We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful location, Disappointing Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Enchantment Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Enchantment Resort
Ranked #8 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, Disappointing Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

Gorgeous resort in a magically beautiful setting. However, staff leaves much to be desired! The "vortex walk" was such a joke we had to abandon the group. After 45 min the guy leading the walk was still talking about "spaceships" and started leading tai chi on the lawn. What?! We expected a hike. It makes for a funny story but we were also disappointed!

The food is terrible! We went to the best restaurant on site -it was $200 for 3 people. The food was bland, overly salty, gritty (sandy scallops anyone?) and it took over an hour to come out of the kitchen! It was a family member's birthday dinner and it just was awful all around. I had also called ahead of time to line up something "chocolate" for the birthday girl's dessert and was promised it would be taken care of. Guess what our chocolate lover actually got? Flan! And... she hates flan!! Fail Enchantment!! Sushi with hard and dry rice? They have it. Wait staff who don't understand food allergies or know what's on their own menu? They got that too! I do have to say that everyone was quite nice, but just didn't do their jobs effectively.

There are more complaints but overall, let's just say the staff need to spend less time staring at crystals and reading their palms, or whatever those Sedona types do... and more time providing the excellent service they promise. Such a disappointment. This is a 5 star resort and very expensive, and they really REALLY need to raise the bar.

The amazing show of natural beauty and wonderfully upgraded rooms made me give this place more stars.

P.S. There is "free wi-fi" that does not work almost anywhere in the resort. We got locked out of our room several times by a faulty door lock (we got about 10 keys and each time they didn't work!) and... we had to flag down staff in a golf cart since we had no phone service to call the front desk.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RedondoMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine S, Manager at Enchantment Resort, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
We are pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your visit at our resort. On behalf of Enchantment let me say we regret we did not live up to our high standards when providing service to you. We realize you have a choice when booking and mediocre service in not something we take lightly.

Thank you for your patronage and for taking the time to share your experience. It is through guest feedback like this that we hope to continually improve our service levels. If you would like to speak with our General Manager personally regarding your recent stay, I would be happy to assist you with that and I can be reached at cscott@enchantmentresort.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,776
    441
    170
    71
    57
See reviews for
643
1,157
73
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (649)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

We stayed at the Enchantment for two weeks which gave us lots of time to explore every aspect of the resort. I'll try and summarize quickly. The views from the rooms are fantastic whether it is a sunrise, the incredible red rock formations surrounding the resort during the day or the incredibly star filled sky at night. The rooms themselves are large and cosy at the same time, bathrooms spacious and spotless and the housekeeping top notch. They somehow always managed to get into our room without disturbing us no matter how late we slept in or how often we spent most of the day lazing in our room.

The onsite Mii Amo Spa is large, and modern yet still designed in a manner that fits into the surrounding red rocks. The weight room is a good size and well equipped. Locker rooms are luxurious and staff extremely friendly. We treated ourselves to a coulple's massage and facial sessions at the Spa and they were both very pleasant experiences provided by experienced staff.

The Enchantment offers many free activities to guests and we took advantage of several of them. Particularly notable were the water color painting and photograpy seminars. Sessions on native religious beliefs and native flute were also informative. Led by a guide from the Enchantment we also went hiking off-site although there are several hiking trails also available right at the Enchantment which we also availed ourselves of. The only activity that did not turn out so well was a planned star gazing session. Unfortunately because the tennis courts were being resurfaced they moved the session to a different location, something the written materials we were given failed to mention and there was no posting at the tennis court to re-direct us. Net result, a wasted evening. Staying with the theme of printed material they provide a site map which is very useful but be aware it does not show all the ice machines. At least to one nearest us was not on the map, fortunately one of the many helpful employees directed us to an ice machine the front desk was unaware of.

On a long stay you notice other subtle things. The staff in the Che Ah Che restaurant are very very friendly and anxious to help. Unfortunately, many of the junior staff are not fluent in english so while obviously anxious to help, be prepared to get an unexpected result from even the simplest request. Even the more experienced staff seem to pride themselves on not having to write your order down. My advice to them after having repeatedly received orders with minor errors? Get a pad and pencil and write it down please. Also be aware that the chefs consider themselves artistes, even at breakfast time. Watch the menu and read the description of each item carefully and even that may not help. For example they may tell you they intend to put dried fruit into your oatmeal, which you can delete. However, the menu does not mention the oatmeal comes pre-sweetened. Similarly, you can't get a plain waffle at their hight end Sunday brunch, there is cinnamon in it whether you want it or not. That was okay with me, not okay with my spouse. It is hard to get plain food in any of the Enchantment restaurants so you are well advised to ask the meaning of any terms on the menu that you don't understand. We ended up eating our breakfasts at the Enchantment and usually going into Sedona to sample the numerous restaurants available there for lunch or dinner. The drive is only about 15 minutes.

Minor annoyances aside, all in all the Enchantment is a beautiful resort in a great location. Nice Spa, good facilites and fun educational classes for those inclined. Pricey? Yes, but we knew that when we made our reservation.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

We had only one night to spend in Sedona and chose to spend it at the Enchantment Resort in Boynton Canyon. I would highly recommend this resort. The rooms are located in small casita's dotted across the compound. All of the rooms we saw had their own balconies. We splurged and had an entire casita to ourselves with its very own infinity pool and outdoor fireplace looking out over red rock canyon walls and desert forest. Our casita had a great master bedroom, large living room with an indoor firelplace and pullout out couch, two full baths and a eat in kitchen. The accomodations were very nice but for us, it was all about the private pool and outdoor fireplace. If you don't want to spring for the private pool, the resort has two beautiful common pools with fantastic views of the canyon, two excellant restaurants, one with outdoor seating,and a bar and grill with a firepit and more fantastic views. There is a well rated spa, lots of tennis courts and family activities but we preferred to hike the area. The staff was extremely friendly. We could have spent a week here! PS No cellphone service in the canyon but free wifi throughout.

Room Tip: The casitas with the private pool and outdoor fireplace were pricey, but worth it. It would be alot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin_Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
106 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

This is such a wonderfully relaxing environment; perfect to end any vacation in Sedona. The canyon is amazing and energizes you. The spa is so incredibly relaxing and the food at the spa is very fresh (and they cater to gluten free). We ate everywhere but the main pool and enjoyed all the food. They are very adaptable to different dietary requirements, though the spa is most open to being creative. The rooms can be a tad gloomy, so if you are looking for a room with a view, choose carefully as you may need to stretch to see the rocks. We spent most of our time outside on the trails and at the spa.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ms_Demeanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Canaan, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

Recently stayed at Enchantment and visited Mi Amo often during the stay. As many have said here on TripAdvisor, the location/site is indeed breathtaking. As such there is the potential here for having the number 1 resort in the country. But a few areas need improvement before that can happen. My biggest peeve was the main pool area at Enchantment. It is in a beautiful setting, the pool itself is very nice, but it is marred by blasting music that is at times hip hop and rock. The music simply does not match the setting nor the types of people staying at the resort. If the resort is trying to attract teenagers and 20 year olds to hang out at the pool, then it is doing a good job by having this music blare all day. Why not instead just pipe in the relaxing music playing up at Che a Che?
Another thing about the pool at Enchantment is that there is hardly any food/beverage service. For a resort of this caliber, somebody should walk by every so often and ask if one would like a drink or food. This is what is done at the pool at MiAmo (where Justin does a great job by the way). My only problem with the MiAmo pool is that the ground tiles are extremely hot to walk on (why don't they install the same cool tiles as at the main Enchantment pool?) and the crew is very slow to skim the pool water when it is filled with debris.
As to the food overall, some of it was excellent and the rest was very good. The service was very friendly and prompt enough but it needs to be more polished and better trained to get up to Four Seasons standards. For example, when one diner finishes his plate, the server should wait until the other diner finishes as well before picking up any plates.
Final recommendation: have some live music at night until at least 11 pm so that people can congregate and enjoy the beautiful terrace areas after dinner.
Overall, though, this resort is worthy of a visit!

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank dave s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sedona hotels
6.7 km away
Adobe Grand Villas
Adobe Grand Villas
#1 of 48 in Sedona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
7.5 km away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
9.9 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 km away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
6.7 km away
Casa Sedona Inn
Casa Sedona Inn
#3 of 48 in Sedona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
10.0 km away
L'Auberge de Sedona
L'Auberge de Sedona
#5 of 48 in Sedona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Enchantment Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Enchantment Resort

Property: Enchantment Resort
Address: 525 Boynton Canyon Rd., Sedona, AZ 86336-3042
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sedona
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#3 Spa Hotel in Sedona
#5 Family Hotel in Sedona
Price range (per night): ₹ 27,130 - ₹ 55,226
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by stunning views of red rock Boynton Canyon and the Coconino National Forest, Enchantment Resort combines the rugged grandeur of the Southwest landscape with luxurious amenities and Native American culture. All 218 Arizona-style guest rooms, completely renovated, have beehive fireplaces and private patios with views of the towering crimson cliffs. The 70-acre resort offers guests more than 100 activities each week including hiking, mountain biking, tennis,cooking classes, arts and crafts, and Native American programs. Resort guests enjoy exclusive access to Mii amo, a destination spa, consistently ranked among the world's best, and Seven Canyons golf club for 18 holes of golf with stunning views. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Enchantment Hotel Sedona
Enchantment Hotel And Mii Amo
Enchantment Resort And Mii Amo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing