We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Briar Patch Inn more Patchy than expected” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Briar Patch Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sedona
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Briar Patch Inn
Ranked #6 of 29 Sedona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Briar Patch Inn more Patchy than expected”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

We expected quaint but it was more primitive than quaint. The shower was about 3 ft by 3 ft, barely room to turn around, much less bend over. We're over 50 and it was difficult to bend over to wash our feet without bumping a wall or the shower door. As for communications, they didn't mention that although there is Wi-Fi in the lodge, the lodge closed at 8 pm. They also didn't mention that cell phone coverage may not be available. (Verizon worked, AT&T didn't.) Breakfast was mostly cold, health-food type breads (very dry) and muffins with unusual ingredients. The King-size bed was relatively comfortable but sagged towards the middle. However, the property is beautiful, and the creek is lovely and soothing, so if you really want to get away from it all and don't mind the quaint bordering on primitive accomodations, this might be a great place for you. Next time we'll find something with a bigger bathroom, sturdier bed and better communications with the outside world.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Debbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    38
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
82
183
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

We stayed in several cabins for a family reunion and it was a terrific location, just a few miles north of Sedona. The Inn offered a delicious breakfast, friendly and personalized service, unique rustic cabins, a picnic setting by the creek, and resident sheep! This is the place to go for a nice comfortable, relaxing getaway.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 0074travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munster, Indiana
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

Driving south on 89A from Flagstaff, we made a last-minute decision to stay in Sedona. We stopped at what we think is the best ever B & B, The Canyon Wren. They were booked up for the night, but when asked about alternative B & B's, they graciously suggested the Briar Patch Inn. Briar Patch had 2 cabins available, we chose the one furthest from the main office because it had a king-size bed and a fireplace. The room was spacious and included a fireplace, kitchen and bathroom. Unfortunately, the windows and doors leaked the cold night air in. There is an extra portable heater, which you definitely should use. The floor board heaters made a loud, pinging noise each time they turned on all night long. There were plenty of blankets on the bed and the sheets appeared to be brand new. Breakfast is provided as part of the experience there.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mj5598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

If you've never heard of the Briar Patch Inn, then you've really missed a part of the Sedona area that is matchless. With a comfortable range of cozy, beautifully kept bungalows, this B&B is just a couple of miles north of Sedona, nestled above Oak Creek. The charm of the place is more than it's location and amenties. It's the personal touch from each of the staff that offers a restful welcome. From the crackling fire and soothing music welcoming you in the morning with a wholesome and amazing buffet breakfast, to a 'family', eager to make your stay a perfect one, this is a must go place. Don't Miss It!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CraigSHiggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

A great weekend my husband and I had. We discoverd how close it is to every thing and how quiet this bed and breakfest is ! The breakfest was amazing . We enjoyed the creek flowing by the inn. The room we had was perfect for the two of us. we had a fire in the evenings and it was nice and warm. This rustic cabin we had fitted our needs. although that shower we had in the Quail was a bit small. The staff at this place was very friendly and if you had any questions they were there to help! It was the perfect place to sit back and drink tea/coffee by the fire and relax..by the goodies they supplied. Couldn't ask for more !

Room Tip: Look online they tell you what rooms they offer. and how many can sleep in each !
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dlaulainen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sedona hotels
7.3 km away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
3.9 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
4.2 km away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Sedona
2.2 km away
Oak Creek Terrace Resort
7.6 km away
Junipine Resort
Junipine Resort
#4 of 48 in Sedona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Briar Patch Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briar Patch Inn

Property: Briar Patch Inn
Address: 3190 N State Route 89a, Sedona, AZ 86336-9630
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Sedona
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,416 - ₹ 25,851
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful 9 acres along the lush banks of Oak Creek. Nineteen individual cabins, kitchens, fireplaces, private patios, and free breakfast included. Creekside massage is available in our open air gazebo. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Briar Patch Hotel Sedona
Briar Patch Inn Sedona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing