We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Grounds - Close to Old Town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Paradise Valley - Scottsdale
Ranked #29 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Great location right on Scottsdale Road - a little north of Old Town. We had a car which made travel to and from town very easy. The lobby area is large and this is clearly a conference hotel. (We attended a conference here.) The gift shop had a lot of sweatshirts and bags in addition to the standard magazines, toiletries and snacks - and a very friendly clerk.

The grounds were extensive and quite lovely. Two swimming pools and lots of green park like spaces with grass. The rooms all had balconies overlooking the parks, the swimming pools and a few unfortunate rooms may have faced the parking lot.

The hotel is only 2 stories high and there is parking on all 4 sides which means that you can park near your room. It can be a little confusing with the twists and turns of the property and room numbering, but we got the hang of it after the first day.

The room itself was large with nice amenties like toiletries from England, a safe, wine glasses and a sink in the bedroom over the minibar. Although the room had been renovated and had fairly new furniture with 2 cool chairs, it was a clearly an older property that wouldn't compare with a lot of the grand hotels in the area.

The front desk at night was staffed by college students who didn't know much about the area restaurants. They were friendly and gave us a list of written recommendations that had been prepared, but weren't familiar with any of them.

Some of our fellow conference attendees spent a lot of time at the lobby bar and loved the bartenders.

We've traveled a lot and while we wouldn't have picked this property, it was perfectly fine for a short stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baileyfirestone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doubletree1, General Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Paradise Valley - Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2012

Thank you (and your group) for being with us and for this favorable review. It sounds like you were able to see alot of our resort and the nearby area while you were here and had a very good time. We do hope that you will return again to our area and when you do that you will come back to our property once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,033)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,649 - 1,653 of 2,033 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2012

Good Afternoon. I simply called the Doubletree directly to ask how far the resort is from Old Town Scottsdale. To be specific, I called 2/17 at 7:25 EST. The lady who answered the phone did not state her name, but took a huge sigh and answered YES...to my question and acted very annoyed that I even called. I then asked if the Doubletree provided a shuttle an again the annoyed YES. When I said thank you, there was no "your welcome" response back...she just quickly hung up.

I was just about to book this hotel; however, after this horribly rude service over a simple question, I will go ahead and book elsewhere. Come on Doubletree---please teach your receptionists/front desk clerks some customer service and class. I am so disappointed & by reading the reviews, it just doesn't seem like I'm the only one. I can just imagine how many bookings you are losing & how people are being treated once they actually arrive.

Thank you for your time.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank LEGOROXY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doubletree1, General Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Paradise Valley - Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2012

I am so very sorry you experienced such unacceptable behavior and service from one of our staff at our resort. We pride ourselves on our staff and service and this is totally contrary to all we are and stand for. Thank you for this feedback and the specific informaton so that we can immediately follow up to address it strongly with the person involved. There is just no excuse for such behavior. Thank you for letting us know and giving us this opportunity to address the matter so that it does not happen again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

- Spent three nights for a conference.

- Rude people on phone wouldn't help when I called day before arrival. I couldn't hear what one of the young "ladies" said, and so I said "pardon me" and she just stayed silent. I asked again "what did you just say, I couldn't hear you and she growled "I JUST TOLD YOU MY NAME, MAM!"

- Bring your own soap. One teeny bar of soap provided. No bath gel. Shower was in separate room from sink, so had to take the teeny bar back and forth.

- Light bulb burned out in shower room.

- Toilet flushed so hard it gave me a pee shower because there was no lid to close.

- None of the supposedly pre-programmed keys on phone were actually programmed.

- Each bellman gave different information on free shuttle timing

- Bar staff not pleasant.

- Exercise room was nice but in a creepy underground location. I didn't feel safe in there, no attendant and very remote.

- Very limited menu between their "lunch" and "dinner" time. Why?

- Very creepy and dark walking to room at night. Shadowy, not well lit. As a female traveler I didn't feel safe.

- Male worker did a quick knock and then barged in at 9:30 a.m.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doubletree1, General Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Paradise Valley - Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2012

Thank you for this feedback on your recent stay at our resort. I sincerely apologize that you experienced so many issues. I will be meeting with my management team first thing Monday morning and we will be reviewing your comments and addressing them immediately. As we cannot ascertain your name or what room you were in, could you please contact me directly so that we can try to make amends? This will also help us get more detailed information on which to follow up directly with those involved or responsible for what happened. Thank you again for this information and for this opportunity to address what you experienced.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

This is a perfectly fine 4 star property. Our room was recently renovated, the free gym was well appointed and even had a racquetball court, and the grounds well were well maintained. The business center was free, but internet in the room is $10 to $13 per day. You may not like the architecture, but it is not cookie cutter generic. One last tip, for a quite room, stay far away from Scottsdale Road.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank penpalpenpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doubletree1, General Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Paradise Valley - Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2012

Thank you for being with us and for this favorable review of your stay. We do hope that your travels bring you back to our area and, when they do, that you will once again return to be our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We stayed here on a girls' weekend for sun, shopping and hiking and were very pleased with accommodations and service! All staff members were attentive and friendly. The shuttle service was a great service and one we used often. The cab ride to downtown Scottsdale is minimum if using a shuttle isn't your thing or you are outside shuttle service hours. The rooms were spacious and clean (though the phone wouldn't direct dial the bellman and the tub faucet was broken). Grounds are beautiful and we found them to be marked well. Pools are clean - nothing fancy but food and drink service is available. We just may return next year to see more of the area!

Room Tip: We could hear the guests above us walking (or stomping) early in the morning, so a 2nd floor room ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Firsttimers10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doubletree1, General Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Paradise Valley - Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2012

Thank you for selecting our resort for your "girls weekend" and for this great review of our resort and staff. We appreciate your business and do hope that you will return again as there is much to do at and around our property. Beyond the obvious shopping at Fashion Square and Old Town Scottsdale, there are a lot of quaint little shops up and down Scottsdale Road. There are so many different venues for entertainment, dining and enjoying the nightlife, it is just too much to know and experience in one single trip. We can gladly provide you many recommendations to fill up your next visit and beyond.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Downtown Scottsdale
Hilton Garden Inn Scottsdale Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The McCormick Scottsdale
#36 of 75 in Scottsdale
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Paradise Valley - Scottsdale? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Paradise Valley - Scottsdale

Address: 5401 N Scottsdale Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85250-7013
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#29 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#30 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#31 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range: ₹ 8,962 - ₹ 22,341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Paradise Valley - Scottsdale 3.5*
Number of rooms: 387
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only minutes from downtown Scottsdale, Arizona and twelve miles from Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport, the DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Paradise Valley – Scottsdale offers a warm welcome and a comfortable stay, in tranquil surroundings. Relax and recharge in our beautifully landscaped property, surrounded by lavish courtyards, cactus and tropical palm trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Expedia and Hilton Hotels Direct so you can book your DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Paradise Valley - Scottsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Paradise Valley Hotel Scottsdale
Doubletree Scottsdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing