We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great day out”

Sydney Tramway Museum
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Loftus
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 7 September 2017

A fascinating place with very interesting ride-on exhibits and very knowledgeable and kind volunteers. I was there with three small kids (7, 4 & 2) who all had a great time. Loved the tram ride into the Royal National Park and the great stories told by the museum guide once we got back to the exhibits. This place has potential. It could be absolutely fascinating but instead it just seems like a place to store tram stuff that was gunna be chucked out. The tram shed itself just has a random bunch of random trams right beside each other- there's no discernible logic to how they're layer out (i.e. Newer to older or Sydney vs other places). There's tram related stuff packed in around the shed but again, it just seems like random posters and things shoved in any spare corner they can find. The trams that the SYDNEY tramway museum had running were ones from Melbourne and Brisbane? I would suggest they totally reorganise the place. Set it out chronologically- both the trams and the memorabilia. Don't have anything within view of the public unless it is an actual display- no hoarded clutter.

Thank Jye B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 18 September 2017

Thank your for your Review, we are glad to hear you enjoyed your visit and welcome to opportunity to respond to some of your concerns.

Our Display Hall houses Trams which are operational and get rotated through our Traffic Roster in order to give them a break. We do understand this can cause some disruption to the Display Order & we are working to revamp several of our Displays to better address this issue.

As we do have Trams from other States & Countries, these Trams also get rotated through the Traffic Roster in order to allow cleaning & maintenance to occur on all of our Trams - As we are entirely run by volunteers; the maintenance can take a while, this may result in Trams from other States/Countries appearing more frequently as this maintenance takes place.

We do understand that we have a lot of items stored around the Display Hall & we are currently building new buildings to better display many of these items and provide secure storage. As many Heritage Museums face the same problem, if we don't collect as many of these items as we can, they will be lost forever. In particular, many parts that the Trams require to keep running are simply not available anymore & in some cases, impossible to manufacture for a reasonable cost.

We value our visitors feedback very highly and use it to help create and revamp our Displays to provide a better visit experience. As mentioned, we are in the process of completing a few projects which will hopefully address some of the issues you have raised.

Kind Regards
Sydney Tramway Museum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"national park"
in 12 reviews
"all sorts"
in 2 reviews
"take away"
in 2 reviews
"tramway museum"
in 8 reviews
"tram ride"
in 5 reviews
"restored trams"
in 3 reviews
"small kids"
in 2 reviews
"run by volunteers"
in 2 reviews
"related stuff"
in 2 reviews
"interesting place"
in 2 reviews
"large picnic area"
in 2 reviews
"great stories"
in 2 reviews
"great collection"
in 2 reviews
"display"
in 4 reviews
"sydney"
in 17 reviews
"heritage"
in 2 reviews
"bunch"
in 2 reviews
Filter

4 - 8 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2017

A step back in the past. Lots to see and climb on. The trolleybus and the steam tram was great. There is a large picnic area. As well as a tram trip to the National Park.

Thank trc2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 8 September 2017

Thank You for your Kind Review!

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit and made great use of our facilities - We look forward to welcoming you back to our Museum on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017

A fascinating place with very interesting ride-on exhibits and very knowledgeable and kind volunteers. I was there with three small kids (7, 4 & 2) who all had a great time. Loved the tram ride into the Royal National Park and the great stories told by the museum guide once we got back to the exhibits. A good morning out.

Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 18 September 2017

Thank you for your kind review!

We are very glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed their experience at our Museum!

We hope we can welcome you back to the Museum when we complete some of our Track & Restoration works to make your experience even better!

Kind Regards
Sydney Tramway Museum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

This place has potential. It could be absolutely fascinating but instead it just seems like a place to store tram stuff that was gunna be chucked out. The tram shed itself just has a random bunch of random trams right beside each other- there's no discernible logic to how they're layer out (i.e. Newer to older or Sydney vs other places). There's tram related stuff packed in around the shed but again, it just seems like random posters and things shoved in any spare corner they can find.
The trams that the SYDNEY tramway museum had running were ones from Melbourne and Brisbane?
I would suggest they totally reorganise the place. Set it out chronologically- both the trams and the memorabilia. Don't have anything within view of the public unless it is an actual display- no hoarded clutter.

Thank parko1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 July 2017

Thank you for your review, we are sorry to hear that we didn't meet your expectations, but rest assured, we take all feedback on board to help improve our Museum.

Our current Display Hall is currently under review and many major changes are being planned to revamp and breath new life into our exhibits, removing the clutter.

As many of the Trams in our Display Hall are still operational, and get rotated into the Traffic Fleet, it can be hard to maintain a logical order of the Display Trams.

That being said, we value our visitors feedback, to help ensure we continually improve our exhibits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2017

I had the opportunity to meet the Transport Heritage NSW steam train trip from Central To Loftus for a trip to the Tram Museum.I always enjoy a trip out there and remember taking the kids there when they were little.
The look around inside with the CE of city rail and the CEO of THNSW plus others provided an interesting look at the restoration or Rustoration as I like to call it work going on not only on trams but Electric double decker bus (didnt know they had them) and all sorts of equipment .Very interesting trip. and ...they do tram rides Too!

Thank Panheadpete1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitchell S, Secretary at Sydney Tramway Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2018

Thank You for your kind review!

We are very happy to hear the you enjoyed your visit, particularly the tour around our Museum.

Many of our volunteers work hard behind the scenes to make sure that Sydney's History is never forgotten!

We look forward to being able to welcome you back to the museum on your next visit.

Kind Regards
Sydney Tramway Museum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sydney Tramway Museum also viewed

 
Royal National Park, New South Wales
 

Been to Sydney Tramway Museum? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing