We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Timey Hotel in a Lovely Setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Esplendor Resort at Rio Rico
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rio Rico
Green Valley, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Old Timey Hotel in a Lovely Setting”
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Be prepared to lug suitcases up 3 flights of stairs if your room is on the 3rd floor! It is an older hotel that does not have any elevators. The rooms are located in various buildings on the grounds. Our building had rooms with the high desert view. If you don't want to lug your suitcases up lots of stairs make sure you request a room on the first floor which only requires climbing one set of stairs! Our room was comfortable enough but you get a sense the entire hotel needs a facelift. The pool looked lovely but we did not use it since it was a chilly day. The front desk people were friendly and hospitable. The restaurant has beautiful picture windows. We only had a bite to eat for breakfast which arrived quickly. The staff was friendly. I would try the hotel again but would request a more convenient room.

Room Tip: Request a room on the 1st floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GVgolfer2aces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    109
    67
    42
    24
See reviews for
49
149
15
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
lg1955
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Spent two nights a couple weeks ago, very disappointing. Grounds and pool area are very well kept and nice, but rooms need updating badly and the TV got so hot it was scary. Beds were not comfortable and needed a chair or loveseat for watching TV. Restaurant was slow service in the evening and our food was cold when we got it. In the morning we had to get a waiter from the kitchen to take our order and he brought a carafe of coffe with no lid so coffee was cold. Breakfast was mediocre at best. Stephan Richlan should reconsider having his name on the menu. We left a day early and drove the two hours back home to sleep in our own bed. Probably won't return unless it is updated.

Room Tip: there was no spa-I drove 20 miles to get a pedicure
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lg1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MESA, AZ
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Hoteland ground were very cleanand well kept. The Rooms need to be updated The beds were not comfortable at all squeeky and the springs wre coming thru. The Room needed a chair or two the. TV was old and hot. The Resturant service was slowwwwwww

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AZFAN92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Tan Valley, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2012

My husgand and I spent two nights at Esplendor Resort. I was a bit apprehensive since had I had made all of the arrangement and he is not known for being an enthusiastic traveler. My concern was completely unfounded.
Some reviewers commented on minor issues like cracks in the concrete or large vases without flowers but the overall feeling is one of Old World elegance. The grounds are well-tended and the lobby and common areas are spotless. Our room was not large but tastefully decorated . . . more than adequate! And, while we usually immmediately seek restaurants outside of the hotel, this was an exceptiion. We ate every meal at the hotel. The food was great, service prompt, and portions generous. What's not to like? We'll go back!

Room Tip: We had a room on the second floor overlooking the hillside and looking toward Rio Rico. I'd ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sallydg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

My sister and I make an annual trip here. We have been doing it for years and just love being here. The resort is quiet and comfortable. We prefer a top floor room. The beds are comfortable and the room is definitely big enough. The restaurant on site is good but a little pricey. We love the little Mexican restaurant on the frontage road. The customer service here is phenomenal and they are always trying to make sure you have everything you need for your stay. They recognize us when we come and it just makes us feel special.

Room Tip: Get a top floor room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annietownsend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rio Rico
11.6 km away
Best Western Sonora Inn & Suites
14.2 km away
El Dorado Inn
El Dorado Inn
#6 of 9 in Nogales
12 reviews
38.1 km away
Inn at San Ignacio
Inn at San Ignacio
#4 of 5 in Green Valley
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Nogales
14.5 km away
Quality Hotel Americana Nogales
11.7 km away
Candlewood Suites Nogales
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplendor Resort at Rio Rico? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplendor Resort at Rio Rico

Property: Esplendor Resort at Rio Rico
Address: 1069 Camino Caralampi, Rio Rico, AZ 85648-1610
Region: United States > Arizona > Rio Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rio Rico
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,850 - ₹ 11,872
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Esplendor Resort at Rio Rico 3.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover simplicity, beauty, and understated elegance. The Esplendor Resort at Rio Rico combines the essence of the Old West with spirit of Old Mexico. With its acclaimed cuisine, championship golf, and memorable vistas, Esplendor Resort offers an exciting place for travelers to enjoy the beautiful scenery and history of southern Arizona. The 179 comfortable guest rooms are adorned with evocative Southwest furnishings. Just 40 minutes south of Tuscon, Esplendor Resort at Rio Rico will transport you to another world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Esplendor Resort at Rio Rico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplendor Resort At Rio Rico Hotel Rio Rico
Esplendor Resort Rio Rico
Esplendor Hotel Rio Rico
Rio Rico Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing