We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Only Way To Experience The Desert”
Review of AZ Hummer Tours

AZ Hummer Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: AZ hummer Tours is an off-road adventure company that provides a personalized, entertaining and educational tour of the beautiful Sonoran Desert. We have two different tour vehicles available: The Hummer, where you will ride as a passenger throughout your excursion, and the amazingly agile Polaris Ranger RZR4 which seats four people very comfortably and you get to drive for a hands-on, wind in your face experience. Both tours you will be with a very experienced guide that will teach about the flora and fauna as well as history of the area. Hopefully they won't get lost...
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Victoria, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The Only Way To Experience The Desert”
Reviewed 1 March 2012

When we booked our first visit to Phoenix, one of the only pre-planned things we wanted to see was the desert - safely. Mike is one of the best guides we've met. Before the trip he answered all our questions. On the day of the tour he delivered a great experience with running dialogue that shares his love of the desert. Cookies and water included. We learned all about plants, animals, survival, and history. Looking out at the desert it seems so hostile and barren. Mike's tour made the desert come alive. Who knew education could be so entertaining! After the trip he gave us each a cd with photos that include great shots of our group. A thoughtful momento of a unique and interesting afternoon.

We chose the hummer which is a solid, spacious ride and allowed our group to be together. The height of the hummer gets you way up off the ground for a different view. There is some climbing in and out of the hummer, as well as around the ruins, but it's not challenging. Suitable for all ages. Wear good sturdy walking shoes or sneakers. The sun is intense, even in January, so wear sunscreen, a hat and cover up if you are sensitive to the sun because there is no shade unless you want to put the top on the hummer. And you want to have the top off the hummer because the vistas are stunning. Bring your camera. Remember to use the bathroom facilities before you go as it's a four hour tour off road. We highly recommend this activity.

If we are fortunate enough to visit Phoenix again we'll make time to visit the desert with AZ Hummer tours.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank valu8or
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    267
    3
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taber, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“WE LOVE AZ HUMMER TOUR!!!! Mike you rock!”
Reviewed 20 January 2012

We did the tour last year and came back for vacation again this year and brought along some of our friends. We loved it the first time and we loved it again the second. Mike is so personable, knowledgeable and down to earth. The tour was awesome we wish we would have done a full day tour. If you're feeling a little adventurous and you want to learn too, do this tour! Mike picked us up at our hotel which was a plus because we are not from Phoenix. The only bad review this tour got was due to things that were out of Mike control. If you're going on a tour and relying on a mechanical machine sometimes they break down, the same as a plane, car, train and Hummer.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Kristin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a Blast!”
Reviewed 14 January 2012

After reading the reviews for AZ Hummer Tours, my family decided this was a must do during our trip to Arizona. Being our kids first visit, we made the most of our one week stay and packed it with different activities. This is the one we will talk about for years to come. Booking was easy and Mike made a great first impression. He was friendly and gave us all the information we needed for the trip. Scott, our guide, was waiting for us when we walked out of our hotel. From beginning to end, this tour far exceeded what we expected. All three of our kids loved learning about Sonoran desert. Scott made it fun and answered every question a six year old could throw at him. It was an amazing adventure as we went up and down hills that most of us closed our eyes on, ate a piece of cactus, climbed to the top of an Indian fort, and much more.

Trust me when I say you will not be disappointed when you book with AZ Hummer Tours. This is the kind of adventure you will remember for the rest of your life. Thank you Mike and Scott for making our family vacation so much fun. Can't wait to come back and do it again.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank RyanH76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Rica
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Terrific time! Well worth it!”
Reviewed 13 January 2012

My husband, teenage daughter, and almost-teen daughter and I took a hummer tour with Mike the day after Christmas. We had an incredible time! Mike was very knowledgeable, and we all learned a lot about the Arizona desert and culture. We stopped a couple of times just to soak in the scenery, learn about the area, and even have a snack. As others have mentioned, Mike took plenty of beautiful photos that we were given on a CD at the end of the tour. It got chilly once the sun went down, and Mike had extra jackets in case anybody needed one. (I had emailed him before our trip with concerns about the temp and he assured me he'd take care of us. He did!)

I have already told several friends at home that if they're ever traveling to the area, I have a great tour to recommend for them. Thanks for the great time, Mike! :)

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Badger92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temecula, California, United States
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“THE VERY BEST DESERT TOUR EVER !!!!”
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We took our 5 teenagers out on this Hummer and 4 WD Razr tour. Both the girls and boys loved it! Jeff and Mike were so friendly, knowledgeable and fun. We loved riding high in the Hummer as well as driving ourselves in the 4WD buggy. We had considered another tour company but we were able to do so much more with the 4WD vehicles. We enjoyed learning about the mining and Indian history in the area. These guys know what they're doing, we were able to really go out into areas that we would have never been able to find on our own. They even surprised me with birthday cupcakes! I highly recommend this company, can't wait to go again!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed AZ Hummer Tours also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to AZ Hummer Tours? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing