We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Esplendor Resort at Rio Rico
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Arroyo Motel(Nogales)
View Hotel
Time Motel(Nogales)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
El Dorado Inn(Nogales)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Reviews (357)
Filter reviews
357 results
Traveller rating
116
108
67
42
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
116
108
67
42
24
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
218 - 223 of 357 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Spent two nights a couple weeks ago, very disappointing. Grounds and pool area are very well kept and nice, but rooms need updating badly and the TV got so hot it was scary. Beds were not comfortable and needed a chair or loveseat for watching TV. Restaurant was slow service in the evening and our food was cold when we got it. In the morning we had to get a waiter from the kitchen to take our order and he brought a carafe of coffe with no lid so coffee was cold. Breakfast was mediocre at best. Stephan Richlan should reconsider having his name on the menu. We left a day early and drove the two hours back home to sleep in our own bed. Probably won't return unless it is updated.

Room Tip: there was no spa-I drove 20 miles to get a pedicure
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lg1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Hoteland ground were very cleanand well kept. The Rooms need to be updated The beds were not comfortable at all squeeky and the springs wre coming thru. The Room needed a chair or two the. TV was old and hot. The Resturant service was slowwwwwww

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AZFAN92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

My husgand and I spent two nights at Esplendor Resort. I was a bit apprehensive since had I had made all of the arrangement and he is not known for being an enthusiastic traveler. My concern was completely unfounded.
Some reviewers commented on minor issues like cracks in the concrete or large vases without flowers but the overall feeling is one of Old World elegance. The grounds are well-tended and the lobby and common areas are spotless. Our room was not large but tastefully decorated . . . more than adequate! And, while we usually immmediately seek restaurants outside of the hotel, this was an exceptiion. We ate every meal at the hotel. The food was great, service prompt, and portions generous. What's not to like? We'll go back!

Room Tip: We had a room on the second floor overlooking the hillside and looking toward Rio Rico. I'd ask for the same type of room next time.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sallydg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

My sister and I make an annual trip here. We have been doing it for years and just love being here. The resort is quiet and comfortable. We prefer a top floor room. The beds are comfortable and the room is definitely big enough. The restaurant on site is good but a little pricey. We love the little Mexican restaurant on the frontage road. The customer service here is phenomenal and they are always trying to make sure you have everything you need for your stay. They recognize us when we come and it just makes us feel special.

Room Tip: Get a top floor room!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annietownsend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

The setting of this resort in Southern Arizona is beautiful, but the hotel definiteley needs some serious updating.Large empty vases would look so much better with some flowers in them. There are lots of cracks in the concrete walkways, although the resort was very clean including the rooms. The staff at check-in and in the restaurant was very friendly and helpful.
The food was ok and basically, so was everything else. It is a good value for the price and a convenient location to explore the wineries in the Elgin and Sonoita area.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room in the "Sun" building with a great patio to watch the sunset.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Concierge67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews