We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Save
Review Highlights
Great museum and tram ride

The hall has several rows of historic trams with access to a lot of interiors, plus a huge amount... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
mrdom
via mobile
Great day out for all the family

Took the grandchildren to the Museum today as part of school holiday activities. Kids really... read more

Reviewed 4 October 2018
Feline111
,
Green Point, Australia
Read all 48 reviews
  
Reviews (48)
Filter reviews
48 results
Traveller rating
31
12
3
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
31
12
3
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews national park tramway museum tram ride restored trams small kids related stuff large picnic area great stories fascinating place great collection volunteers grandchildren sydney display bunch exhibits step
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 48 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2017

A step back in the past. Lots to see and climb on. The trolleybus and the steam tram was great. There is a large picnic area. As well as a tram trip to the National Park.

Date of experience: July 2017
1  Thank trc2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 8 September 2017

Thank You for your Kind Review!

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit and made great use of our facilities - We look forward to welcoming you back to our Museum on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017

A fascinating place with very interesting ride-on exhibits and very knowledgeable and kind volunteers. I was there with three small kids (7, 4 & 2) who all had a great time. Loved the tram ride into the Royal National Park and the great stories told by the museum guide once we got back to the exhibits. A good morning out.

Date of experience: July 2017
1  Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 18 September 2017

Thank you for your kind review!

We are very glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed their experience at our Museum!

We hope we can welcome you back to the Museum when we complete some of our Track & Restoration works to make your experience even better!

Kind Regards
Sydney Tramway Museum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

This place has potential. It could be absolutely fascinating but instead it just seems like a place to store tram stuff that was gunna be chucked out. The tram shed itself just has a random bunch of random trams right beside each other- there's no discernible logic to how they're layer out (i.e. Newer to older or Sydney vs other places). There's tram related stuff packed in around the shed but again, it just seems like random posters and things shoved in any spare corner they can find.
The trams that the SYDNEY tramway museum had running were ones from Melbourne and Brisbane?
I would suggest they totally reorganise the place. Set it out chronologically- both the trams and the memorabilia. Don't have anything within view of the public unless it is an actual display- no hoarded clutter.

Date of experience: July 2017
1  Thank parko1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 July 2017

Thank you for your review, we are sorry to hear that we didn't meet your expectations, but rest assured, we take all feedback on board to help improve our Museum.

Our current Display Hall is currently under review and many major changes are being planned to revamp and breath new life into our exhibits, removing the clutter.

As many of the Trams in our Display Hall are still operational, and get rotated into the Traffic Fleet, it can be hard to maintain a logical order of the Display Trams.

That being said, we value our visitors feedback, to help ensure we continually improve our exhibits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017

I had the opportunity to meet the Transport Heritage NSW steam train trip from Central To Loftus for a trip to the Tram Museum.I always enjoy a trip out there and remember taking the kids there when they were little.
The look around inside with the CE of city rail and the CEO of THNSW plus others provided an interesting look at the restoration or Rustoration as I like to call it work going on not only on trams but Electric double decker bus (didnt know they had them) and all sorts of equipment .Very interesting trip. and ...they do tram rides Too!

Date of experience: November 2016
1  Thank Panheadpete1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitchell S, Secretary at Sydney Tramway Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2018

Thank You for your kind review!

We are very happy to hear the you enjoyed your visit, particularly the tour around our Museum.

Many of our volunteers work hard behind the scenes to make sure that Sydney's History is never forgotten!

We look forward to being able to welcome you back to the museum on your next visit.

Kind Regards
Sydney Tramway Museum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2017

You must visit this place at least once in your life. Very interesting glimpse into the past of Sydney, and other places that use trams. The guys that run this place put their heart and souls into it....it's their passion and it shows. Visit and leave a donation.

Date of experience: January 2017
1  Thank Craig U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews