We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the Valley Ho” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Valley Ho

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Valley Ho
Ranked #6 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, UK
Level Contributor
186 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Loved the Valley Ho”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

It's hard to know what to add to the list of great reviews here, as most of the obvious stuff has been said already. I loved the quirky 1950's style of the entire hotel and it was nice to see it continued in the rooms, every inch of which had clearly been carefully designed. I had a Tower King, on the 6th floor, with a great view over the pool, and it was light, airy and had a very spacious feel. The bathroom was particularly deluxe, with a huge soaking tub, and lovely soap which perfumed the room. If you like modern design, I think these rooms are some of the best in Scottsdale. I only have two tiny issues - to switch off the bedside reading lights, you need to get out of bed, which is annoying. And I could have done with a make-up mirror in the bathroom - the countertop made it hard to get close enough to the mirror to apply make up properly. Apart from these 2 minor issues, everything about my stay was perfect and I'd definitely return. Just take care if you're planning a weekend stay and want to relax by the pool - the Ho attracts a young, hip crowd, so the atmosphere is definitely pool party rather than relaxing family break.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UKLizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
I'm glad you liked the style of the hotel! I also love the view from the Tower rooms. The hotel is lively in the summertime with live music at the pool, but is quieter on weekdays. You can see our full schedule at ohpool.com, so check there if you plan a return visit! Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    995
    403
    82
    34
    27
See reviews for
177
480
90
459
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

This hotel is a great example of old hotel made new.

GOOD: The room was a page straight from Dwell or something Jeff Lewis would have designed. Everything was beautiful and immaculate. The soaps/bath products (and yes, you know this matters... ) were fabulous, something I would buy.. and they didn't skimp on giving it to you.

NOT-SO-GOOD: The yokels yakking it up around the hot tub (until 11pm/week night) created an impossible environment for sleeping. I did complain, and was given a room away from the hot tub.. the noise was better.. but the moving of rooms was a pain in the buns.. as I had to pack up and move without the physical assitance of hotel staff. I would hope that these yokels were not the typical type of guests (uncouth, no manners or respect). Perhaps Scottsdale attracts these types..
As another reader mentions, the signage is not so easy to find your way around... especially if you're tired, been travelling all day, and just want to rest and enjoy the fabulous room... so you could be wandering for a while (ASK FOR HELP!). Another downside, price to valet park seemed exorbitant.. especially since you could park for free in the side parking lot. The room was not cheap, so honestly I think paying for valet is a bit of a rip off.

OVERALL: I would stay again. The good outweighs the bad, by far. The hotel is great. Everything is a design lovers dream. The bar and restaurant were also excellent. Business travellers take note - specifiy in advance if you're there to Par-Tay or Sleep.

Room Tip: Just depends on what you are there for. If you actually want to sleep.. might be best to avoid rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank k111x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
I’m pleased you enjoyed the mid-century modern style of the hotel! I also love the smell of our Red Flower products. They actually made the Icelandic Moonflower scent just for us. I apologize for the noise at the hot tub; that does not represent a typical experience at the hotel. The hotel is on seven acres. While we do have signage around the property, we try to help guests find their way around at check-in. Our front desk team shows where to find your guest room on a map and provides that map to each room checking in. Hopefully that was of some help to you. The fee for valet parking covers the garage that provides secure, underground parking. While it is normal for hotels to charge for valet, we do offer complimentary parking in two lots, which all guests are welcome to use. We appreciate your comments, and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

If you like old remade 1950's hotels, this is the place for you. The furniture is hard and uncomfortable. The beds and sheets are old and dowdy. There are plenty of other beautiful hotels in Scottsdale, this is one of last resort (no pun intended). I had my dog with me and had to stay here because they took dogs. They only have valet parking which adds another $25 plus tips every day to your bill, plus waiting around for your car each time you want to go somewhere. The Valley Ho is located on a dead end with nothing around it, its a really bad location. The pool is old and funky. The staff consists of a bunch of young college kids who don't have a clue about service ( or logic). I wouldn't stay here again. A friend warned me how bad the hotel was, I should have listened.

Room Tip: Don't bother staying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mastermisty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Mastermisty,

While we appreciate your comments, we would like to ensure that the public reading your review are given all the facts. Yes, the hotel was originally constructed in 1956, but was completely rehabilitated and reopened in late 2005. This was in place of destroying a historically significant post-modern building and filling a landfill with debris. We are not sure from your comments which furniture you are referencing as hard and uncomfortable, but we replaced our lobby, lounge, and restaurant furnishings within the last year and also had all guestrooms re-carpeted and pool furnishing recovered. The bed linens are Sobel-Westex linens with a 300-thread count and are replaced at the first sign of wear, and the beds are Simmons Westbury — made here in Phoenix. We typically receive high marks on both our bed and bedding comfort; we apologize you didn’t have a similar experience.

We do accept small pets without any additional fees or deposits. he hotel offers both valet and self parking in multiple locations. Self parking is 100% complimentary with three available areas on-site, and valet parking is in a security-monitored, underground facility, at a cost of $14 per day, not $25. Also, tipping is not necessary as the staff are compensated through the nightly valet fee, but tips are always appreciated for prompt and thorough service.

We are confused by your location comments as Hotel Valley Ho is located at the west end of Main Street in Downtown Scottsdale, one of the most populated thoroughfares running east and west in the area. In addition to our two dining outlets on-site and 24-hour room service, we offer the following attractions/businesses within one (1) mile: Fashion Square Mall – the Southwest’s largest indoor mall (0.9 miles), The Tortilla Factory (0.1 mile), Grazie (0.1 mile), Malee’s Thai Bistro (0.2 miles), Mable’s on Main (0.2 miles), Eddy’s House (0.2 miles), SMOCA – Scottsdale Museum of Contemporary Art (0.5 miles), Scottsdale Center for Performing Arts (0.5 miles), Robert Black Fashions (0.4 miles), Coach House Bar (0.2 miles), Frank & Lupe’s (0.3 miles), RnR Restaurant (0.3 miles), and many more, plus approximately 30+ art galleries within a mile.

The OH Pool has been named one of the “World’s Coolest Pools” by Travel + Leisure, “Best Party Resort Pool” by Arizona Foothills Magazine, and “Best Cabana” by The Arizona Republic. We pride our property and its entire team on running a great business operation. We sincerely apologize that is did not meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

We stayed here on a recent visit to Scottsdale and loved it! The hotel has been beautifully restored to the 50's and 60's era that it was originally built in with a cool hip feel. The rooms are spacious, the grounds immaculate, the bar and pool area fantastic. Within walking distance to Old Scottsdale, you can enjoy the shops and restaurants in addition to the fine art galleries.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RandJ_Alexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Thank you for your comments! I'm pleased to hear that you had such a pleasant stay. I also like all there is to see in Old Town Scottsdale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

OMG! I was in Scottsdale back in December and had a great time here at the "Ho!"

The rooms are beautifully decorated and the photos posted here do not do this hotel justice. Can I get the phone number of your designer??? I'm gonna attach 30 or so photos that I took during my trip.

Bell staff, front desk, concierge, bartenders, servers, room service, maids, etc.... All TOP Notch! All employees seemed to LOVE to work there!

Unfortunately, the December weather was awful when I was there so I didn't get a chance to hit the pool. So... I am returning in the beginning of June and can't wait to see the scene!

Yes, it is a party hotel... And on the weekends, there will be people coming and going all through the night. Lots of bachelorette parties, fun couples, fun singles. I'm sure that the pool is off the chain during the weekends. Can I get a comped cabana for my 5 star review??? ;)

It's a nice stroll to downtown. However, there are plenty of towncar services that you can hire for those whom don't like to walk anywhere. There is a huge Circle K across the street where you can get wine, beer, liquor, snacks, movies, etc....

Room service is the best I've ever experienced!

Beds are comfy, the bath is sexy and the mini bar has everything you want!

Be sure to walk the grounds and check out the rooftop area.

See you guys soon!

Room Tip: I stayed in a room that had a patio that overlooked the pool. I'll certainly book the same room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loverguy096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
I'm glad you like the style of the hotel! The interior of the Tower was done by Cathy Hayes, while the interior of the original areas of the hotel was done by Cole Martinez Curtis. Sorry you weren't able to enjoy the pool due to the weather; there are a lot of days in December that get up to the high 60s and 70s, with lots of sun. Thank you for your review! Happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
8.0 km away
Gainey Suites Hotel
Gainey Suites Hotel
#5 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
2.3 km away
The Canyon Suites at The Phoenician
1.1 km away
Hyatt Place Scottsdale/Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
The Scott Resort & Spa
The Scott Resort & Spa
#28 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
8.3 km away
Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch
17.0 km away
Fairmont Scottsdale Princess
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Valley Ho? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valley Ho

Property: Hotel Valley Ho
Address: 6850 E Main St, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-4399
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#4 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#4 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#10 Green Hotel in Scottsdale
#12 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#12 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,785 - ₹ 49,889
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Valley Ho 4*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Valley Ho is a true icon in Downtown Scottsdale. Originally opened in 1956 and restored to its former splendor, this urban retreat blends mid-century-modern style with contemporary amenities. Every room has a private patio or balcony and floor-to-ceiling glass, perfect for enjoying Arizona's sunshine. Dine at ZuZu, relax at VH Spa for Vitality + Health, and take a dip in two cool pools. Self-parking and basic internet are complimentary, and you'll never pay a resort fee. Call the hotel directly to get the best deal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Valley Ho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valley Ho Hotel
Valley Ho Scottsdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing