We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre, but good nopal”
Review of Oaxaca Restaurant

Oaxaca Restaurant
Ranked #92 of 212 Restaurants in Sedona
Price range: US$ 10 - US$ 20
Cuisines: Southwestern, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: With breath-taking scenery and beautiful views from our rooftop cantina, Oaxaca has earned it's title Local Secret/Big Find by Travelocity. This old world style Mexican restaurant located in Uptown Sedona offers casual family dining with an extensive menu Traditional and Modern Mexican flavors with a taste for everyone!
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Not even quite an average Mexican restaurant. The food quality was uneven and generally poor, and the prices, as is typical in Sedona, were ridiculously high for the food served. The only bright spot was the grilled nopal. It wasn't perfect, a bit sticky, but it was well cooked with a great sauce.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SoBeRetired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlaB4453, Owner at Oaxaca Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Our Cactus is a favorite at Oaxaca! We serve it with our housemade Romesco sauce, and yes...the cactus is a bit sticky when you cut into it as this is the nature of the plant. If you had informed your wait person that you did not care for your food, we would have suggested a replacement for you to enjoy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 1,209 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2018

Liked this restaurant. Waitress was very nice and informative on our menu questions. Had fajitas and a margarita.
Food was good for the price.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AlmostThere2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlaB4453, Owner at Oaxaca Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

You picked our favorite dinner entrée item. Our Fajitas are always a big hit as well as our Margaritas! Thanks for your great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2018

We ate at this restaurant. It seems the prices are higher each visit but the food is less tasty. My burro was cold and my wife's black bean soup was bland.

There are other places in Sedona that offer a better value for your money.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ats6902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlaB4453, Owner at Oaxaca Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Sorry you did not enjoy our restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2018 via mobile

We just happened upon this hidden gem and were pleasantly surprised to find authentic Mexican food! The quality of the food was excellent and the service was superb.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank nancyw598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlaB4453, Owner at Oaxaca Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Wow...thanks for the stellar review and so glad you enjoyed our food and service! We strive to provide this for all of our guests. Glad you found us!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2018

I travel with my 10 lb service dog. He has a vest and is always on a leash or in my arms. I was NOT allowed to sit on the outdoor patio with him. I was told that I could only dine inside. I came to this restaurant because of the outdoor dining rooftop and the beautiful red rock views. I ended up leaving ...not wanting to deal with discrimination. The manager greeted me with a demand , in the entryway while I was sitting on the entry bench, "Do Not let the dog on the bench! " I was quite surprised to not even have a "Hello" Then the hostess proceeded to take me into the back of the restaurant and when I asked to sit outside on the rooftop deck, was told that the dog could be allergic to other guests?? My dog is a hypoallergenic, Maltese, Service Dog with Certification. I simply left as I did not want to lose my appetite with any discourse. As a person with a disability, I felt discriminated against and demeaned. The ignorance and rudeness of this establishment is unacceptable.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Curious457037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlaB4453, Owner at Oaxaca Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2018

We require that service dogs are on the floor according to policy from the department of health and not on our guests laps or on the furniture. We did offer you a very nice table in our dog lounge but you decided not to stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Oaxaca Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing