We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 136
US$ 129
Fairfield Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gateway Studio Suites(Sierra Vista)(Great Value!)
US$ 89
US$ 81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 100
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sierra Suites(Sierra Vista)(Great Value!)
US$ 96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn & Suites(Sierra Vista)
US$ 94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Days Inn by Wyndham Sierra Vista(Sierra Vista)(Great Value!)
US$ 66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sierra Vista Extended Stay(Sierra Vista)(Great Value!)
US$ 55
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Garden Place Suites(Sierra Vista)
US$ 112
US$ 104
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (39)
Filter reviews
39 results
Traveller rating
35
4
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
35
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgoatsan pedro riverfriendly dogsbeautiful naturewonderful hostsgreat place to unwindunique propertyevery morningghost townsa great staymichaelcasitamulearizonabisbeeroomy
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 39 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2017

This is truly a unique property on the San Pedro River outside of Sierra Vista, Arizona. Hosts are warm, engaging people who are great to visit with. They have four large and friendly dogs roaming the property, and also some other farm animals (horses, burro, goat) in corral. Breakfast was great. A very quiet setting--no city noise, no TV, etc. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reviewer123231230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2017 via mobile

Hosts have a wealth of information on the area and you can tell they love the place. Followed Kathy's suggestions and had a perfect day. Lovely breakfast. It is an animal friendly place but you can also chose to not interact with them. Comfortable and large room. Definitely where to stay a for bit different experience.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank 531Alison12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2016

A truly wonderful place to stay - especially if you love dogs, horses, donkeys, mules and goats! Cathy was very welcoming and helpful, and her breakfasts are great. The rooms are full of character and large. Extremely comfortable. No TV and I didn't see WiFi either. There is an outdoor pool and barbeque area, and hiking along the river. The dogs were lovely, very friendly, as were the equines. We only stayed one night, but I wish it had been longer. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy and Micha... M, Owner at Lazy Dog Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2016

Thank you for your kind comments, Cas! We do hope you and Dave will come back to our part of the world again........and yes, we do have free WI-FI. One small concession to being "connected." Safe travels! Hope your cactus sculptures made it home safely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2016

My son and I came to Sierra Vista on a nature and bird watching trip.
Lazy Dog Ranch was a FANTASTIC place for us to stay.

Cathy and Michael are super nice and friendly people and were so helpful and they treated us like family.

The room we stayed in was clean and comfortable.

The location was excellent. It is adjacent to a narrow spot on the San Pedro River so you can walk out of your room and be sitting by the river in about 60 seconds. It was also a close drive to many of the places we wanted to visited (Ft Huachucha, and the various nearby Canyons) and was also close to a shopping area.

The ranch itself was fun since there were lots of animals (a couple horses, donkey, goat, lots of dogs, cats, etc,) The hummingbird feeders were absolutely phenomenal, and the variety of birds in the general area as well as on the Ranch's property itself was fantastic.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank joseph l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2016

The Lazy Dog Ranch is one of those little gems that you keep reflecting on after you've departed, and know that you've made some indelible memories. We brought our 3 children (10, 9 and 6) to the ranch for a quick getaway from our usual stop in Mesa, AZ. It is an easy drive, but a world apart. The scenery heading south from Tuscon is well worth the drive, and once in Sierra Vista, the calm of the desert surrounds you. The directions to the ranch were easy to follow and we arrived to a warm welcome by 2 of the happiest dogs you could meet. The wonderful hostess, Cathy, was right behind with a huge smile and genuine welcome. We immediately felt her hospitality and warmth as we introduced ourselves. Some people are just meant to work with people - Cathy is definitely one of them. Our room was spacious, very clean and inviting. We stayed in the 'bird house', the casita looming over the pool area. It had a very comfortable queen, a single bed and 2 cool pull out chairs that fit our kids. A private shower and bathroom area was very useful. The kids were introduced to the resident horse, mule, donkey and goat. They were over the moon to be able to pet and brush them! There is an awesome area by the river (which runs through the property), which is an interesting change from the dessert landscape! We had a fire under the stars, complete with s'mores! Breakfast was plentiful! Wonderful fresh baked goodies, steaming coffee, fresh fruit, yogurt, eggs.....a beautiful table set in a bright and sunny room. Cathy gave us lots of tips for activities. We did everything she suggested, and each was a huge hit with the whole family (no easy feat!). We saw Bisbee (mine tour a must), Tombstone, and the very underrated Coronado National Monument (truly a wonderful trip - we explored the cave, and had the whole thing to ourselves! It's free, and I have no clue why it's so quiet!). Cathy made us feel like family - she knew when to help out, but we had so much privacy, we felt like it was our private abode. I've stayed at B and B's where I've felt a bit uncomfortable being in such close proximity with the owners - this is definitely not the case!
Overall, a great place to escape reality and get back to the basics - family time, beautiful nights and nature. There is wi-fi for those who just can't unplug, but I loved the serenity. Will be back!

Room Tip: There are only 2 rooms - both very private. The Casa is larger, but the Casita has a small fridge, and supplies to enjoy meals in the room.
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank TBeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy and Micha... M, Owner at Lazy Dog Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2016

Thank you for your very kind words!

It was great fun having your family her. All of the animals are missing the kids like mad! Thank you for brushing Patron, Rita and Maggie. And the puppies are moping outside the Casita.

Have a safe trip back to Alberta. We hope to see you again!

Cathy (and Michael, in absentia)
Plus.....Zorra, Thor, Quinn, Porter, Patron, Maggie, Rita, Lucy, Roxanne and Evita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews