We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It doesn't get any better” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
Ranked #6 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Longmeadow, MA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“It doesn't get any better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

We just spent 5 days in Sedona, at the Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel and Creekside Villas. We stayed in the cottage, which I guess is somewhere in between the rooms and the villas in upscale-ness. It was, in a word, luxurious. 2 bedrooms, bath with jacuzzi, kitchen, dining room, living room, fireplace. I was prepared to move in there permanently! But it wasn't just the accomodations. The staff was beyond helpful. There was a sign at the checkin that said if you ran out of any toiletries, such as shaving cream, the front desk would provide. Sure enough, I was out of travel shaving cream, and they provided a can of Barbasol free of charge. Now, I realize that a small can of Barbasol would cost maybe $3 or $4 in the local pharmacy, but the act of providing it for free to patrons is something above and beyond, and really made an impression on me. Each morning a full breakfast was provided, with just about anything you could possibly want to eat for breakfast. I must have partaken of the coffee/hot chocolate machine in the lobby about 12 times during the 5 days. Best hot chocolate in a package I've ever had.
Free wifi in the room!! I had just come from a resort that charged $12.95 a day for room internet, so I was delighted to have internet free.
The exercise room was fully appointed, and I had a great workout there. The grounds were delightful. We took a walk down to beautiful Oak Creek in back of the Villas, had a lovely chat with one of the residents who believes in the power of Vortexes and the presence of Space Aliens. It was an interesting walk on the wild side :-)
Four mint chocolates awaited us each day when we returned to our cabin. The quality of the toiletries was first rate. We were provided 8 towels each day!! No way that we could have used that many, but it was a nice touch, since it does occasionally happen that water spills, or we might want to use the jacuzzi and shower in the same day. The bed was first rate: I judge hotel beds by whether or not I wake up with a backache. Let's just say, NOT.
The lobby staff was quite helpful in guiding us to good restaurants, tours, parks, etc.
Everything was clean, clean, clean, the rooms, the lobby, the breakfast area.
All in all, one of the best hotel experiences we've had.

Room Tip: I wish I could. We meant to check out the regular rooms, but never got around to it. Based on ever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank racprint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
I want to personally thank you so much for the kind words in your Trip Advisor review. Wow, your really had the "Sedona" experience. We are so honored to have been considered one of the best places you have ever stayed. Thank you for sharing all your experiences.

It is so important to us to make a lasting impression on our guests and we maintain very high standards in order to accomplish this. We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Again, thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review of your stay. See you soon!

Warm Regards,
Lonnie Lilllie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,863 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,195
    535
    100
    23
    10
See reviews for
717
732
38
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

This hotel is situated at the top of the main street in Sedona. Ample parking allows one to use this hotel as their base to explore Sedona. Restaurants, shops, and most importantly pink jeep tours are all within walking distance. It's very nice and convenient to be located in town. The rooms are great and have amazing views of the red rocks. The hotel has a nice pool located directly behind the hotel offering spectacular views. The free breakfast was also a plus. Featuring a good hot buffet breakfast you can’t go wrong with this hotel.

Room Tip: I believe the hotel has 5 floors so the higher the better... that being said- I'm not sure you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bigski2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
84 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

I sometimes stay at another hotel but it was sold out, this was close to where my sister had her timeshare. I could not be more pleased with this hotel. EVERYTHING was perfect. A very nice young man checked me in and I got room 401. Unbelieveable view of the Red Rocks. Room was spotless and the bed was super comfortable. I did not have breakfast so can not comment on it. But I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TRavlerbarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

Great hotel, all the rooms have a view of the canyon. Close to amenities, very comfortable room
and excellent bed. Pricey for a best western, but we enjoy our one night stay, would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brownie437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairport, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

After a week of working conferences in Vegas, we headed down to Sedona as we were told this was a short drive from Vegas - So Not!!! - it is about a 5 1/2 hour drive from Vegas, but is only about 2 hours from Phoenix!!! We should have checked before we booked but what the heck, we felt like a drive, until we remembered how boring that road is from Vegas! Nonetheless we set off to Sedona on a Friday afternoon and reached our hotel around 7 pm.

The drive down the gorge from Flagstaff, was not what we were expecting and it was truly something else. Our hotel was easily found on the left hand side when we entered Sedona and it was especially nice, that as we had booked a particular room, we had designated car parking.

The hotel staff were polite, and ready with our details so check in was fast. They told us where breakfast was in the morning and directed us to our room. The hotel also has villas down by the creekside, with their own 'club' which pools, tennis courts and gym. There is also another pool closer to the main building if you did not want to walk to the club which in fact was only a short hop skip and jump away. However, as the creekside may be welcome in the heat of summer, we were here to look at the red rocks and we specifically booked one of 5 suites that overlooks the red rock, but gives us extra room.

One thing to remember is that this is National Park area and you have to have a pass to be able to park and hike, or even park and take photos. A day pass costs $5 and you can buy this from the hotel desk so you know you can just head off with no worries. You can get a weekly pass for $15, if you are staying longer.

Our room consisted of large bedroom with kingsize bed, fireplace, flat screen tvs and lounges. There was a small 'butlers' bar area with fridge, a large wardrobe for clothes and storing of luggage, a separate vanity area, and toilet and the bathroom had a jacuzzi bath and large walk in shower. The hotel I do not think is 'new' but everything in the room had been renovated with granite worktops and tiling in the bathroom in terrazzo tiles in neutral tones. Our room was on the ground floor, and we only had one room to the left of us. Outside there were chairs and table for us to use, though it would be better if they were more lounge like. We had open grass directly in front of us which was perfect for early morning and late afternoon/early evening photography of red rock

The hotel gave you the option of a morning or afternoon clean of your room which was a nice touch if you wanted to sleep in - in all the hotels I have stayed in around the world this is the first one that has you fill in a little form and hang it on outside on the doorknob for housekeeping to inform them.

Breakfast was held on the other side of the hotel so it was a short walk across. This was typical american buffet but there was enough choice for all types of eaters. In particular their mini blueberry muffins were extremely light and tasty. You have to show your key to any of the staff just to make sure you had not walked off the street, and there was plenty of seating area inside with a lovely little patio with seating outside. As this was the end of March, begining of April we were lucky to find it warm enough to sit outside and enjoy the view. Though I would recommend taking a jacket as even though you are in Arizona as we drove down to Sedona they had had some snow, and the weather changed one day and there was quite a cold wind blowing - but you can get that anywhere.

The temperature was of a fairly good range for this time of year, though we did get a little 'red' while out hiking, so sunburn cream is essential.

Most things you can drive to easily and it is easy to find your way around to the chapel and up to the lookout areas around the airport (light aircraft). But Sedona has roundabouts, which are not common in the USA, but we are from England and we thought it hilarious when we booked a 4x4 tour with Pink Jeeps, they sent us a link on to show people how to drive around roundabouts! The rules for a roundabout are easy and sensible to understand, but we now know why they sent us the link, even the locals are challenged by getting in the correct lane as they enter the roundabout so they are in the correct lane to exit the roundabout without causing a pile up - so that is one to be watchful on!

We had wanted to do a hot air balloon trip which are only run early in the mornings, but it was Spring Break, which we did not know, and they were all booked up. The companies I spoke to - there are 2 - said you have to book early; so if you want to do something like that book well in advance as the number of balloons that are allowed up is strictly restricted by the FAA.

Not to miss out we did a 4x4 jeep tour with Pink Jeeps. Yes they are Pink!. This was fun and informative and you get up close and personal with the Red Rock. In addition you can book to go out at 7am before the heat, but that means while you are out there you get the sunrise on the rocks also, which is quite spectacular. The nice thing about this tour, which was very reasonably priced, is that you get to go places where your own car will not go. Also if you are not a hiker you can get to places where you would otherwise not manage to, unless you did it on foot. The Guide/driver is well versed in the history, geography, flora and fauna.

There are a number of trips you can go to to see the drawings in the caves. These are approached by unmade roads, which they warn you about. However we found then perfectly driveable and no problems at all and if you were unlucky to breakdown there is plenty of traffic along these if you had to flag someone down for help. My cell phone worked without any problem also, so that was an added safety net.

There are lots of galleries and shops to look at in Sedona so they are good for a wander, though some of the items are very overpriced and typically geared to the foreign tourist who has to buy a souvenir from every place they visited! We left Sedona with lots of photographs taken by ourselves and a sweatshirt as it became cold and we had not taken anything warm - clearly we are not shoppers!

Restuarants are plenty in the area and generally the food is of a high standard, which is surprising as the clientale is only there for a couple of days, if that. But do remember, Americans eat early so expect to have to wait for a table and do not leave eating too late, it is not uncommon for restaurants or shops to be closed before 9pm. Give the cactus fries a miss - they are a tourist trap, they were not to our liking being soft and limp and pretty tasteless - but someone has to try them! The Thai restaurant, which is situated just behind the main street was of a very high standard and we had a lovely evening sitting out in their walled garden. While the restaurants were busy, once you were sat at a table there was no rushing for you to leave. Sitting outside they had terrace heaters, which were very artistic style being pyramid in style, but I would recommend you have a jacket handy depending on what time of the year you went.

We had read some criticism of Sedona's layout and the stores and restauants available to you. We came to the conclusion that this must be the area of Sedona outside the area where the more expensive hotels are located. This area is typically American, though MacDonalds, here has a GREEN M instead of their bright Yellow M - apparently the bright Yellow was considered to clash with the red rock by the local council. But if you are travelling with a young family, and budgetting is a concern, you could find all the kids favourites here without breaking the bank.

We stayed 3 nights in Sedona and that was more than enough, probably by one night. We noticed a lot of people only stayed one night and then moved on. Check out was easy, and there was no rush in the morning, in fact we did the 4x4 Jeep tour on the morning we were leaving and were back at the hotel by 9.30am for breakfast and then sorted ourselves out and then departed.

Leaving Sedona we drove to Phoenix, which is around 2 - 21/2 hours away. There are a number of sights to see on the way so we took a slow drive. What always amazed us is how the landscape changes - from Flagstaff we drove down the gorge into Red Rock Country, you drive through Sedona and head towards Phoenix and the red rocks disappear and the landscape changes again.

We had a great time, the hotel was not cheap, but it was restful and everything was close so you could go out at night without having to drive. If you are a hiker or photographer it is not a place to miss, and we can now tick this one off our bucket list.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Peuta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
We feel so honored to have had you as our guest. After a 5 hour drive from Las Vegas to get to us, we are truly glad that you had a magnificent stay.

Our awesome red rock views, private creek frontage, and being within walking distance to Sedona’s best shopping and dining makes our property a real gem. I'm so glad you had the opportunity to experience this.

Please come back and visit us very soon. We look forward to it.!

Warm Regards,
Lonnie Lillie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sedona hotels
2.3 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Sedona
3.8 km away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
0.3 km away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 km away
Adobe Grand Villas
Adobe Grand Villas
#1 of 48 in Sedona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
5.0 km away
Casa Sedona Inn
Casa Sedona Inn
#3 of 48 in Sedona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
5.4 km away
Sedona Real Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
Address: 400 North State Route 89A, Sedona, AZ 86336-4214
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Sedona
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#8 Business Hotel in Sedona
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,842 - ₹ 32,558
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel And Creekside Villas
Best Western Sedona
Sedona Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing