Wednesday. We were reasonably 'special demands' people with allergies, some vegetarian, others Pescatarians and only some 'normal' ones..
Anisha ensured that everyone was well taken care of.
Once we were seated in the spacious dining area of the beautiful house , with beautiful artefacts and paintings adorning the walls, the gastronomical extravaganza began..
There were melt in the mouth Mutton Shammi Kababs with just the right hint of spices and chilles. They were served with a delicious mint chutney.
Next came a very unusual dish..Mutton Chutney..a house special and Anisha's mother Doreen Hassan's recipe. It was served with delicious Reshmi Parantha's.. By now we were close to food heaven.
The Piece-de- Resistance of the evening was the Raan.. so delicious and melt in the mouth with the perfect taste and texture...
While we carnivore's were chomping away , the Pescatarians were enjoying Karipatta prawns served with Mini Uttapams and some Pan fried fish.. it was delicious they said.
Vegetarian's .. Worry not.. The vegetarian platter with all the traditional Hyderabadi specialities like Chola rice, Kadhi, Tomato ka Kut, Baghare Baingan etc was super delicious.
After a huge meal like this, one should normally forego dessert but we got greedy and asked for one portion of Qubani ka Meetha. That got walloped in minutes and soon we were each ordering our own..
Well it was a deliciously sinful evening but well worth the calories..
Highly recommended...

Date of visit: April 2018
1  Thank Vaishali J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (20)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2018 via mobile

To find Hyderabad’s royal delicacies and the most exclusive Goan flavors served with personal attention in a 100 year old heritage home is an unimaginable experience!! Anisha the owner of Saligao Stories cooks herself, the recipes handed down generations. We ordered the Hyderabad Story which had a good serving of Hyderabad’s signature dishes, the Kababs and the Stuffed Goan Crabs. Each dish unique in both taste and presentation. Every bite a burst of delightful flavor. They have a fantastic mixologist which means the drinks are rocking as well! Excellent food at affordable prices. Don’t forget to wander around the beautiful heritage home for an insight into the lives of Goan families!

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank trikhas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

Lovely redone old Portuguese house, good food, access to property very small by lane of Saligaon,beautiful accessories for sale

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank wadimiravi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2018 via mobile

The service and ambience was great. Not many people in the resto but that was the case with most restaurant in goa this weekend. I am vegetarian so they actually custom made a small biryani thali.
There was a channa biryani (which I personally found a lil dry), the mirch ka salan (I have had better), yoghurt dip rather than a raita I would say, the kadhi was good and a tomato purée dal was really nice. For an international clientele I would say the food is outstanding but being Indian I found it average. It also might be the case that I am vegetarian and they probably have the better dishes that are non vegetarian. Having said that I would go back again cause nothing on the thali was bad...jus not outstanding.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank PayalK101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2018 via mobile

Went here for dinner on a Friday night. Very well decorated restaurant. The cocktails recommendations of gin and whisky were great. We ordered one veg and one non-veg biryani that came with sides of mirchi ka salan, raita, papad and pickles. It was absolutely yummy and succulent. The goan custard dessert was to die for. Would highly recommend this place and will definitely go back.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank niteshkriplani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Saligao Stories also viewed

 
Bambolim, North Goa District
 

Been to Saligao Stories? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing