We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“PICTURES ARE DECEIVING....” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Orchards Inn of Sedona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
Ranked #16 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
716 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
“PICTURES ARE DECEIVING....”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

I just don't get the hype with this place. Major disappointment set in as soon as I walked in the room.. Aside from the very nice views, the room offered little in the way of comfort. Especially, the type of guest comfort one might expect for $230 per night.

A 1" gap in the front door necessitating jamming a wash cloth in the door so as not to hear all the outside noise.

Pillows hard as rocks. Several complaints about this already posted. I opted for the small green throw pillow from the sofa. Made for a miserable nights sleep.

Fan in the bathroom so loud it sounded like it was about to come apart.

Walls so thin I could hear ALL the business of my neighbor.

Paint peeling off the metal rail on the balcony. Paint peeling off the wood in the same area. Filthy, worn floor on the deck. The property in need of attention.

Major hassle finding a parking place when we arrived back to hotel later in the evening - even with a parking pass. You may find yourself having to park a block or two away if on a busy weekend.

The breakfast buffet...what a joke! Not only unsightly and dirty but appeared to violate several health code issues. One of the staff attending to the buffet was eating off the buffet as she cleaned. No gloves worn by any of the staff handling food or drinks. Dirty soiled rags seen placed on clean utensils to be used by guests. Most of the tables sat littered with dirty dishes during our entire visit for breakfast - 30 min. The restaurant isn't even on the property. It's about a block away. Orchards Inn owns the restaurant - Canyon Breeze.

It was at this point, I decided to checkout 2 days early and find another hotel. I had read Orchards Inn had been renovated. Not sure what was renovated or how bad it was but a total renovation is certainly not apparent. Other than the seriously deficient buffet I probably wouldn't be making such an issue if the room was considerably less than it was. I know that prices are market driven. If they can get $230 per night, more power to them. It won't be from me though.

The Orchard Inn has a nice location, suburb views and a friendly, professional staff. Sometimes though, that's not enough. Especially for the price. It seems the management at Orchards Inn might benefit from a bit of direction from their sister property, L'Auberge. ..... by far, the classiest place in Sedona.

Room Tip: All rooms have very nice views of the Red Rocks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    696
    571
    135
    42
    25
See reviews for
400
687
69
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

I stayed here a few weeks ago while on vacation in Sedona and it was excellent! Everything was of great quality and the inn is located in a great location so all the touristy things in the city are within walking distance. My room was on the 3rd floor and the view was amazing, especially at sunrise and sunset. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

I am using the hotel's complimentary WiFi to write this review. The WiFi is the only thing that works here. Motels even have WiFi which brings me to the next point; This is not an inn, it's a motel. You'd have a more enjoyable stay at the Super 8 motel. This morning, I woke up naturally, to the sunrise, at 6:45ish. The rays of sunlight coming through the windows and then through the blinds was really a horrible start to my day. I also woke up to the sounds of waterfalls. The neighbors were using their shower. The water rushing through the pipes was beyond loud and irritating, and the walls are probably and 1.5 inches thin. No wonder we could hear the neighbors slamming their sliding door. I have a very bad pain in my back, because I just slept on springs with some sheets over them. (That's an exaggeration, but the mattress and pillows are very uncomfortable.I noticed that in a previous review, someone mention a flat screen tv. Yes they have one in each room, but it's pointless if the image is fuzzy and grainy. They guarantee every room to have a beautiful view, but there are other hotels that we've seen with balconies over looking the red rocks that are probably cheaper and definitely higher quality. Also, if you stay on the first floor, which is the cheapest, you share a padio with the other first floor guests. We feel like it's a lot less private than it should be.

There are a couple perks, though.
The staff are very nice.
They have a fridge full of free water bottles in the lobby.
Their location is good. It's right in the middle of everything.

So please, do yourself a favor, and find somewhere else to stay in Sedona.

Austin

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Qwertyuiop98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galena, Ohio
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We picked this hotel after reading reviews on Trip Advisor and it was perfect. The location is right downtown so we would walk to everything and the hot, buffet breakfast that was included with our room made this very economical for our family of 4. Best of all - we wanted a view and we got it! Like the other reviews say, we opted for the 3rd floor and our view was amazing! I will ALWAYS stay at this hotel when visiting Sedona!

Room Tip: Pay the small extra fee for a 3rd floor room - you will love the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NE US
Level Contributor
550 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

We stayed 4 nights in early March on a buy 3 get 4 package. Our 4-night stay was cheaper than 1 night in a well-reviewed hotel that sits on the river below the Orchards Motel. The staff was super friendly. The location right in downtown Sedona cannot be beat; easy to walk to shops and restaurants. The room was perfectly fine. The bathroom was small and a bit dated, but for the price one can’t complain. We had a small balcony (but big enough for a table and 2 chairs) with stupendous reviews of the red rocks. The rate included breakfast, but we followed the advice of other Tripadvisor reports and ate in the Wildflower Bakery and loved it. The wireless internet was a tad slow at the Orchards. The staff admitted there were some problems with Apple devices, but the view and great price over rode those concerns (1 afternoon we used the wifi at the Wildflower Bakery while we had coffee).
We would gladly stay here again. Ask for a room on the 3rd floor.

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sedona hotels
3.6 km away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
0.3 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
4.8 km away
Adobe Grand Villas
Adobe Grand Villas
#1 of 48 in Sedona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Sedona
1.4 km away
Arabella Hotel Sedona
Arabella Hotel Sedona
#18 of 48 in Sedona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
4.8 km away
Casa Sedona Inn
Casa Sedona Inn
#3 of 48 in Sedona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchards Inn of Sedona? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchards Inn of Sedona

Property: The Orchards Inn of Sedona
Address: 254 N Highway 89A, Sedona, AZ 86336
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Sedona
#14 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#19 Family Hotel in Sedona
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,039 - ₹ 29,884
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Orchards Inn of Sedona 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named the #1 Hotel in Arizona by Expedia Select for 2011, Orchards Inn has earned a loyal following of return guests who love the hotel's central location in uptown Sedona, spacious accommodations, affordable rates, breakfast packages available, friendly service, and above all else, MAGNIFICENT VIEWS! We know our brand new room design will quickly become one more reason to welcome you back. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Orchards Inn of Sedona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Orchards Inn Of Sedona Hotel Sedona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing