We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Resort: Uninviting Staff” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch
Ranked #9 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful Resort: Uninviting Staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

The Hyatt Gainey Ranch is one of the more beautiful resorts in the valley. Unfortunately, its current ability to properly welcome visitors leaves much to be desired.
I had stayed several times at this property, and so knew where to park. We left our luggage in the car, on the off chance that our room would not be ready at 1PM. My wife and I walked up to the front door, excited, well dressed and smiling, and did not even receive a "Good Afternoon" or "Hello" from the bell men in front. Then when the first door would not open for us, they acted as if they did not see us, to show the way in! They offered no welcome, no guidance to the front desk, not even an acknowledgement of our presence!
Undaunted, we approached the front desk. I cheerfully explained that though I was traveling on business, my wife was with me, and she would appreciate a nice room. We were told no room was currently ready, but that for an extra $100 we could have an upgraded room right away. Politely declining, we strolled the property for an hour. At 2:15 Our "nice" room was shown to my wife: commanding a view of a huge roof and the parking lot!
Still using every ounce of pleasantness we requested a better room. Jen told us that "our rate" (booked for 50 people at a prestigious conference at the hotel) did not allow a better room. "Ya know what I mean?" repeated several times was her way of telling my wife to take it or leave it. Politely resisting, we were told that "maybe in 2 hours" something would be available. The hotel was not full, nor was the very nice room we were finally shown at 5:15 in a wing where any house maids were working. (ie. it appeared to have been available all the time.)
Fortunately, the pool staff and the cleaning staff were much kinder than the "professional staff" in the front of the hotel. So too did the weather cooperate, as my wife enjoyed a beautiful day and a half at the pool.

Room Tip: Good Luck: Bring an extra $100 or lots of patience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Speaker76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GDPScottsdale, Manager at Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review. We will address your comments promptly and hope you will visit us again for a more typical experience with our helpful staff. We’re pleased your wife enjoyed our amenities during your business trip and hope she got a chance to enjoy some of the nightly live music, too! We hope to see you again during your next trip to Arizona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,538
    649
    199
    106
    51
See reviews for
769
665
103
630
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
289 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

Loved the experience at this Hyatt. Beautiful campus. The Spa was especially nice which I participated at every day. The entertainment was worthwhile. Rooms were clean and large. Missed a turndown service. The concierges were very helpful. The index cards were a good touch

Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bjthaler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GDPScottsdale, Manager at Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa. We appreciate your positive review of our resort and are glad you enjoyed Spa Avania. We will look forward to seeing you again during your next trip to Arizona!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

We stayed here on a last minute trip over Labor Day 2010. Our kids (ages 3 and 5 at the time) loved the pool, sand, and slide. From our room to the pool servers we felt pampered the entire time. My husband golfed one morning, while I went to the spa. They had a deal for the kids care through the spa. The spa is a must, so peaceful.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nettelovessun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BDL
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

Just returned from my second stay, and it was grrrrreat. As everyone says, its beautiful. We already booked another trip here in 2 months and can't wait. Last time I didn't check out the spa, which I did this time, and it was fantastic. The staff was pleasant (although the girls at the front desk did finish their non-work related conversation before greeting us), and the facility was spotless and relaxing.

Just like when you watch a movie for the second time, you see some things that you missed the first time. The things I noticed this time that didn't stand out as much before were:
1. Kids/Sand pool and especially the spa seemed dirty every day and I never saw anyone cleaning it
2. Pool servers were very slow. I think there was only 1 each day, but he didn't come around enough considering how few patrons there were.
3. No bottled water in the Regency Club???
4. Need better shades on the bedroom windows in the Casitas. The faux wood blinds don't block out nearly enough light. Drapes in addition to these would be nice.

Other than these minor issues, which will hopefully be addressed promptly, its a hard place to beat.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cxw44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GDPScottsdale, Manager at Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Thank you for being loyal to our resort during your visits to Scottsdale! We appreciate your comments and feedback. The Regency Club provides bottled water upon request, which is part of our commitment to reducing our footprint on the environment. We will review or staffing to ensure our poolside guests receive prompt service and hope you weren't caused any inconvenience. Thank you again for choosing Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pardeeville, Wisconsin, USA
Level Contributor
133 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

Everything you would expect and then some from a Hyatt. The setting was absolutely beautiful. Each evening we walked around the myriad of pools and fire pits. They burned juniper wood, and it smelled wonderful. There was outside entertainment each evening, and although we were there in February, it was a bit cool. They had outdoor heaters all over to keep everyone pleasantly warm. The room was very nice overlooking the lake.

Room Tip: We liked overlooking the lake. Had a little balcony to sit on too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chedanemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GDPScottsdale, Manager at Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Thank you for staying with us, we're very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay! We're glad our outdoor heaters kept you comfortable and hope to see you again during your next trip to Arizona!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Gainey Suites Hotel
#5 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
Hotel Valley Ho
#6 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
#17 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,103 reviews
Paradise Valley
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch

Property: Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch
Address: 7500 E Doubletree Ranch Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85258-2044
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#5 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#5 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#6 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#7 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,887 - ₹ 46,050
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch 4.5*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst flowering cactus, breathtaking sunsets and framed against the majestic McDowell Mountains, Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa features a 2 1/2-acre "water playground", 27 holes of championship golf, world-class tennis, Spa, the Native American Learning and Environmental Center, an international art collection and four distinctively different restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort And Spa At Gainey Ranch Hotel Scottsdale
Gainey Ranch
Hyatt Gainey Ranch Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing