We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent property and service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Marriott's Canyon Villas
Ranked #13 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
364 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“excellent property and service”
Reviewed 26 April 2012

We are owners here and elsewhere...we like this property the best...wonderful ambiance. excellent service. Management is available and on top of things. we go here very year for a month in the spring and again for 10 days in October. Will continue to do so.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BonVoyage555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

757 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    464
    206
    49
    31
    7
See reviews for
336
277
16
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stuck in MA
Level Contributor
309 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Top notch condos - Clean well furnished. Has full kitchen / washer / dryers - it's for time share owners after all. There were multiple pool areas plus a bocce court. Handy shop to purchase small items since stores are a bit far away. Free shuttle to the main Desert Ridge hotel where there are great pools.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BixUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio USA
Level Contributor
158 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Canyon Villas is a great vacation experience. The condos are wonderful and the facilities are marvelous. Staff was ver helpful and friendly. The only flaw is with the shuttle that runs between Canyon Villas and the J.W. Marriott hotel (which is also great). The problem is that, while there is a published schedule for shuttle runs to and from the hotel, the shuttles are not reliable about half the time. They sometimes leave early (which means that, if you show up right on time, you end up waiting for 30 minutes for the next one). Even more frustrating is that, on occasion, they don' T show up at the hotel at all. This has happened twice just for me, so I'm sure I have not been the only "victim" of this. A staff member told me that there have been some changes in the way the shuttle system is run, and it's obviously not a change for the better. If they can figure out how to solve this frustrating problem, Canyon Villas would truly be a perfect vacation.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank curley6710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
247 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 491 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

The Marriott Canyon Villas is located about 21 miles from Phoenix Sky Harbor Airport and minutes away from Scottsdale and downtown Phoenix. The resort features studio, one and two bedroom units, plenty of amenities & activities, many nearby restaurants, priviledged access to the amenities of the neighboring J.W. Marriott resort, free parking and complimentary in-room wireless internet.

Ours was a three generation family vacation. Our two-bedroom, air-conditioned villa (2901 & 2902) was made up of a one bedroom unit with an adjoining studio unit. We arrived at 1:30 p.m. and were given access to the studio side only, as the one bedroom unit was still being readied. Full access did not come until after 4:30 p.m.. The studio was size of an average hotel room and was furnished with a king size bed and a pull-out sofa and table in the sitting area. The kitchenette included a small refrigerator, microwave oven, small sink, coffee maker, toaster and was furnished with dinnerware for two persons. The one-bedroom unit was nicely furnished and included a washer/dryer, full kitchen with oven, all basic appliances, cookware and dinnerware for six persons. There were two minor maintenance issues (no signal on one of the televisions and an unworkable safe); both of which were resolved within 15 minutes of our phone call.

The resort offers two types of maid service: a "full clean" and a "tidy clean." There is a charge for both services if you are staying on a timeshare ownership or exchange. One "tidy clean" service is included if you are paying a nightly rate. This was the first Marriott timeshare resort we have stayed at that did not include at least one mid-week "tidy clean" service for timeshare owners/exchangers.

Resort amenities at the M.C.V. include serveral swimming pools, including a lap and chilren's pool, spas, fitness center, steam rooms, pool tables, children's playground, barbeque grills, fire pits, mini-market, restaurant (bar & grill) and activities desk (scheduled activities for all ages occur throughout the day).

Amenities at the neighboring J.W. Marriott include golf (two courses) several restaurants & lounge, nature & preserve trails, tennis courts, and four acres of waterways including swimming pools, whirlpools and a "lazy river". It should be noted that access to the J.W. Marriott pools may be restricted for M.C.V. guests if the occupancy rate on the "J.W." side is at or near capacity. A free shuttle bus operates between the two resorts on a regular schedule.

The M.C.V. is just a short drive away from numerous restaurants, a large grocery store (Albertson's is less than a mile away; Costco is about five miles away), movie theater and cultural landmarks. The Desert Ridge Market Place (less than two miles) is a premier shopping, dining and entertainment destination.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the M.C.V. and highly recommend the resort for families and couples alike.

Disclaimer: We are multiple week, Marriott timeshare owners (Shadow Ridge - Palm Desert, CA and Maui Ocean Club - Maui, HI) and have stayed at eight different Marriott timeshare properties.

Room Tip: Buildings 3200 & 3300 for children's pool, buildings 2700 & 2800 for close proximity to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sceneisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orland Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We are owners in Orlando and decided to try Arizona for the first time. Our friends own at this location and suggested it for us. We were not disappointed at all! As usual, Marriott always shines as a leader in resort property. We did arrive early that day (check in at 4:00 p.m.) but they took our cell phone # and we went across the street to the J.W. Marriott property so our son could enjoy the lazy river. Our room was ready promptly at 4:00 p.m. Check-in was a breeze as usual - very friendly staff and concierge has lots of information on local happenings.

We were in a studio which we felt was rather small compared to other studios we've stayed in but nonetheless very impressive: sink, microwave and min-fridge. Enough to store pop, chips, lunch meat, bread etc for breakfast and lunch meals. We went out for dinner each night at the nearby Desert Ridge Shopping area.

The resort was beautiful - pool area spectacular and clean. We spent a few relaxing days at the pool and our 11 year old son made some great friends while there! Food at the pool was pretty good and priced right. Drinks were wonderful as well.

The location of the resort was close to the highways and best of all was the Desert Ridge shopping area just a few blocks away: Albertsons (grocery), Target, Kohls, Old Navy, AMC Movie Theatre just to name a few. Restaurants galore: Mimi's Cafe, Wolfley's, Rock Bottom, California Pizza Kitchen, In & Out Burger, Dave & Buster's...too many to mention. Nice place to take the family at night to walk around-beautiful outdoor setting with food/ice cream shops. Live entertainment on Friday nights.

Be sure to use the coupon book Marriott gives you - discounts at many local restaurants.

Room Tip: We were in Building 3200 which overlooked Lizard Lagoon (for toddlers) but the farthest away from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cmrtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Desert Ridge
JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Camelback East
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Canyon Villas? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Canyon Villas

Property: Marriott's Canyon Villas
Address: 5220 E Marriott Dr, Phoenix, AZ 85054-6150 (Formerly Marriott's Canyon Villas at Desert Ridge)
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Desert Ridge
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#13 Family Hotel in Phoenix
#66 Business Hotel in Phoenix
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,721 - ₹ 23,062
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Canyon Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott's Canyon Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Canyon Villas Hotel Phoenix
Marriotts Canyon Hotel
Marriott Vacation Club Phoenix
Marriott Phoenix
Phoenix Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing