We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well-loved and wonderful place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of SmokeTree Resort & Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
SmokeTree Resort & Bungalows
Ranked #63 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Flagstaff AZ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Well-loved and wonderful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Chose Smoketree for four nights because $88/night was saner than $329/night for the Hilton one block away, where the conference I was attending was scheduled. Family-owned since 1960 and clearly run with love. Small pool, Bocci-ball court, lawns, laundry microwave, fridge and rooms all clean and in working order. Quail and Hummingbirds greeted me every day, as did the super-friendly and helpful staff. Attached restaurant unfortunately out of business, but was within walking distance to 3-4 other bars/eateries as well as a small supermarket and drug store. Facilities built in the 50’s-60’s with nice solid brick walls and obviously maintained very well. Convenient to Loop 101 and Old-Town Scottsdale. Many different sized rooms (incl 2-bedroom) available.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank F B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    33
    13
    7
    3
See reviews for
15
53
18
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Upon arrival to the property we did notice the large vacant restaurant that put off some of the other reviewers, the exterior is well light, as is the parking lot. The office to check in is located to the west side of this building (right side as you face the property). We were greeted immediately, checked in and escorted to our room. We stayed in a King suite (2 separate rooms), the unit was clean as were the bed linens and towels. There was ample hot water for bathing. The A/C unit worked very well. The mattress was firm and not lumpy. This is an older, but well maintained property, the exterior walls are of brick which allows for a very quiet stay. The WiFi was a nice touch, we had 2 bars of signal and were able to check e-mails, watch videos without trouble, gaming might be an issue for persons who participate. The grounds are well kept and lend the feeling of being out of the city. This location is close to fine dining, casual dining, amazing pizza, upscale grocery stores, and shopping, all with in walking distance. I would stay here again and recommend to a family member or friend.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

This was my first trip to Phoenix and frankly wasn't all that excited. We choose this place because it was significantly cheaper than the big resorts down the street and the suites are good for families. When I pulled up to this place I was so worried; the front does look abandoned and gross. When we pulled around back to the room I breathed a sign of relief. We were in a two bedroom suite (3 queen beds) with one bathroom, a kitchen and large living room. It was a great size for three of us.

Out the back door we had a large patio area with chairs and plenty of shade (a commodity in Phoenix). We were right next to the pool which is tiny but since there wasn't really anyone around worked just fine. The pool area has both natural shade and sun with green grass everywhere (see the pics). I also really liked that they had a bocce ball court.

This place is so quiet so if you are looking for a busy pool scene or restaurants, it isn't for you. If you want a quiet retreat its very nice. As someone else said, the AJs market next door is awesome and a great place to get supplies if you plan on eating in the suite rather than going out.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gopher2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menlo Park, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

I stayed at the Smoke Tree many times in their suite called "Rancho Raymundo" and must say you'll likely never find anything like it. It's not so much the fantastic Scottsdale location, quiet seclusion or the mature, desert oasis, but more so the people who have run it for nearly half a century. When I stayed there, it was operated by Curtis and Melinda, but now it's run by their children, Colin and Eric and family. What an amazing capacity to serve with genuine smiles and big hearts. I cannot say thanks enough for making my stay, well . . . personally historic! Smoke Tree, you have my undying gratitude. Try to match that Hyatt, Marriott and the rest. Try to match THAT. . .

Room Tip: Ask for "Rancho Raymundo" if it is still available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fair Oaks CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

The Smoke Tree Resort is a great find. The front is deceiving but don't let that stop you. Behind it is a little oasis. Rooms are clean and equipped. Everyone was so nice and helpful. Don't hesitate to ask-they'll get you what you need. AJ's grocery store is great-it is located right by the resort. I would highly recommend this place. Sue & Tennis from California

Room Tip: Tell them what you need and they'll accomodate you
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
0.6 km away
Residence Inn Scottsdale Paradise Valley
2.2 km away
The Scottsdale Inn
The Scottsdale Inn
#43 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
7.5 km away
3 Palms Hotel
3 Palms Hotel
#33 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sundial
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sundial
#40 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
0.5 km away
Hilton Scottsdale Resort & Villas
1.7 km away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Paradise Valley - Scottsdale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SmokeTree Resort & Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SmokeTree Resort & Bungalows

Property: SmokeTree Resort & Bungalows
Address: 7101 E Lincoln Dr, Scottsdale, AZ 85253-4417
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#42 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,218 - ₹ 19,374
Hotel Class:3 star — SmokeTree Resort & Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Smoke Tree Resort & Bungalows is a true desert oasis. Five lush acres are home to 26 recently remodeled suites and bungalows. These individual private retreats offer luxury accommodations with all the modern amenities. Enjoy a workout or relax poolside in the manicured gardens. The expert staff arrange everything from golf and tennis to hiking or massage. World-class shopping and dining is just steps away. Life is too short to sleep in chain hotels! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your SmokeTree Resort & Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smoketree Resort & Bungalows Hotel Scottsdale
Smoketree Resort And Bungalows
Smoke Tree Hotel
Smoke Tree Scottsdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing