We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely property in need of an upgrade”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
Ranked #21 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2012

The Phoenician is an absolutely beautiful property with immaculately landscaped grounds and flower beds. It is truely stunning. So are the room prices for what is provided. This was my 3rd stay in one of the apparently regular rooms. There is absolutely nothing in these rooms to justify these prices and I believe every one of our group of about 14 conference attendees felt that same. The carpet looks spotted and dirty, the deck furniture needs cleaning as it is stained-table and one lounge chair. The very large bathroom had a bathroom scale with the top peeling off of it. Yech. The free internet access was difficult to log on to and you had to do it multiple times per day. I have never seen a set up as cumbersome anywhere and I travel alot.

On the plus side, the service was almost impeccable- from arrival, the bell desk, check in, the daily staff, room service, pool attendants, lounge, restaurant, etc. I did have one interaction with a front desk person who was slightly less helpful then almost anyone else but still nearly perfect overall. They are true professionals.

Room Tip: If you want sun, make sure you ask to not be on the back side facing the cactus garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gfdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhoenicianManager, Front Office Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We have shared your concerns with the appropriate department leaders to ensure that our AAA Five Diamond standards are met. I am pleased to report that hallway carpeting is currently being replaced, with additional enhancements to the guestrooms scheduled in the near future. Upgrades to our Internet system are also planned to be completed by the fall. We are delighted to hear that the service you experienced was indicative of our luxury criterion. We hope you will visit us again to enjoy the many upgrades to come!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,542 - 1,546 of 2,175 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2012

This resort was built by the most famous S & L baron in the last great real estate meltdown in the late 1980s. At that time, The Phoenician was considered to be the height of excess and symbolic of the era. Stay at The Phoenician and you will know why.

This is an outstanding resort in a beautiful setting at the base of Camelback Mountain. Its campus like grounds make you feel like you are in an oasis in the middle of the desert, but, in reality, you are smack in the middle of wonderful Scottsdale, Arizona. This resort is close to everything, mere minutes to the airport, downtown Phoenix, and downtown Scottsdale.

It is 1st class all the way...27 holes of golf, deluxe spa, pools galore, and premium dining. The rooms are spacious and super comfortable. The service is friendly and non-stop.

I recommend a casita room.

The only downside...everything on property is expensive...it is easy to spend money. However, for a 5-Star resort, this is not unique.

Enjoy!

Room Tip: Use your SPG points and upgrade to a casita with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ralph D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We are delighted that you found our AAA Five Diamond resort, its Sonoran surroundings, central location and signature amenities to be to your liking. Casita rooms are indeed special, as they provide a more residential feel with walk-up access in close proximity to the pools and lawns. Spaciousness at the 250-acre Phoenician is found throughout the property, including our guestrooms, which start at 600 square feet. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

The Phoenician Resort is beautiful and we enjoyed every moment of our stay there. The rooms were nice and the grounds were immaculate with flowers and cactus. We requested an early arrival and they were ready for us when we got there which was very nice. We rented a pool cabana the first day and the service there (Rich) was fantastic. The weather was beautiful and the pools were the perfect temperature.

We had the help of Gary the concierge helped us plan our trip and we followed all of his suggestions and recommendations. Dinner our first night was at Roku Akor a Japanese restaurant outside of the resort. The food was unique and excellent and our service was great.

The second night we ate at the J&G steakhouse on the property. Unfortunately, we did not enjoy our meal there quite as much. The atmosphere was fantastic and the view was beautiful. The have a very expansive wine list and the service was excellent. However, my husbands Prime Ribeye was not up to par. There was a lot of gristle and my husband had to keep spitting out his bites. It was not fun to watch. :)

We ate breakfast each day at the buffet on the resort and the food and service there were fantastic.

Overall - we enjoyed our stay. We wish we had stayed longer so we could enjoy the golf course and spa. Maybe next time!

Thank Jessica J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Our family just returned from 5 nights at the Phoenician. Our stay there was perfect. This is truly one of the most beautiful resorts I have ever seen. The grounds are maintained to perfection. The pools are expansive and set up very nicely. The pool staff was wonderful. They set our chairs up and brought fresh water throughout the day. Someone was always available. The service at the Phoenician was excellent from check in to check out. We encountered many employees during our stay and we were blown away that we were greeted by each and every one. I have never experienced such genuine warmth at any resort in the past. While the food on property is a little on the high side you will not be disappointed in the quality. The rooms are very roomy, bathrooms great and we loved the over sized balconies. We had a pool view room which I highly recommend. We can't wait to return and I know we will never stay anywhere other than the Phoenician.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms have a nice view and location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seashelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2012

Thank you for sharing your Phoenician experience! We are pleased to learn that our service culture, owned by each and every associate, was exemplified throughout your stay. We eagerly await your family's return, and look forward to designing another personalized, memorable vacation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Our family stayed 6 nights for Spring Break. The Phoenician is one of the nicest resorts that I have stayed at. The setting is beautiful. It is at the base of Camelback Mountain so you have an up close view of the mountain. There is a cactus garden path that is an attraction in itself. My 8 year old loved learning the names of the different desert plants. My only problem with this resort was paying the extremely high prices for food at the restaurants but we were on vacation so I did not worry. It is a huge resort so be prepared to walk! Very well kept and luxurious!

Room Tip: If you want a view of the mountain ask for a Casita-but hike to main lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scottsdale
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Camelback East
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
#1 of 5 in Paradise Valley
1,748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenician, Scottsdale? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenician, Scottsdale

Address: 6000 East Camelback Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-1949
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#10 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#11 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#13 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#14 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range: ₹ 23,285 - ₹ 46,049 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenician, Scottsdale 5*
Number of rooms: 647
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenician is a luxury resort in Scottsdale, Arizona, situated on 250 acres at the base of Camelback Mountain. From May through September 2017, The Phoenician will be undergoing extensive enhancements to its signature public areas. During this time, the main lobby, front desk, pool complex, spa and select dining venues will be closed. These services and amenities will be available at alternate locations on the resort grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your The Phoenician, Scottsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Phoenician, Scottsdale Hotel Scottsdale
Phoenician Hotel Scottsdale
The Phoenician Hotel Scottsdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing